Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amish White Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amish White Bread

    Average Rating:

    129 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 129

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2003

      Excellent bread with easy to follow instructions. I used bread flour and kneaded (with Kitchenaid) for 15 minutes. Baked one loaf for dinner and rolled the second one out, sprinkled it with a bit of brown sugar, granulated sugar and cinnamon, rolled it up and let it rise overnight in refrigerator. This morning I set it in a barely warm oven for about an hour to finish rising and then baked cinnamon bread for breakfast. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2002

      Yummmmm! I'm so happy with this bread...it's wonderful. Nice and light and tasty. I found the rising time in the pans to be just an hour, so that was a bonus. This bread is better than the recipe I'd been using. Definitley a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2002

      My first try at making bread and it is delicious. Mine was a little dense though. Excellent for dipping. I let it rise for 2 hours both times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      Really great recipe for really great bread. Just like my Mom made when I was a little girl.
      Delicious, homey, comforting and easy! Thank you for sharing it.

      Thick slices of toast, french toast, sandwiches, dinner bread, etc etc etc just soooo good.

      note*
      I set dough on top of oven to rise while keeping oven turned on to "warm". Same thing for second rising in loaf pans. Each time took only 1 hour to double size of dough. I also used only butter instead of using any shortening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      Great Recipe... Easy to make and came out beautiful!! I made one reg white loaf and made 1 cinnamon rasin swirl loaf! ill never buy cinnamon rasin bread again!! makes great sandwich bread also. next time I make it ill make it using buttermilk or whole milk instead of water... just to make it richer.. thanks for the amazing recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      I've made this several times and realized I didn't leave a review. This is really good bread, although I used a little less sugar. With a 1/3 cup sugar, it would be awesome for cinnamon raisin bread, however, we don't like our white bread to be too sweet. I do add 2 tablespoons of wheat gluten (makes bread stay fresher longer, plus helps it to raise. I also used 2 1/4 teaspoons of yeast - I don't know how much 1/4 oz is, as I use bulk yeast. Anyway now that I've written a book, I'd like to say this is our new favorite white bread recipe. Thanks bunches Karen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      Excellent bread!! I used the dough hooks on my hand mixer and that took care of most of the work and made the dough extremely smooth in no time! I also used 2 cups milk instead of 2 cups water. This bread is incredibly light and fluffy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      The texture is excellent, it is slightly chewy with a good taste. My only complaint is that it is too sweet. Makes the bread too much like cake for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      This is my go to recipe for white bread! I don't think you could make this and have it turn out bad! Also a great dough for cinnamin raisin bread, pizza you name it....Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      This bread is wonderful! Easy to follow and so yummy! ( I did reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup and it is still so good!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Great loaf, followed some other reviews and substituted the water for milk. As well as letting the kitchenaid do all the kneading (10 minutes). Used it as a dinner bread as a side for clam chowder.. delish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      This was excellent bread! It was my first time making yeast bread and the instructions were very easy to follow. I will not be buying bread in the grocery store anymore!! I did have to alter the recipe to add more flour as I live in a very humid environment, but the rising time was right on. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      I love this bread. It is so light and fluffy and bakes up wonderfully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      This bread is amazing for making sandwich loaves. It gets so big and fluffy. Beautiful! The best bread recipe I've found.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      This recipe is not taking 5 hours. I am up to 2 hours and it is almost ready to bake. The dough is smelling really good! I love the smell of bread dough. The first rise took about 45 minutes. The second rise is going to take about 20 - 25 minutes at the most. It could have something to do with where you are located and how warm/ cold your house is. My dough is rising in a gas oven( not on of course). I mixed my dough almost exactly as stated, except for using the butter flavor shortening. I also just added the yeast and sugar together with the half cup of water, to feed the yeast. It took nearly all 7 cups of flour. I added 6 and kneaded with the 7th cup. I only kneaded it about 5 or 6 minutes before it sprang right up when I pushed on the dough. The real test is about to begin, the dough is almost over the top! any minute now... They came out beautifully and took 30 minutes to bake at 375. They rose a lot during baking and began to bake together, since they were so close to each other in the oven. I don't care! Next time I will know to give them more space. I am submitting photos soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      This was my first yeast bread I've ever made... and it actually came out well! I even messed up and added the butter into the dough, and thought that when it rose it was supposed to sit in the refrigerator for 2 hrs (took it out after 20 mins, LOL ) ... and it STILL worked! I will be making more of this delicious bread in the very near future. If you're nervous about yeast breads, believe me, if I can do this, so can you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2004

      I was looking for a good sandwich bread. After trying 4 different ones, this is the best one I have run into. Great texture, perfect for toast and sandwiches. I followed the directions exactly and got great results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2013

      Really great starter recipe! I gave it only 4 stars because I felt it needed a bit more richness. The lack of fat (2.5 TBS shortening isn't enough) doesn't give the bread a silky richness. I replaced the shortening with butter and increased it to 5 TBS butter. In addition, I replaced the water with whole milk - you can also use half water/half milk or even buttermilk. Those two small changes made a wonderful difference in the second loaves that I baked. I have been baking bread for 25 years and there is nothing quite as nice as a wonderful white bread that comes together easy and is nearly fool proof. These days I only use Instant Yeast, but I still put it in the 1/2 cup warm water to soften it and I mixed the sugar into the water too. If you have Vital Wheat Gluten, a couple of tablespoons to this recipe will give you a softer texture and help your bread last longer before going stale. Finally, I only needed 5 1/2 cups of flour - 7 would have been WAY too much. The dough should be sticky and while it is mixing in the Kitchenaid, the bottom should stick to the bowl while the sides are clean. I kneaded on medium speed for about 8 minutes, which I found to be ideal. Thanks for the recipe.. lovely loaf!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2012

      After using a bread machine for years, finally decided to go old school; after a bit of research here, this was the recipe I chose for my first attempt. Did not go wrong! Two big, perfect loaves, rose in half the time hanging around a warm oven, and absolutely delicious with perfect sponge for the kids, kind of reminds me of the original Wonder bread. Perfect white bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      This is only the 3rd time in my life I've ever made bread, (I'm not really a baker) but I'm glad I found and made this one. It's soooo easy and delicious. The only thing I did differently, per a couple of other reviews, was to cut back the sugar to 1/4 cup. I wish I hadn't, and next time (and there will be a next time) I'll leave the sugar amount as written. My first rise took the 2 hours, but the 2nd rise only took 1 hour, and they baked up beautifully in 2 glass loaf pans in 30 minutes. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amish White Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.7
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    16%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 2.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 203.7 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes