129 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great loaf, followed some other reviews and substituted the water for milk. As well as letting the kitchenaid do all the kneading (10 minutes). Used it as a dinner bread as a side for clam chowder.. delish

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooper1224 February 02, 2011

This was excellent bread! It was my first time making yeast bread and the instructions were very easy to follow. I will not be buying bread in the grocery store anymore!! I did have to alter the recipe to add more flour as I live in a very humid environment, but the rising time was right on. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wunkermania August 23, 2010

I love this bread. It is so light and fluffy and bakes up wonderfully!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sketchcils July 27, 2010

This bread is amazing for making sandwich loaves. It gets so big and fluffy. Beautiful! The best bread recipe I've found.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alabughosh July 06, 2010

This recipe is not taking 5 hours. I am up to 2 hours and it is almost ready to bake. The dough is smelling really good! I love the smell of bread dough. The first rise took about 45 minutes. The second rise is going to take about 20 - 25 minutes at the most. It could have something to do with where you are located and how warm/ cold your house is. My dough is rising in a gas oven( not on of course). I mixed my dough almost exactly as stated, except for using the butter flavor shortening. I also just added the yeast and sugar together with the half cup of water, to feed the yeast. It took nearly all 7 cups of flour. I added 6 and kneaded with the 7th cup. I only kneaded it about 5 or 6 minutes before it sprang right up when I pushed on the dough. The real test is about to begin, the dough is almost over the top! any minute now... They came out beautifully and took 30 minutes to bake at 375. They rose a lot during baking and began to bake together, since they were so close to each other in the oven. I don't care! Next time I will know to give them more space. I am submitting photos soon.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elaine H December 29, 2008

This was my first yeast bread I've ever made... and it actually came out well! I even messed up and added the butter into the dough, and thought that when it rose it was supposed to sit in the refrigerator for 2 hrs (took it out after 20 mins, LOL ) ... and it STILL worked! I will be making more of this delicious bread in the very near future. If you're nervous about yeast breads, believe me, if I can do this, so can you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandy P December 08, 2008

I was looking for a good sandwich bread. After trying 4 different ones, this is the best one I have run into. Great texture, perfect for toast and sandwiches. I followed the directions exactly and got great results.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoeB January 09, 2004

Really great starter recipe! I gave it only 4 stars because I felt it needed a bit more richness. The lack of fat (2.5 TBS shortening isn't enough) doesn't give the bread a silky richness. I replaced the shortening with butter and increased it to 5 TBS butter. In addition, I replaced the water with whole milk - you can also use half water/half milk or even buttermilk. Those two small changes made a wonderful difference in the second loaves that I baked. I have been baking bread for 25 years and there is nothing quite as nice as a wonderful white bread that comes together easy and is nearly fool proof. These days I only use Instant Yeast, but I still put it in the 1/2 cup warm water to soften it and I mixed the sugar into the water too. If you have Vital Wheat Gluten, a couple of tablespoons to this recipe will give you a softer texture and help your bread last longer before going stale. Finally, I only needed 5 1/2 cups of flour - 7 would have been WAY too much. The dough should be sticky and while it is mixing in the Kitchenaid, the bottom should stick to the bowl while the sides are clean. I kneaded on medium speed for about 8 minutes, which I found to be ideal. Thanks for the recipe.. lovely loaf!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BellesArizona April 28, 2013

After using a bread machine for years, finally decided to go old school; after a bit of research here, this was the recipe I chose for my first attempt. Did not go wrong! Two big, perfect loaves, rose in half the time hanging around a warm oven, and absolutely delicious with perfect sponge for the kids, kind of reminds me of the original Wonder bread. Perfect white bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rodney h. November 29, 2012

This is only the 3rd time in my life I've ever made bread, (I'm not really a baker) but I'm glad I found and made this one. It's soooo easy and delicious. The only thing I did differently, per a couple of other reviews, was to cut back the sugar to 1/4 cup. I wish I hadn't, and next time (and there will be a next time) I'll leave the sugar amount as written. My first rise took the 2 hours, but the 2nd rise only took 1 hour, and they baked up beautifully in 2 glass loaf pans in 30 minutes. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arroz241_11561377 January 24, 2012
Amish White Bread