Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amish White Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amish White Bread

    Average Rating:

    129 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 129

    Sort by:

    • on November 19, 2009

      Amish people sure know what they're doing! This bread is incredible. Soft and moist. I used butter flavored shortening which gave the bread that nice buttery taste without the yellowy color. I also kneaded the dough with a stand mixer for about 11-13 mins. You don't need that much butter to rub the bread with. I ended up using only about 1/2 Tbsp of butter per loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      Delicious!!! I am an avid baker, but never tried making bread from scratch. This was so easy and turned out perfect!!! Next time I want to try making it into cinnamon bread! Would love some suggestions for other variations!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      Great recipe! Easy to make and so easy to devour. Thanks Karen for sharing a tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      WoW I tried this recipe yesterday making sub rolls instead of loaves of bread; it made 8 very large rolls and they turned out wonderful. The taste was delicious and the texture perfect. My family and I look forward to making again. Defiently my new go to bread recipe. Thanks so much for sharing. Saderbee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! The bread was delicious! My whole family loved it. I've been needing a good recipe for sandwich bread and this has been the best I've tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      Wanted to thank you for this recipe. It made big, beautiful loaves and was very easy to work with. I did increase the yeast to 2 quick- rise envelopes. (personal preference) Used my stand mixer to knead the dough for 10-12 min. and it was perfect. This will replace my old recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      Love this bread! Always comes out soft! I make 2 loaves for a week and it is easily used up! Great for sandwiches, french toast, egg in a basket, the list goes on and on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      This bread is awesome!! It came out so soft and had a really great taste!! I didn't have a loaf pan so I made free form loaves and it still turned out great. I made this to go along with Broccoli Cheese and Potato Soup and It was an awesome pairing. You have to try this bread!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      I can't believe how hard it is to find a real bread recipe that doesn't use a bread machine! This recipe is exactly what I was looking for. I followed the recipe as written, except I added a pinch of sugar to the yeast and water and watched for foam, as I've had issues with non-performing yeast in the past. The dough was a bit sticky, but not unmanagable by any standard. It rose beautifully and it was fluffly and light when baked. I made 2 loaves on Saturday and they were gone in less than half an hour. On Sunday, I showed my husband the fine art of homemade bread and he made 2 more loaves, and will probably make more in a day or so. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      Very Good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      Wow! Loved this recipe! I used 1 Tbsp of yeast..so we got some huge loaves. This tasted a lot like french bread to us...and we loved it. We ate the first loaf tonight with warm soup and we are looking forward to eating the other loaf as sandwiches tomorrow! I plan to use this recipe time and time again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      My husband gave this a rare 5 star rating. It was supposed to be for sandwiches but he went through half a loaf in the first hour after it came out of the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      So my bread does not look like the pictures and was very sticky to handle but all that is my fault... I don't think I added enough flour. But man they smelled good in the oven and taste heavenly... I never thought I could bake my own bread! I will defiantly make it again and add more flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      Excellent basic white bread recipe. Next time, I'll try this with some herbs and cinnamon. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      About a month ago I was given a loaf of bread from a Hutterite woman. It was probably the best white bread I had ever tasted. I was hoping to find something similar, and this is it! Super awesome bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      Excellent basic dough recipe. I made 1 loaf as directed and the second loaf I made into cinnamon raisin bread. My 1st rise was an hour, and my second rise maybe an hour and 15 minutes. Easy and delicious. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      I'm only going to give this 4 stars instead of 5, because even though this came out wonderfully after it was cooked and cooled the first time. It became really dry and brittle (even after wrapping it up well) the following days afterwords. If I could find a way to make this a bit quicker, and store it better where it wouldn't dry out and crumble, I would definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      Just had my first slice of this GREAT White bread. Fantastic. I look forward to a long friendship. Tonight with Chili, tomorrow with French toast. Thank you and keep up the good work. F/C

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      This is the first time I have successfully made bread! Since I didn't have loaf pans, I simply made buns out of them and they turned out perfectly! They were a bit on the chewy side, but that's totally perfect in our book! Thank you so much for posting! I will definitely be making things a whole lot more often! (I plan on making sandwitches with my buns!) LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      I loved this! I had the biggest craving for white bread with butter, sugar, and cinnamon (very healthy, i know) but i couldnt buy any bread at the time...i had the ingredients to make this so i did, and it was perfect for what i wanted (yea i was pretty desperate for it after a day of ramadan fasting lol) The dough was rly sticky tho, but i just ignored that and let it rise and it was sooooo perfect, thanks so much =D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amish White Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.7
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    16%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 2.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 203.7 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites