Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amish White Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amish White Bread

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on November 22, 2011

      LOVE LOVE LOVE! I usually make White Bread Plus #10478 for weekly baking, but for Thanksgiving I wanted to try something different to braid. This is wonderful, light, fluffy and the dough is very easy to work with. Only change I made was to use half the amount of sugar. It still had a touch of sweetness which was perfect.

      My tip is this...do this by hand. Learn to kneed the dough by hand properly and your bread will come out PERFECT every time :) I have used a bread machine and my mixer for the dough when I'm short on time and while it comes out great..it's never as fluffy and tender like it is when I kneed the old fashioned way.

      I also used an egg wash (1 egg, 1 tsp water and 1 tsp sugar) to baste the bread with twice during baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      I have made bread for over 20 years and this is an easy, good tasting bread. A little sweet, but my husband loves it. Try it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      I had never baked a loaf of bread in my life and picked this recipe because of its simplicity. It was so easy to make and turned out perfectly. My parents and sister loved it! I had to add more flour to make the dough right and prefered more salt. I am keeping this recipe, that's for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      This was my first time making bread and it turned out wonderful. It was a lot easier to make than I imagined it to be. I had been wanting a bread machine, but now I'm not so sure. I'm afraid, though, that I have spoiled my kids with homemade bread. Last night they kept asking for more and this morning they all wanted some for breakfast. The oldest said that he didn't want the storebought kind anymore.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2014

      very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2014

      Love this recipe. I do only use about 1/2 the sugar but it is so tender and fluffy. I always kneed it by hand also. I turns out so much better then in a bread machine. This is an Amish recipe so it is not designed for a bread machine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2013

      been using this exact recipe for a while and it is foolproof and the ingredients are so simple and always on hand. I used the whole dough recipe in a 16 x 4 x 4 Pullman pan for sandwich bread, baked for 30 min @350, it comes out perfect every time! thanks for posting, it's a keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Really good and easy to make! A bit on the sweet side, but I actually like it that way. Texture and the crumb of the bread is just perfect! Just a little note, grease your pans very well. I already put a lot of oil to grease the pans but the loaves still got stuck. Will use Pam next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      I've been making this for ages and just did a quick search because I was going to post it and didn't want to duplicate it. This is my absolute favorite bread! It couldn't be easier, even for a novice breadmaker, and it's quick, too. The extra loaf freezes well, and sometimes I have made it into mini loaves as well. Although it's incredibly easy to make by hand, often I halve the recipe if I'm in a rush and toss the ingredients into the bread machine and use the dough cycle to mix, then remove the dough, knead lightly, shape into a loaf, let rise and bake. I brush a small amount of melted butter on top after baking but that's personal preference and not necessary. I keep wanting to play around with this to make it a bit healthier but can't bring myself to do it because I hate to mess with a good thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      Awesome bread! I made 1/2 the recipe. I used my bread machine to make the dough: I used the bread machine "quick yeast" and I used the quick dough cycle ( takes only 1 hour). Then I removed the dough and kneaded very lightly . I placed the dough into a loaf pan and let it rise for about 1 hour. I baked it in a preheated oven. The bread came out HUGE and fluffy. It was perfectly shaped. Very wonderful-everyone devoured it. My only change will be to spray the pan ( I used glass) with Pam since the loaf stuck-my fault. Thanks Liz for this outstanding bread recipe-I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      I love this bread

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      Noone bakes bread like the Amish! This recipe is absolutely delicious. I'm a bread baker from way back and you can't go wrong with this one. It is just right--and is not too sweet as some might say. I followed the directions to a tee and it was perfect. Definitely a keeper recipe for me!!! 'Thanks for the great bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      I found this bread very very sweet. It was more like a sweet breakfast bun than a bread. It would probably make nice french toast, however. If I made this recipe again, I would only use a small fraction of the sugar, maybe a tablespoon. Mine also had a more cake-like texture, although I am going to attribute this to my yeast rather than the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      I have tried many bread recipes-this is hands down the easiest! You will be rewarded with 2 tender loaves of wonderful bread! Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      I made bread from this recipe this evening. They've been out of the oven about 5 minutes now. The look and smell absolutely great! This is only my second time making bread and this was an easy recipe and if it tastes as good as it looks this will be a keeper. I will rate with stars after the taste test. :-) I tasted...enjoyed and now I've rated....totally a 5+ star recipe. Relatively quick as bread recipes go and you are rewarded with 2 tall loaves of great bread. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      This is so easy and so good. My family loves this bread! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      This is just the recipe I have been searching for! It reminds me of when I was young and my mom always made Amish friendship bread. With this recipe, you get the great taste of the bread without haivng to mess with the starter. Thanks so much for sharing- simple but so delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      this recipe is a keeper!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      I tried this bread today and it is FANTASTIC. What an amazing taste. I made it exactly as written , except that I used all purpose flour instead of bread flour. I will be making it often. It is one of the easiet and yet tastiest bread recipes I have ever made. Next time I'm going to try it with part whole wheat flour, as mentioned in another review. Thanks so much for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      This is a wonderful recipe that even a beginner bread maker like me can't mess up! The dough is very nice to work with and the baked result is a nice light bread that's just chewy enough to make my family happy. My dad won't let me come visit without bringing him at least a half loaf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amish White Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (59 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 157.7
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    15%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 147.0 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes