14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I have not had these since my grandmother, who was born and raised Amish, passed away. I have been searching for this recipe for so very long. THANK YOU! PS - DELICIOUS!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lpcg330 December 08, 2009

These cookies were excellent. I will add these to my Christmas cookie list. Very easy to make and they don't take long to bake. These cookies were so fluffy and it was like having your own cake.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 June 14, 2003

awesome recipe for soft sugar cookies!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Munchkin Mama February 12, 2009

I want to thank you for this recipe. I was born and raised in Lancaster, Co. PA. This is the real deal of sugar cookies. The only change I did was what my grandmother did when she baked these cookies. That is she sprinkled them with confectioners sugar instead of cinnamon sugar. Thank you again I will be using this recipe many more times.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KATE WILSON March 29, 2008

What a fantastic treat!! It did look like little cakes, only with a crispy outer texture. I made mine smaller, it really is up to you how big you want to make them, no need to strictly adhere to the 1/4 cupful measurement. Instead of cinnamon sugar, I just sprinkled white sugar to half of the dough, and glazed the other half. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilovemy4kids September 05, 2006

Oh my heavens is this the best sugar cookie that I have ever tasted. Warm out of the oven is awesome. When I first put them on a cookie sheet, I thought oh my gosh these are going to be a flat pancake & like magic they turned into the best sugar cookie ever.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pmrealty September 01, 2006

These are just like the amish sugar cookies that I had in Lancaster, PA - amish country itself. The recipe was easy to follow and the cookies turned out great. I cut the recipe in half and frosted mine with a vanilla glaze. This one is one for the "keeper" file!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacklyn Modery August 06, 2006

These are WONDERFUL cookies! I have a cookie recipe similar to this that I usually use. But I thought I'd give this recipe a try just for fun! They turned out light and fluffy! Very easy to make.. ! Thankyou so much for posting this recipe! I'll be making these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Courtly May 06, 2006

Sorry to give bad review, but even more sorry to have wasted all the ingredients. These cookies had no flavor, and 1/4 cup is too big, 1/8 cup is more accurate and I waited over 10 minutes till I baked. I had big hopes for these cookies but didn't pan out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fritter December 15, 2011

This recipe did not turn out well for me. I hate to give poor ratings but I will not be making these cookies again. They were runny (even after waiting the suggested 5 min.)and in order to get the middles done, I had to overbrown the edges. Sorry, but this one is not for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Gay October 30, 2011
Amish Sugar Cookies