15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

OMG. I have never had turnips in my life and made this for our Thanksgiving this year. This dish was out of this world! My 11 year old said he would rather have this than mashed potatoes and I think we all agree. Thanks so very much for posting! OUTSTANDING!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TGIF Girl Friday November 27, 2008

Because we had so many turnips in our garden I was delighted to find this delicious recipe. My friends seemed to like it too because they keep asking for this recipe. Lyh

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boppie cake April 02, 2009

Who would ever think that turnips could taste so good?! These are wonderful. My husband said they almost taste like a dessert. My three year old even cleaned his plate (this is a small miracle!). You've even inspired me to grow turnips in my garden this year! Thanks for posting this awesome recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrysDanMom March 06, 2009

I'm always looking for a new way to prepare something inexpensive and ordinary. This recipe was delicious, my husband and I finished off the entire recipe for dinner between the two of us. I will definitely be using this again. Thank you for something wonderful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmommy209 December 20, 2008

Keen - what a great way to serve turnips. I love the vegetable and have had them mashed with carrots and butter, but these were outstanding! I think the milk and egg might tend to eliminate some of the bitterness of some turnips. This dish would make a great addition to a special roasted turkey or chicken dinner with the stuffing, gravy and mashed spuds! Mmmm, can taste it already. Thanks again. Gwen

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gwen35 December 01, 2008

Three cheers!!! Turnips do not have to be bitter and yucky anymore! This was wonderful and DH (my toughest culinary critic) LOVED it. I even declined dessert for a second helping. That does not happen often, I assure you! Great flavor, easy prep (I steamed the turnips first) what more could one ask? Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B March 25, 2008

I tried this last weekend, and almost choked entirely through dinner! My hubby & daughter both know they HATE turnips....yet there was no leftovers! they thought it was potatoes. THANKS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GypsyWinds November 21, 2005

These were good but not great. I used some fairly strong-tasting turnips from my garden and that slightly bitter taste came through. I don't use sugar at all so maybe that's why. I might make them again but I'll probably try some other recipes first. Turnips tend to be delicious in soups.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goody2shz June 29, 2010

Fantastic!! I did make one change though. Not fond of sweets so I omitted the brown sugar. My picky husband and daughter even liked them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alphacook February 03, 2010

I made this last night because i had some turnips from our csa and this recipe clearly had good reviews. I was extremely disappointed. The instructions were clear and the ingredients simple but I did not like how the finished product tasted. I didn't notice the bitterness that some people complain about when eating turnips but they just didn't taste good to me or my family. My dad was the only one who said the were just ok and I couldn't even finish them. I don't know, maybe turnips just don't agree with me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BYUMar June 24, 2009
Amish Turnips