46 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My family fell in love with this pie. I found it easy to make - the only thing is that I needed a larger pie plate than 9 inch.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lois In Saskatchewan August 25, 2002

I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. Easy to make too. Juanita in Nova Scotia

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juan October 18, 2002

Great Apple pie. Easy to make with a great taste. I did not make any changes, used granny smith apples, a deep dish pie shell and served with ice cream. I did not even have to cover the crust it came out golden crisp and perfect. My family loved it. Thank you for the recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmedwards October 08, 2009

This was so easy to make and very delicious. I made it 3 times now. The directions should include the need for a "deep dish" crust and the fact the butter works better melted. It is almost cheese cake like when done so...delicious.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Saskatchewan Bound February 23, 2009

This was one of the first pies I have ever baked and I couldn't fiqure out with the list of ingredients how it would taste. I was amazed at what a great flavor it had. As others have mentioned it is better served chilled.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BBQ Bill March 23, 2008

I had a recipe like this that I got from a cookbook from the Amana Colony, Iowa, but misplaced the book and have been looking for this recipe for ages! It's also good with pears. I also agree that granny smith apples are great in this pie.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChaplainTerry December 30, 2010

I made these back along and forgot to review them, so I am doing it now. This pie was gone in one sitting and I got thumbs up from the whole gang! Looks like I need to add this to my favorites so I don't lose it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CooksSoGood November 27, 2010

Super easy and super yummy! Will make this often. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
armymomx2 October 14, 2010

This is one of the easiest pies I have ever made. It is delicious! I will be making this one from here on out. My husband and I loved it and can't wait to share it with others. The only thing I was concerned about was that I used homemade sour cream. It is a bit different so I wasn't sure of the outcome. Fantastic. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelliemusic August 28, 2010

A very easy and delicious pie!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mec17ster December 04, 2009
Amish Sour Cream Apple Pie