Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amish Sugar Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amish Sugar Cookies

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on May 20, 2002

      An excellent cookie and so tender. I thought we'd have to refrigerate the dough before forming into balls but it worked out ok without chilling. We used a small meatball (1-inch size) scoop and made about 5 dozen cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2002

      Excellent cookies, I have but one 3'X 4' counter to work at; not having to roll these out was great and they were and I say were cause they are all gone...Fantastic

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2002

      These are awesome. Very light and fluffy. I like my sugar cookies with lemon flavor, so I left out the vanilla and added the juice and grated rind of one lemon. Truly great cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      This is my Grandma's EXACT recipe for sugar cookies! I have a batch of them in the oven right now, and they are my favorite! They definitely melt in your mouth. I use my Pampered Chef small melon baller to make these all the same size...then I flatten with the bottom of a glass, and sprinkle with colored sugars! YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      Thank you for this one. They were very easy to make. I used a small scoop to form them, and the recipe made like 36 good-sized cookies. Delicately crispy on the outside, tender inside. Great. Also, I liked the idea of a recipe using oil instead of shortening--to cut back on trans-fat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2003

      A light and fluffy cookie, not too sweet, just perfect. Flattened them with a potato masher and it gave them a nice design on top. Kids loved them. Will make again and again. Thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2002

      We had a caroling party for charity the other night, and these were a hit! The children scarfed them down, my son claims eat ate too many, and my husband admit he ate TEN of them that night. Great taste. Light and sweet. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2002

      i just finished making these, and they are delicious. the best i have ever made. i sprinkled them with green and red sugar before baking for a little Christmas flavor. thanks for the recipe! i'm bringing them to a party tomorrow. sure to be a hit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2002

      These are perfect!! They are literally the best sugar cookies I've ever had in my life! They cooked to perfection-not too soft, not too hard. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2013

      Very good! Tender and delicate cookies. Only change I made was to add 1t almond extract. Had planned to ice cookies for the holiday, but this cookie really isn't the best choice for frosting as they're not very sturdy. I did use Sugar Cookie Icing and the cookies were delicious. However, these cookies are perfect as is with plain or colored sugar sprinkled on top. If I were to use icing again, I'd only use a drizzle for color. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      Hmmmm I wasn't a fan of these cookies There not a horrible cookie but certaintly not the best! I did like the texture of them almost like a shortbread but I couldn't get past the taste I could almost taste the oil just not for me...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2013

      I picked this recipe as I think it's identical to my grandma's that I've been making for years(lost the original recipe). The only thing I found different was the mixing. I mixed as the directions stated and found I just could not get the softened butter incorporated. It just floated in chunks. I mixed by hand.I think next time I will cream the butter and sugars then add the oil, egg, vanilla. I noticed there was small chunks of butter in some of the dough balls and those cookies turned out a little flatter. Also I rub butter on the bottom of the glass then dip in sugar, re-dipping often. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2012

      wonderfull thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Fantastic! Out of this world good! So good and crispy that melts in your mouth. I only made a half batch and I'm already thinking I should have done the whole batch. Filled a cookie jar, but don't think it will last that long. I didn't frost or decorate either. Doesn't need it. If you do, keep the icing light and it will be perfect. Did not add any flavoring as suggested, but may try later. I think I'll try orange. I've got so many, I'll have to "try" all of them. Yummmmmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

    • on December 12, 2009

      These are THE most awesome cookies i have ever eaten!! my best friend's mom makes these, she calls them "Danish sugar cookies" these cookies are so buttery and tender, i can't stop eating them!! i can't say enough good things about this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      I have great memories of making sugar cookies with my mom every year when I was a kid. Now that I'm starting a family of my own I was looking for a great recipe that would turn out just like mom's. (Because, as everyone knows, mom's cookies are always the best!) This recipe was really great! I was so happy to find that they tasted just like I remembered! Soft but not chewy, lightly sweet but not overwhelming. The only problem was that they weren't much good for cookie-cutting. ^^; The dough was kind of oily and just wouldn't firm up. (Even so, I ended up cutting them out individually on the palm of my hand, which was the only way they wouldn't fall apart.) One of the greatest things was how easy the cookies were to get off the pan when they came out of the oven. ^_^ Overall, I'd call this a wonderful recipe, even if it wasn't quite was I was looking for. Now I just have to find some to roll out, though I'm afraid any I find won't taste nearly this good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Awesome! YES, its a keeper. Through out all the other sugar cookie recipe's. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Friends and family love these melt in your mouth cookies. I use butter rather than margarine. I also add 1/2 tsp of almond flavoring if I have it. I make sure I don't pack the flour when measuring. Rather than flattening the cookie dough, I prefer to let them flatten themselves while baking. Bake until set but not brown for about 9 minutes. Let cool on pan for a few minutes before removing to cool on paper towels. Sprinkle with powered sugar while still warm. So addictive. Love, love, love.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      This recipe was perfect. I have always had problems with sugar cookies getting too brown on the edges but not being done in the middle...but these were "fluffy". I got exactly 36 cookies...I used an ice cream scoop and then used the cup to flatten them a little. They were perfect sized! I did have someone tell me that they weren't sweet enough, but I added icing to them afterwards so they were great! I also tweaked it a little and added an extra teaspoon of vanilla. This is definitely something that I will refer to whenever I need a quick, fun, and easy treat for any events/parties. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amish Sugar Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1439 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 194.6
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    53%
    Total Fat 11.5 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 23.8 mg
    7%
    Sodium 84.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 8.8 g
    35%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites