Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amish White Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amish White Bread

    Average Rating:

    129 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 129

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2008

      i LOVE this bread recipe. so much better than the one i had been using, and simpler! i did it the first time making one white loaf and one cinnamon swirled one because sharlene-w made it sound so yummy. i loved it because it sliced so well and had a great texture. i made it the second time with 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 white. same perfect results. finally a bread that works for sandwiches. my husband thanks you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Awesome. It was easy to make and the bread tasted great. My kids loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      I followed the directions and it turned our 2 perfect loafs a total keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      WOW! I have tried yeast bread in the past and it has NEVER worked! This worked wonderfully! I used about 2 3/4 tsp yeast. I also threw in about 1/2 -1 tsp sugar in the warm water to give the yeast food. I used butter flavored crisco. I mixed it all in my Kitchenaid with the dough hook. I let it mix/kneed for 5-7 minutes until it pulled away and started sticking to the bottom. I then kneaded it by hand for maybe 4-5 minutes. My 4 yo daughter did a small loaf for herself too! It rose the first time for just over 1 hour then it rose the second time for 1 1/2 - 2 hours. It turned out wonderfully! It tasted pretty good too, I can taste a smidgen of the yeast so next time I may add less. Thanks Karen!! My husband was very impressed it wasn't a brick like my attempts in the past.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      I don't normally review things, but this bread is awesome. We ate it like dessert, when it was warm, it was so good. And it's great toasted. Followed the recipe exactly, the texture, color, overall look, taste, smell, it was all wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      DW said "This is pretty much incredible." I did not change a thing in this recipe. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      Just recent I got a new KitchenAid Stand Mixer and wanted to try some homade white bread. I decided on your recipe, and I loved it. Most breads I've made in the past seem heavy and dense in texture, but I enjoyed this light texture, and somewhat sweet taste. My picky kids even loved it and want more! The only change I made was adding 2 tsp of sugar to the warm water & yeast to "proof" since I've had incidents in the past with faulty yeast. Thanks for a wonderful recipe! This will be our new one for white bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      My famiy loved this bread. I am sure it will be a staple in our household.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      This is one of the best bread recipe! We have made this 3 times now. It's great with roasted chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      I made this today using half white and half whole wheat flour. It's spectacular! I love that it doesn't require any milk or eggs, which makes this a very inexpensive bread to bake. This recipe is perfect for a beginner to learn how to make homemade bread. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      FIRST LOAF IS GONE ALREADY! it just came out of the oven 20 min ago I will most definitely make this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      this bread is WONDERFUL!!!!! so very EASY.. 2 perfect loaves..... I followed the recipe exactly..didn't change a thing... I set the timer for 20 minutes (for differences in oven temps) wasn't "quite there" yet.. 25 min in my oven was PERFECT I'll be making this again..tomorrow as a matter of fact to deliever to a few neighbors thank you for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      Tastes awesome, the hubby loved it. It wasn't hard at all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      This bread is so good! I have made it about 5 times and every time it comes out great. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      This recipe was my first attempt at making a yeast bread - and boy was I proud of myself :). The only substitution I made was Olive Oil in exchange for Shortening. My bread was full, even, and had beautiful color. This is perfect for meals, and I think for sandwiches too. Out of curiosity... did anyone else notice that their bread had the slight taste of soft mall pretzels? Certainly not a bad thing in my opinion :) :) :), but I'm wondering if that's how this bread is supposed to taste, or if it's a result of my having done something wrong. Regardless, I will definitely be making this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      I have been looking for an easy, and good tasting white bread recipe for many years. This one is it! I have made 3 batches now, trying to perfect the rise and color. The family loves this bread and so do I. My next batch will be a variation to the flavor. Great taste, color, texture. Very easy to make. Note* I have made this with extra virgin olive oil and shortening. No preferences with either(same great taste and texture).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      I love this recipe. It reminds me of my mother's sweetbread. I find it to make wonderfull bread each time. I have made a variation, by using 2 cups wheat flour and 4 cups white flour, it had a wonderful nutty flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      This was my very first attempt at making bread and it turned out great! Very easy to do and my family loved it. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      Just finished baking. The bread smells divine. Makes a very nice dough, easy to work with. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      GREAT bread!! I made this last week and everyone really liked it. Very dense bread, great for soups and sandwichs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amish White Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.7
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    16%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 2.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 203.7 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites