129 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent bread with easy to follow instructions. I used bread flour and kneaded (with Kitchenaid) for 15 minutes. Baked one loaf for dinner and rolled the second one out, sprinkled it with a bit of brown sugar, granulated sugar and cinnamon, rolled it up and let it rise overnight in refrigerator. This morning I set it in a barely warm oven for about an hour to finish rising and then baked cinnamon bread for breakfast. Thanks for the recipe!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W January 16, 2003

Yummmmm! I'm so happy with this bread...it's wonderful. Nice and light and tasty. I found the rising time in the pans to be just an hour, so that was a bonus. This bread is better than the recipe I'd been using. Definitley a keeper.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ReeLani December 14, 2002

My first try at making bread and it is delicious. Mine was a little dense though. Excellent for dipping. I let it rise for 2 hours both times.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caz December 23, 2002

Really great recipe for really great bread. Just like my Mom made when I was a little girl.
Delicious, homey, comforting and easy! Thank you for sharing it.

Thick slices of toast, french toast, sandwiches, dinner bread, etc etc etc just soooo good.

note*
I set dough on top of oven to rise while keeping oven turned on to "warm". Same thing for second rising in loaf pans. Each time took only 1 hour to double size of dough. I also used only butter instead of using any shortening.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Experimental Cook November 16, 2010

Great Recipe... Easy to make and came out beautiful!! I made one reg white loaf and made 1 cinnamon rasin swirl loaf! ill never buy cinnamon rasin bread again!! makes great sandwich bread also. next time I make it ill make it using buttermilk or whole milk instead of water... just to make it richer.. thanks for the amazing recipe...

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sissaroo April 29, 2010

I've made this several times and realized I didn't leave a review. This is really good bread, although I used a little less sugar. With a 1/3 cup sugar, it would be awesome for cinnamon raisin bread, however, we don't like our white bread to be too sweet. I do add 2 tablespoons of wheat gluten (makes bread stay fresher longer, plus helps it to raise. I also used 2 1/4 teaspoons of yeast - I don't know how much 1/4 oz is, as I use bulk yeast. Anyway now that I've written a book, I'd like to say this is our new favorite white bread recipe. Thanks bunches Karen

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea January 27, 2010

Excellent bread!! I used the dough hooks on my hand mixer and that took care of most of the work and made the dough extremely smooth in no time! I also used 2 cups milk instead of 2 cups water. This bread is incredibly light and fluffy!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmbutterfly April 24, 2011

The texture is excellent, it is slightly chewy with a good taste. My only complaint is that it is too sweet. Makes the bread too much like cake for me.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bitch'n kitchen July 04, 2010

This is my go to recipe for white bread! I don't think you could make this and have it turn out bad! Also a great dough for cinnamin raisin bread, pizza you name it....Thanks for the recipe!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dad the cook April 20, 2010

This bread is wonderful! Easy to follow and so yummy! ( I did reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup and it is still so good!)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss. Amy February 17, 2010
Amish White Bread