8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious ! So easy to make, and so good to eat. I like it best warm from the oven, but it's still good at room temp the next day. This recipe will replace all other cornbread recipes in my collection ! Note added 6/22/09...this works as muffins just as well, and it also freezes very well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri Newell June 22, 2009

I chose this recipe because we LOVE the 'Smoky Bones' cornbread, and this one did NOT disappoint -- it is light, and has a delightful cornbread flavor. I reduced the sugar to a half-cup based on other reviews, and did not find it too sweet at all. However, we also created a "pecan maple butter" to go with it (similar to what Smoky Bones serves with theirs) which went with this cornbread fabulously well, but also made the whole experience quite a bit sweeter! Still a delightful accompaniment to our homemade chili, though, even with the sweet butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laframboi November 14, 2008

I added a can of corn to this and it was VERY good. Very light and fluffy, moist and sweet. Will make again, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaec November 29, 2007

Very good, but a little sweet for my taste. My kids didn't want anything to do with the chili once they got a taste of the bread. I thought it was better as a snack. I made it a second time and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and it made a much better side to the chili that way. I baked it in an 8x8 glass pan for 28 minutes. It had a very nice texture and was moist even as left overs. It raised a little high in the center though, so I may try it in a 9x9 pan the next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shwltr78 October 24, 2007

I tried this recipe on the reccommendation of Tasty Dish... Two words for you Absolutely Delicious!! I made a huge put of chili tonight for dinner and had this cornbread with it... I will be using this recipe over and over again. I made it in an Iron skillet also. ~Excellent Ty for a great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barefootmommawv October 11, 2007

Very good corn bread! I like mine a little sweeter so I added 1/4 cup of Splenda with the sugar. I baked mine in a 9x9 square glass pan for 35 minutes. Served with Smokey Bones Honey Pecan Butter...awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MSZANZ March 11, 2007

This was very good and it did remind me of the type of cornbread from Smokey Bones. My 5 year old, who is a cornbread connoseur, pronounced it delicious. The only problem I had was that I had to bake it for 45 minutes to get it done in the middle. I did bake in an 8" iron skillet as written, but it took much longer for some reason.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tierney's Mom April 25, 2006
Amusement Park Cornbread