18 Reviews

I had no idea if this would turn out or not, as 25 minutes seemed like a very short bake time. I ended up leaving the pies (doubled the recipe) in for a total of 45 minutes or maybe a tad longer, but the pies themselves still looked quite runny. Other sugar cream pie recipes called for much longer baking times, sometimes starting out at 425 and then cutting back to 350 for another 45 minutes - But I figured this one got good reviews from 13 people so I'd try it out. SO, after 45+ minutes of baking the pie was still super runny/ jiggly but I took it out and counted on the cool down process to set them up. By 3-4 hours they really had set nicely but the real test would be the next day when cutting them - I didn't want any runny pie in the pan - just that good smooth sugar cream texture and it worked perfectly. I was so relieved when my daughter cut into the pie and she said "oh mom it's perfect". Whew! My experience - bake it 45 minutes at 350 or even 375 and have faith in the cool down process. It is a delicious, smooth, creamy pie that many people love. I ended up with many compliments on it - thank you!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Wendy June 01, 2015

I'm not a very expirienced cook, but this was soo easy and came out fantastic. Like everyone else I had to cook it about 10 min. Longer. And as a side note, it needs to be fully cooled before serving so it can set-up and thicken.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cassie C. June 01, 2015

The pie was tasty but WAY too sweet. I would recommend using half of the sugar listed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandysosa12385 July 04, 2016

I tried this recipe I followed every step and my pie is a messy disappointment the filling is not firm at all won't use this recipe again I don't understand why it didn't turn out!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mykinzie1124 September 01, 2015

The best pie ever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rozyred692001 August 23, 2015

Just made this and it is delicious. It set-up nicely but I did have to cook it longer than indicated in the recipe. I started with an extra ten minutes but then kicked the temp down a bit and added another ten minutes. I think part of the reason for the longer cook time was that my crust wasn't as brown and flaky as I like it but that was a factor of the crust recipe I used. Thanks to Chef Assig for posting this and for everyone's reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gretchen5689 June 15, 2014

The oven temp and/or cook time need adjustment. Cook time is closer to 40 min.A 400 degree oven might be better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darla K. November 28, 2013

I'd never had a Sugar Cream Pie before, but was intrigued by the simplicity of the ingredients and all the positive reviews. It is truly one of a kind. Creamy, densely custardy, and not too sweet with just a hint of spice. Lovely pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs March 30, 2012

This pie was perfect! As a child we used to have Sugar Cream Pies at Christmas time, this satisfied my cravings! I made the recipe exactly as written, except I used a frozen deep-dish pie crust instead of homemade. Also, I did have to cook it about 10 minutes longer than instructed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisygirl0210 December 21, 2011

A very comforting dessert. I have never had this pie before, but it was delicious. I am putting in my Fall recipes because it has sort of a sweet mildness and the cinnamon and nutmeg make it just the thing to have with a cup of tea or glass of milk. Will make again, next time with the crust you suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ttreber August 06, 2011
Amish Sugar Cream Pie