Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amish Soft Honey Whole Wheat Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amish Soft Honey Whole Wheat Bread

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on July 06, 2010

      Fantastic!! Soft, tasty, perfect!! I followed the recipe almost exactly. I did use butter instead of shortening and I also added 1 cup of Flax meal and I kneaded sunflower seeds into the dough. Baked for 30min and it turned out beautiful. Perfect for everyday bread. So soft and tasty. I will never buy bread again. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      This is a great bread. It baked up tall, light in texture, and what is yummier than fresh bread? In fact it was so yummy that I didn't get a photo because I was outside for about 15 mins while it was cooling and the 3 guys decided that they would help out by doing taste tests for the review. There is about 1/2 of a warm loaf left that has been mercilessly carved. There are also traces of peanut, butter and honey on the counter as well as smiles on 3 faces. I think it's well qualified for the 5 star rating. Sorry, no pic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2014

      This came out very nice, cut the recipe for two loafs, next time would make three smaller loafs, or 4 for the whole recipe. We are trying to use more wheat in our bread and this did stay soft was a nice bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      This is our new bread recipe in my house!!! Thank you for posting :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      This is a very tasty and soft whole wheat bread. I did sub butter for the Crisco because that is what I had on hand, but other than that, followed the recipe exactly. I turned one of the three loaves into a cinnamon raisin swirl bread by rolling into a flat rectangle, sprinkling with cinnamon, sugar and raisins and then tightly rolling into a loaf. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      I was looking for a wholewheat bread to make at home, surprising myself this bread came out well, I was never good at bread making after failing 3 times in the past yrs. the only thing I changed was using vegetable oil instead. It didnt rise as high as would like it to, but was was ( i I used one table spoon of dry active yeast after melting in water) tasty and Soft. This was my trial bread. Here's a pic. Thank you for posting. Any tips for higher rising bread will be helpful, maybe should have use more yeast?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      Perfect bread recipe. Ingredient proportions are perfect. Tastes fantastic and it's soft!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      This is a family favorite, we love this bread! It's easy to make and you can prep your dough in a bread machine if you'd like. My guys have asked me for this bread every time I ask them what they%u2019d like me to make. I will continue to make this as long as they want. It%u2019s soft and taste fantastic. Truly wonderful! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      I put the ingredients in my bread machine and set it on the dough cycle and then let it rise in a loaf pan and baked it in my regular oven at 350 degrees for about 35 minutes. It turned out marvelous! It has a slightly sweet flavor and is very light.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Soft, as advertised. Very tasty, too. My two-year-old loves it. I did let it rise twice before forming it into a loaf (I cut the recipe in thirds). I also used "Super Flour" for two cups of the flour (for those familiar with the "Super Baby Food" book, you include 1 Tbl each of soy flour, wheat germ, and brewer's yeast--I halve the brewer's yeast--with wheat flour to make a cup), which did not adversely affect the density. I intend to make this regularly. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      Wow Sweetslady I think I am in love. Well, with your recipe anyway. Since my retirement I have been trying to learn to cook and bread has been a bit of a frustration. This one has everything one could ask of a wholewheat bread. I would love to get my hands on that Amish cookbook of yours. Thanks Wayne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      Finally, a soft, light, sandwich suitable bread. My children who beg me for store bread loved this bread. It's been out of the oven half and hour and we're through half a loaf already. I guess I'll be making this bread again before the week is out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      This is a lovely, light, wonderful bread. I did not add the gluten and I let it rise twice before forming into loaves. The texture is light and fluffly and absolutely delicious. I have made this twice now and can barely keep it in the house! Thank You!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      Great bread! The only changes I made were to omit the gluten (didn't have any) and to use half wheat flour and half bread flour. This bread has a wonderful taste to it. I'll definitely make this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      Great recipe! I increased it to 4 loaves for my crew. I also used 1/2 milk and 1/2 water, coconut oil not crisco to increase the health benefits and I also used 1/3 cup milled flax seed this is filled with Omega 3 and adds the buttery flavor. The reason for the four rather than five stars is there is no explaination about why the eggs are set in warm water. I have my eggs at room temp and didn't have a clue as to why I would do this, unless it was to warm them up, so I didn't bother. I kept everything else the same and let my Bosch do the kneading. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      This was really good bread. I made it for our small group with some honey butter served alongside. It was still hot when everyone got slices and it was delicious. Later, after the bread had sat exposed to the air for about two hours, not so soft but still had a nice flavor. I divided everything by 3 to get what I needed for 1 loaf then multiplied by 2 to get enough for two loaves. I did not punch down every 10 minutes nor did I have a warm place and I didn't have the link to how rise yeast dough in a cool kitchen due to printing out this recipe a month ago. I punched twice and that was fine. I also used King Arthur white whole wheat (4 cups) and 2 cups white bread flour (maybe a little more flour) because I didn't have any vital wheat gluten which makes the dough light and fluffy. Mine was not dense at all and looked just like the picture. I made by hand which took about 20 minutes to get to the rising stage. I pinched the top several times diagonally and the decoration lasted, so you can cut into the dough to get different looks on the finished bread crust. After about 30 minutes into cooking, I basted with an egg white wash so the top would be shiney and cooked the recommended 35 minutes. At that point, I took the temp and both loaves were about 125 degrees. I ended up cooking about 50 minuts in my oven which is calibrated correctly. Perhaps they would have cooked in the stated time if I had only one loaf in the oven. EVERYONE raved about the bread and in fact, our pastor and family is making bread for shut-ins this Christmas and is interested in considering this recipe as THE ONE RECIPE they use for the gifts. Good job, Sherry. I can see why it is your everyday bread. Perfect for sandwiches, but very good hot and spread with honey butter! Oh, by the way, this bread isn't too sweet in our opinion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      A nice bread, a bit dense but with excellent flavor and aroma.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      123 Hit Wonders 2007 ~ Ahh, nothing like the smell of fresh baking bread! When I saw 'Amish' in the title, I knew I just had to make it. Used strong wholemeal bread flour and made in the bread machine (mixing/kneading/1st proofing) then put into a loaf pan, let it rise again and baked in the oven for 30 minutes. Cut this down to make one loaf. I'm currently eating a slice with some ham and Sweet and Hot Maple Mustard. Thanks SweetsLady!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      We've quit using store-bought bread, and have been searching for a soft whole wheat bread recipe. I finally found it! I made one "test" loaf. My husband loves this one most out of all others I have tried. It is a nice, sturdy bread; remains soft even a few days later; and has a good texture and taste. It's also easy to prepare (I just make it by hand) -- a bonus for me, as I stay home full-time with our baby, and don't have a lot of time to waste! ***ETA: I made another loaf, substituted 1 cup AP flour. After the first rise, I shaped it into a loaf, placed in a greased pan, and let it rise about 30 mins or so. Then, I baked it as directed. Very soft, fluffy, and rose a bit higher this time. In a word, PERFECT! :~)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      Honestly great bread. I put ingredients into my ABM to knead and rise, and it turned out perfectly. I let the bread bake in the oven on my baking stone, and the texture was nice crumb, but soft. I also added a bit of AP flour as suggested by another reviewer, because normally, my loaves turn out a little heavy. This lightened it up perfectly and the aroma from the oven almost made you want to faint. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amish Soft Honey Whole Wheat Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 60

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 115.4
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    26%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 9.3 mg
    3%
    Sodium 237.2 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites