Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amish Sugar Cream Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amish Sugar Cream Pie

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 15, 2014

      Just made this and it is delicious. It set-up nicely but I did have to cook it longer than indicated in the recipe. I started with an extra ten minutes but then kicked the temp down a bit and added another ten minutes. I think part of the reason for the longer cook time was that my crust wasn't as brown and flaky as I like it but that was a factor of the crust recipe I used. Thanks to Chef Assig for posting this and for everyone's reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      The oven temp and/or cook time need adjustment. Cook time is closer to 40 min.A 400 degree oven might be better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2012

      I'd never had a Sugar Cream Pie before, but was intrigued by the simplicity of the ingredients and all the positive reviews. It is truly one of a kind. Creamy, densely custardy, and not too sweet with just a hint of spice. Lovely pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      This pie was perfect! As a child we used to have Sugar Cream Pies at Christmas time, this satisfied my cravings! I made the recipe exactly as written, except I used a frozen deep-dish pie crust instead of homemade. Also, I did have to cook it about 10 minutes longer than instructed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2011

      A very comforting dessert. I have never had this pie before, but it was delicious. I am putting in my Fall recipes because it has sort of a sweet mildness and the cinnamon and nutmeg make it just the thing to have with a cup of tea or glass of milk. Will make again, next time with the crust you suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Very nice recipe. Made it as a suprise for my bf who mentioned having it as a child. He and his family were very impressed. His sister liked it so much she wanted it for her birthday instead of a cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Very good my husband says!! Delicious taste, was a little bit soft coming out of the oven but set up well after some time. Would also make a delicious filling for eclairs, especially for those who don't care for the "eggy' type fillings which eclairs usually have.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      Very very good. Sugar cream pie is a childhood favorite, which I'd never been brave enough to try making. This recipe is quite simple, and quick to make. A definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      Yum! This was good! It was still warm when we ate it, but I reckon it would be better when cold. Next time, I'll have to remember to be more organised and get it done earlier! :-).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      Great pie! Easy to make and I will make it again for sure! I made this for my family on Thanksgiving and they really enjoyed it and want me to make this again! Since I am in Indiana, I knew this receipe would be good! Thanks! Kep

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      This is a wonderful recipe for sugar cream pie. Really delicious and fairly simple to make. The flavor and texture are outstanding. We live in Pennsylvania Dutch/Amish country and have tried many wonderful Amish-inspired dishes and desserts. This pie is by far the best Amish-type dessert we have ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      Wowsers! I have been dying to try this for ages. I finally got the chance to make this, and wow, am I glad I did! What a wonderful dessert. I followed the recipe exactly as written and did not change a thing. I do not cook with margarine (yuck), so I used butter instead, which worked great. The pie was incredibly easy to make and also set up well in the oven. It sliced perfectly and looked amazing when finished. Tastes even better the next day. This scores high marks for me because it is a custard pie with NO EGGS! I hate eggs! Thus, this was wonderful! The Amish REALLY know their desserts - I will be sure to try more Amish dishes in the future. Thank you for sharing this!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2006

      Yum!!!!! Very good! Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amish Sugar Cream Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 394.9
     
    Calories from Fat 217
    55%
    Total Fat 24.2 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 11.9 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 57.0 mg
    19%
    Sodium 181.2 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.0 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 34.0 g
    136%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites