Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amish Turnips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amish Turnips

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2008

      OMG. I have never had turnips in my life and made this for our Thanksgiving this year. This dish was out of this world! My 11 year old said he would rather have this than mashed potatoes and I think we all agree. Thanks so very much for posting! OUTSTANDING!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      Because we had so many turnips in our garden I was delighted to find this delicious recipe. My friends seemed to like it too because they keep asking for this recipe. Lyh

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      Who would ever think that turnips could taste so good?! These are wonderful. My husband said they almost taste like a dessert. My three year old even cleaned his plate (this is a small miracle!). You've even inspired me to grow turnips in my garden this year! Thanks for posting this awesome recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      I'm always looking for a new way to prepare something inexpensive and ordinary. This recipe was delicious, my husband and I finished off the entire recipe for dinner between the two of us. I will definitely be using this again. Thank you for something wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      Keen - what a great way to serve turnips. I love the vegetable and have had them mashed with carrots and butter, but these were outstanding! I think the milk and egg might tend to eliminate some of the bitterness of some turnips. This dish would make a great addition to a special roasted turkey or chicken dinner with the stuffing, gravy and mashed spuds! Mmmm, can taste it already. Thanks again. Gwen

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      Three cheers!!! Turnips do not have to be bitter and yucky anymore! This was wonderful and DH (my toughest culinary critic) LOVED it. I even declined dessert for a second helping. That does not happen often, I assure you! Great flavor, easy prep (I steamed the turnips first) what more could one ask? Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      I tried this last weekend, and almost choked entirely through dinner! My hubby & daughter both know they HATE turnips....yet there was no leftovers! they thought it was potatoes. THANKS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      These were good but not great. I used some fairly strong-tasting turnips from my garden and that slightly bitter taste came through. I don't use sugar at all so maybe that's why. I might make them again but I'll probably try some other recipes first. Turnips tend to be delicious in soups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      Fantastic!! I did make one change though. Not fond of sweets so I omitted the brown sugar. My picky husband and daughter even liked them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      I made this last night because i had some turnips from our csa and this recipe clearly had good reviews. I was extremely disappointed. The instructions were clear and the ingredients simple but I did not like how the finished product tasted. I didn't notice the bitterness that some people complain about when eating turnips but they just didn't taste good to me or my family. My dad was the only one who said the were just ok and I couldn't even finish them. I don't know, maybe turnips just don't agree with me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      SUPERB! We just grew turnips in the back yard and wanted to try out a recipe that would do them justice. The turnips were good, and the recipe was a masterpiece. My husband said that these were the best tasting turnips he had ever eaten. Delicious and easy to make. I used crushed Ritz crackers instead of breadcrumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      I agree with the 5-star. I also agree everyone doesn't like turnips, if they know what they are eating that is! I lessened the milk and didn't put any butter, so should be healthier. I didn't have any bread in the house (my diet, ugh), but I had Special K and just threw some in the blender and used that. It was really awesome. Thanks for a great healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      We loved this..even the picky wont try anything new grandson..ate it and said it was "yummy gandpa" easy and very tasty..Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      I've always liked turnip greens but have never been fond of turnips themselves. I'm now converted! My husband and our 13 and 10 year olds were quite impressed with the flavor also!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      A nice way to make turnips. The brown sugar calms down the turnip flavor, so it's great for those who think they don't like turnips. I had a bit over 2 cups of turnips and still I thought the 1 cup of milk was a bit too much. I'll make this again, but cut the milk down a bit. Thanx for a new way to make turnips!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amish Turnips

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 158.7
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    33%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 49.1 mg
    16%
    Sodium 207.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    33%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    oleo

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites