80 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent vanilla cupcake. I do add 1 extra tsp of vanilla and half a cup of greek yogurt with honey. They stay moist for days. My husband, who only liked chocolate cupcakes up until now, loves these and says that I do not need to make chocolate anymore.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naomipowell February 17, 2012

YUM! This was exactly what I was looking for - a super good, straightforward vanilla cupcake! WIth a perfect texture! I think this would also be so good using almond extract - next time!! Thanks for sharing! **I also want to add that these dried out pretty quickly, so be sure to frost as soon as they're cool.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mmmama November 20, 2011

Great flavor, but the cupcakes weren't as fluffy as I would've liked. Next time I think I will separate the eggs and beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form, and then fold the egg whites into the batter to make fluffier cupcakes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eemmais August 18, 2013

This is the first time my children have eaten not only the frosted top, but the entire cupcake! That's the highest possible praise a cupcake can receive. The adults in the house weren't disappointed either. Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
N@ February 19, 2012

These were perfect! good basic cupcake recipe. Will do again and hightly recommend.

Made these for a baby shower and the Grandmother to be asked me if I used cake mix, it's funny because I thought they tasted like a box mix too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carmenid June 27, 2011

They are firm enough for party cakes, won't crumble, and they are delicious with the extra teaspoon of vanilla. Just did a trial run for a shower a few weeks away. Used the convection oven for the second batch -- better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janie Dever November 15, 2014

These cupcakes were fantastic. I used cake flour instead of all-purpose flour, to give the cupcakes more texture. I was a little skeptical at first because the recipe seemed too easy,I`m so happy I gave these a try and will be making some more soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lexyrocks June 27, 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed these cupcakes. I did tweak the recipe slightly. I used 1/2 cup of apple sauce and 1/4 cup of butter. I also doubled the vanilla and they turned out great. They puffed up nicely and the flavour was good. The only thing I did find was they were a bit hard on the edges but I think part of that is because I didn't use any cups for the the cupcakes and baked them directly in the pan (didn't have any on hand and we had gotten a horrible snowstorm so picking some up was out of the question). Great recipe and one I will be going back to.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mir1229 February 08, 2014

I would have done 3stars but my husband liked them more than me. I feel they are too dense not light and fluffy, they are like a hockey puck. My husband liked that about them he said they were kind of like a meal. I did add an extra 1tsp of vanilla and I used sour cream for part of the milk, I think I did 1/2 cup milk and 1cup sour cream that I just folded in. The kids of course still liked them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m October 04, 2013

Just made these for my son's birthday party and they were a huge hit! They were all gone in a matter of minutes. I followed another reviewer's suggestion of adding Greek yogurt and extra vanilla - they didn't rise as much as some cupcakes and I think that was due to the yogurt, but they were so moist and delicious that it didn't matter. Thank you for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alicas510 August 04, 2013
Amy Sedaris's Vanilla Cupcakes