Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amish White Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amish White Bread

    Average Rating:

    129 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 129

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2011

      Loved it! The texture and taste are both perfect on this bread. I mixed it then kneaded it in my kitchenaide stand mixer so it was very easy to make as well. Thanks for posting Karen!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      I wish I could give these more than 5 stars! These are absolutely amazing! I did follow the advice of one reviewer and used milk in place of the 2 cups of water (1%, what I had in the fridge) and I made buns. I got about 25 and they filled a 9x13 pan, baked for about 24 min. My kids are eating them for dessert they're so good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

      Tastes just like the bread my mother has baked for 50 years from her Pennsylvania Dutch cookbook. Perfection!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      My kids wanted to eat the whole loaf for breakfast!! I had to restrain them!!! Fantastic Recipe!!! Didn't change a thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      This bread was fantastic! I'm not sure what I did but the dough rose in no time at all and I ended up with loaves that were huge! Which is, of course, no problem at all! I subbed margarine for the shortening since I didn't have any shortening....not to mention it is insanely expensive (and imported) here in Sweden. A huge hit and I will definitely be making these again and again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      My first homemade bread adventure!!! This recipe was easy and turned out great. I tried with rapid rise yeast also and it turned out about the same as my first batch, it only cut about 20 min. off the rising time! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      This bread was fantastic. It was the first yeast bread that I made with my Kitchen Aid and it was so easy. It rose extra high and the texture and flavor were fantastic. The crust was soft. It stayed good in the refrigerator for almost 2 weeks. I'll definitely make this bread again, probably as a regular staple for my family.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      great thank you!!! I made two loaves yesterday and am going to make more today. my daughter never eats crust on sandwiches but has eaten every bite of this bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      This makes a really great light fluffy sandwich bread. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      I just love this bread! We make all of our bread now that my son is on a preserv. and coloring free diet. I have been searching for a recipe just this easy. We homeschool also and this made for a great activity to do together. We will be making this again and again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2014

      This was really good, instructions were great. I try to make the sandwich/toast bread for the family weekly, and decided to try this one as an alternative to my usual white bread recipe. It was VERY good, and I would have rated it 5 stars, but mine did come out just a bit crumbly and was just slightly less than easy to cut. This bread makes excellent toast! I will make it again, thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2013

      I've been looking for a great bread recipe and here it is. I LOVE this bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2013

      This is the only bread recipe that turns out for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2013

      I made your Amish bread last night for dinner and I loved it <br/>It was moist, and delicious<br/>This will be a constant recipe made in my home now<br/>thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2013

      This is so good and very yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2013

      This was my first time making bread without a bread machine and it turned out beautifully! The only change I made was to use olive oil instead of shortening because that was what I had on hand. Wonderful texture and flavor. This recipe is a keeper! <br/><br/>For those making this in a toaster oven like I did - I baked at 350 degrees for 25 mins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      I've been experimenting a lot lately with yeast breads after years of being afraid of them. This is by far the best I've made. It's delicious by itself, not ever requiring butter.The directions were perfect. This will be my go to white bread from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2013

      Made as directed and lasted less than two days in my house. Just made another batch! Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      This bread is soooooooooo Good!! flavor and density was perfect, I also used my kitchenaid for kneading so overall, it was so easy. And best of all my grandsons loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2013

      Best bread recipe I've ever found and turned out wonderful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amish White Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.7
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    16%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 2.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 203.7 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites