Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amish Potato Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amish Potato Rolls

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2008

      We made this for Turkey day, without doing a trial run. Was kind of skeptical because I've never really made rolls before. But this was super easy, taste wonderfully light, and gave off a nice aroma. Made a ton of rolls ( Guess I should have read that it serves 36, next time we will cut the recipe in half. Since we didn't have a cookie sheet with a small lip to it we used an oversized muffin pan. My mom got a little carried away with the dough and they came out huge!!! But were still surprisingly light and fluffy. Looks like I'll be making these every year!!!!! Good post!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      Have made these several times now - they are great! I've made them into "hamburger" roll size for sandwiches, dinner rolls, and even took part of the dough and put into a loaf pan for bread - always taste wonderful and have a nice light texture. I use the water I cooked the potatoes in for the warm water - great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      OMG I can't believe I didn't rate these sooner! I have been doing a dry run on Thanksgiving for the last month (!!!) and these were SO excellent! Beware! It makes the equivalent of FOUR LOAVES, but they are just so amazing that I gave some of the batch to my bosses and friends and they adored it! This is also a very forgiving bread! I forgot to put the eggs in it and after 45 min of NOT rising, I realized my mistake, added the eggs, and it perked right up! Thanks for posting Homegirl!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      So, I made these WAY too big and didn't let them rise close enough together, but it didn't matter! These are the best rolls I have ever made! Delicious. The potatoes added a great flavor undertone and kept these rolls nice and soft. Used to make turkey sandwiches the day after Thanksgiving. A really big hit with both me and DH. Just remember, you have to place these closer together on the pan if you want them to rise up and not out!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      Terrific recipe, easy and delicious! I made 26 4oz rolls. They are just beautiful. Thanks for sharing this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      I think I died and went to heaven. My sister, husband and I sat around and just chowed down on these rolls with butter!!! they are so airy and light. This is my new fav roll recipe. I wasn't sure if they were going to come out or not but I was not disappointed at all. A TEN STAR RATING, CUDO'S TO YOU!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2012

      These have great flavor. Are a little heavy, but love that there is no yeasty flavor. I don't use Crisco, so I used vegetable oil instead, like I do with all my breads. Everyone liked them, but I was hoping for a lighter roll. Thanks. UPDATE 5-15-2012: I was going to make rolls, but decided last minute to make bread. This recipe made 3 large loaves! I mixed the flour 1/2 fresh ground whole wheat and 1/2 all purpose. I cut the sugar and the salt in half. And it still browned beautifully! I will let you know how it turned out after they are cool enough to cut..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2012

      I tried this recipe and was dissappointed at how thin the batter was. It doesn't call for kneading which would have been impossible and forget about pinching off rolls even with oiled hands. I finally added about another cup of flour to a half recipe and baked it in a bread pan. It makes a very tasty bread but it is much like a muffin in texture when cooled.
      Mine raised very well and had the texture I was looking for, being heavy but airy like I remember in an Amish restaurant I used to go to. I will try again with some changes to see results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      This made great tasting, tender and feather light rolls for me and I'll continue to use the recipe. The only reason that it wasn't a five star recipe for me is because the dough is pretty difficult to work with as the recipe is written (and I followed it without making any adjustments). I think that after the first rise, punching it down and refrigerating the dough for a couple of hours would make it much easier to work with, which is what I intend to do when I use it in the future. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      These rolls are wonderful! My family went crazy over them. I used canola oil and the potato water I boiled the potatoes in. Made rolls out of half of the dough and hot dog buns with the other half. Yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Probably the best roll recipe that I have ever made, I made the recipe as written. I may try to knead the dough next time, I think that I would enjoy the texture a bit more. As written with no kneading the texture is very tender. I boiled potatoes and used those and used the starchy water that they were cooked in for the water in the recipe. These were excellent the next day, a quality that I have never had from another roll recipe. This one is a keeper, I may try to make loaves out of it too. I may try oil or butter instead of shortening next time, just because of the trans fat issue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Fantastic! Used leftover Mom's Mashed Potatoes which worked great. Served with honey butter though they were wonderful plain. Used butter instead of Crisco. Leftovers kept well. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      I halved this recipe to go along with split pea soup and everyone raved about the rolls. I put them in a 9x13 pan and used butter instead of crisco, 3 eggs (since 2 1/2's a bit difficult), and used olive oil in the pan and on my hands. Dough was a bit sticky but turned out light and fluffy a bit of sticking to the roof of my mouth but less so the second day. I probably needed to add more than 4 cups of flour at the beginning. SUPER YUMMY--very much like challah bread. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      The dough was difficult to work with for me. The rolls; however, came out soft and tender and very flavorful. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      I used lard(per the King Arthur recipe) instead of Crisco & let my bread machine do the mixing (me keeping a watchful eye as I added flour to get nice elasticity). They were awesome! I packed them into a big lasagne pan & baked - these were outstanding pullaparts! Not a one leftover & guests requested these to be included in their take home bags! Thank you, homegirl, for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      This is a good recipe. I needed to use about a cup extra of flour, abd it was still a stickier dough than I am use to. However, my family adored these and thought they were great. I was sceptical when it said they were even better the nexted day.However, when I woke up this morning, remembering that comment, I had a roll for my breakfast, and it was indeed better than last night. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amish Potato Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (70 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.7
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    26%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 26.0 mg
    8%
    Sodium 240.1 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites