129 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved it! The texture and taste are both perfect on this bread. I mixed it then kneaded it in my kitchenaide stand mixer so it was very easy to make as well. Thanks for posting Karen!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup October 29, 2011

I wish I could give these more than 5 stars! These are absolutely amazing! I did follow the advice of one reviewer and used milk in place of the 2 cups of water (1%, what I had in the fridge) and I made buns. I got about 25 and they filled a 9x13 pan, baked for about 24 min. My kids are eating them for dessert they're so good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andrea185 December 19, 2010

Tastes just like the bread my mother has baked for 50 years from her Pennsylvania Dutch cookbook. Perfection!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
B H. September 17, 2010

My kids wanted to eat the whole loaf for breakfast!! I had to restrain them!!! Fantastic Recipe!!! Didn't change a thing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawne April 22, 2010

This bread was fantastic! I'm not sure what I did but the dough rose in no time at all and I ended up with loaves that were huge! Which is, of course, no problem at all! I subbed margarine for the shortening since I didn't have any shortening....not to mention it is insanely expensive (and imported) here in Sweden. A huge hit and I will definitely be making these again and again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunshine*girl December 28, 2008

My first homemade bread adventure!!! This recipe was easy and turned out great. I tried with rapid rise yeast also and it turned out about the same as my first batch, it only cut about 20 min. off the rising time! Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rollin in the Dough! December 17, 2008

This bread was fantastic. It was the first yeast bread that I made with my Kitchen Aid and it was so easy. It rose extra high and the texture and flavor were fantastic. The crust was soft. It stayed good in the refrigerator for almost 2 weeks. I'll definitely make this bread again, probably as a regular staple for my family.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Labs2Many June 07, 2008

great thank you!!! I made two loaves yesterday and am going to make more today. my daughter never eats crust on sandwiches but has eaten every bite of this bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon loves her kids January 27, 2008

This makes a really great light fluffy sandwich bread. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bdankanich October 01, 2007

I just love this bread! We make all of our bread now that my son is on a preserv. and coloring free diet. I have been searching for a recipe just this easy. We homeschool also and this made for a great activity to do together. We will be making this again and again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iltemprd January 12, 2007
Amish White Bread