21 Reviews

Fantastic!! Soft, tasty, perfect!! I followed the recipe almost exactly. I did use butter instead of shortening and I also added 1 cup of Flax meal and I kneaded sunflower seeds into the dough. Baked for 30min and it turned out beautiful. Perfect for everyday bread. So soft and tasty. I will never buy bread again. Thank you so much!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GraceAnn July 06, 2010

This is a great bread. It baked up tall, light in texture, and what is yummier than fresh bread? In fact it was so yummy that I didn't get a photo because I was outside for about 15 mins while it was cooling and the 3 guys decided that they would help out by doing taste tests for the review. There is about 1/2 of a warm loaf left that has been mercilessly carved. There are also traces of peanut, butter and honey on the counter as well as smiles on 3 faces. I think it's well qualified for the 5 star rating. Sorry, no pic.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia September 13, 2010

This came out very nice, cut the recipe for two loafs, next time would make three smaller loafs, or 4 for the whole recipe. We are trying to use more wheat in our bread and this did stay soft was a nice bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gk3pines_11844129 June 07, 2014

This is our new bread recipe in my house!!! Thank you for posting :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhia June 24, 2011

This is a very tasty and soft whole wheat bread. I did sub butter for the Crisco because that is what I had on hand, but other than that, followed the recipe exactly. I turned one of the three loaves into a cinnamon raisin swirl bread by rolling into a flat rectangle, sprinkling with cinnamon, sugar and raisins and then tightly rolling into a loaf. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Victoria in Fort Wayne July 21, 2009

I was looking for a wholewheat bread to make at home, surprising myself this bread came out well, I was never good at bread making after failing 3 times in the past yrs. the only thing I changed was using vegetable oil instead. It didnt rise as high as would like it to, but was was ( i I used one table spoon of dry active yeast after melting in water) tasty and Soft. This was my trial bread. Here's a pic. Thank you for posting. Any tips for higher rising bread will be helpful, maybe should have use more yeast?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ash M. January 17, 2013

Perfect bread recipe. Ingredient proportions are perfect. Tastes fantastic and it's soft!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaime_D November 16, 2011

This is a family favorite, we love this bread! It's easy to make and you can prep your dough in a bread machine if you'd like. My guys have asked me for this bread every time I ask them what they%u2019d like me to make. I will continue to make this as long as they want. It%u2019s soft and taste fantastic. Truly wonderful! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Simcha July 28, 2010

I put the ingredients in my bread machine and set it on the dough cycle and then let it rise in a loaf pan and baked it in my regular oven at 350 degrees for about 35 minutes. It turned out marvelous! It has a slightly sweet flavor and is very light.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazycook in PA May 30, 2009

Soft, as advertised. Very tasty, too. My two-year-old loves it. I did let it rise twice before forming it into a loaf (I cut the recipe in thirds). I also used "Super Flour" for two cups of the flour (for those familiar with the "Super Baby Food" book, you include 1 Tbl each of soy flour, wheat germ, and brewer's yeast--I halve the brewer's yeast--with wheat flour to make a cup), which did not adversely affect the density. I intend to make this regularly. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mallison99 March 19, 2009
Amish Soft Honey Whole Wheat Bread