Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amish White Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amish White Bread

    Average Rating:

    129 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 129

    Sort by:

    • on December 21, 2012

      WOW! what a GREAT recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I cannot tell you HOW MANY 'failed' loaves of bread I have had over the last couple of weeks while trying to 'master' the art of making bread! I am going to throw away ALL of the other bread receipes and have this one in my book!!!! THANK YOU for making me successful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I was just about ready to give up when I found this one. If I could give it 10 stars I would!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2012

      great recipe thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2012

      Lovely recipe, I usded F.com to cut it to one loaf as there's only 2 of us right now and it made one lovely, large and very soft loaf of bread, with a slightly sweet taste that we enjoyed with butter. Think it's going to make great toast for todays breakfast too. Our only problem is it's almost too soft (if that's possible) when it comes to using for sandwiches - I did add a tablespoon of flax seeds to it, just my attempt at getting something healthy in my picky eater nephew that is visiting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      This was my first attempt at making my own bread from scratch, I chose this out of all the others I looked at on this site. These came out so delicious, I love them and so does the family. I had a couple slices with soup, and tonight I had some toasted with butter spread and grape jelly, tomorrow I'm going to make a sandwich with them. The only changes I made was that I added a cup of whole wheat flour in place of a cup of the white. And I added a tsp of sugar to the water/yeast mixture at the beginning. Maybe that's not necessary, I thought that it might be. I can't wait to make this bread again! I wonder if I can substitute rapid rise yeast to make the process go faster?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      Really nice flavour but found the texture to be a little dense. It was perfect for toast, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      I have tried a thousand different times and a thousand different recipes and I have *never* had any success baking bread. Until I tried this one!! So easy, and it turns out beautifully. I like to use bread flour for it. The inside is moist and soft and the outside has just a slight crusty texture. Absolutely perfect! Thank you. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      Fantastic! I made this recipe for soup and sandwich night and I couldn't be happier with the result. This is a keeper recipe for sure. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      Loved this bread! Cut this in half and made the dough in the bread machine. Punched it down and let it rise in a loaf pan, then baked at 350' for 30 minutes. Buttered the top when it came out of the oven. Beautiful loaf of bread... golden brown, and substantial enough for sandwiches, but still light and tasty. Thanks for sharing a great bread recipe. Update 10/9/11: Used one loaf of this cut into pieces and rolled out pretzel style wrapped around hot dogs. Baked at 375 for about 15 minutes, then brushed with garlic butter and baked until golden. Other loaf I rolled out and made a large buffalo chicken filled sandwich and baked 25 minutes, brushing with the butter the last five! Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      My family really loved this! I made 2 loaves, and they didn't last 2 days, so I am already making more! Wonderful and super easy instructions for a super yummy result! All 3 of my kids wanted to take their lunch yesterday to school, just so they could have the bread for a sandwich!It is a hit at my house! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2011

      This bread came together wonderfully! It had a good flavor, not too yeasty, and buttery from the little bit I smeared on top of each loaf. The only thing I disliked was how dry it was when I sliced it for sandwiches. The tops just crumbled off, but that could be because of the weather and how dry it has been. Overall, I am satisfied and will make this again. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      This is my favorite sandwich bread recipe. Two beautiful loaves every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      These rose beautifully and taste so amazing! How will I ever buy bread again?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      I mill my own wheat and have been hard-pressed to find a recipe that I can get a good rise out of. I HAVE FOUND IT! I have now made 6 loaves over the past two weeks and each one has been perfect. I vary the recipe just slightly in that I use 6 cups of freshly milled wheat, 1 cup of bread flour and substitute the water for whole milk. Perfection! I have also found that I only let it have a final rise of about 20 minutes and then it finishes rising in the oven while baking. This has been a great sandwich bread and basic bread recipe. Thank you Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      Sunday is my bread making day for the week. I haven't bought bread in years through the store. With that said, I followed recipe to the letter. Even had already baked raisin bread and brown wheat bread for the day. So my yeast works... it's just this dough did not rise as mentioned. I ended up with what one could call a soda like bread. Which I don't get. Anyone have any ideas on how to make this recipe work? I would love to try it for my sandwich bread for the week. I gave it three stars even though it failed, am thinking it's user error and if I can get it to correct this will rerate. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      I have had many "fail safe" bread recipes go wrong but not this one!! Turned out perfect the first time thanks to my trusty K5. The only modification I made was replacing the shortening with vegetable oil, it was a bit easier to work with. If you have had trouble with bread in the past, don't give up until you've given this one a go as you may be pleasantly surprised!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      EXCELLENT!! I substituted fat-free milk for the water. Just an FYI...I bake one loaf in glass pan and one in a non-stick pan because that's what I have. The loaf in the glass pan usually rises more than the loaf in the non-stick pan. Also, I haven't had the speedy rising some have but it was pretty cold in my house all three times I've baked this bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2011

      Perfect! I baked this in my pain de mie pan, so I got one big sandwich loaf. I have been looking for a bread recipe so I can stop buying bread from the store, and I think this is it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      This bread recipe is amazing! I had never made bread before and was pleasantly surprised at how well it came out my first time. Last night we had it as desert with a little bit of honey on it and for french toast and sandwiches today. Extremely versatile and just plain delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      It was the first time I've baked bread and they came out beautifully! I was skeptical at first because, well, it's BREAD, but It was easier than I thought! Very tasty! My husband devoured the first loaf within the first half hour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      This is the best white bread recipe i have ever made! I discovered it about 2 months ago and have made it once a week (at least) since. I haven't bought bread in the store for almost 2 months. I like to use lard instead of shortening. For me it seems to make the bread more tender. One more thing, I have used both AP and Bread flour, I prefer Bread flour's texture. Sifting helps as well. Wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amish White Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.7
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    16%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 2.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 203.7 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes