82 Reviews

I would have done 3stars but my husband liked them more than me. I feel they are too dense not light and fluffy, they are like a hockey puck. My husband liked that about them he said they were kind of like a meal. I did add an extra 1tsp of vanilla and I used sour cream for part of the milk, I think I did 1/2 cup milk and 1cup sour cream that I just folded in. The kids of course still liked them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m October 04, 2013

Just made these for my son's birthday party and they were a huge hit! They were all gone in a matter of minutes. I followed another reviewer's suggestion of adding Greek yogurt and extra vanilla - they didn't rise as much as some cupcakes and I think that was due to the yogurt, but they were so moist and delicious that it didn't matter. Thank you for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alicas510 August 04, 2013

Excellent cupcake! (I didn't make the icing) Usually I am not a big fan of vanilla cupcakes because they taste dry - not this one. I highly recommend these!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen June 22, 2013

Delicious!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Snacks June 21, 2013

I am doing cupcakes for my son's bday party so I wanted to try different recipes before the big day. Thank Goodness I tried this one first. I loved them and so did my family. I don't need to try any others. Thanks for the excellent recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hansy P. June 19, 2013

I can't understand why some people loved these cupcakes. They were so dense and tasteless I had to throw the batch away. I was hoping for a light and fluffy vanilla cake, instead I got a hockey puck with no flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
9720939 April 27, 2013

I also went with the greek yogurt suggestion but otherwise followed the cupcake (not the frosting) recipe exactly. They were the best! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggie Fam April 17, 2013

Phenomenal. How often do you actually want to eat the cake without the frosting? With this recipe, you will. Double the vanilla - it's worth it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
supercrafty April 01, 2013

This recipe looked and tasted delicious. One thing I would recommend is using imperial butter or blue bonnet butter because it is softer and easier to work with. Use the unsalted butter when making frosting because it holds it together nicely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookinglikecrazy21 March 23, 2013

My daughter made these cup cakes and they were outstanding, some of the best I have ever tasted! She opted to make a different icing, so I can't comment on icing, but for sure we will be making the cup cakes again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini March 18, 2013
Amy Sedaris's Vanilla Cupcakes