Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amish Pot Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amish Pot Roast

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2013

      This is just...awesome! I found this recipe because I had some leftover coffee and boy am I glad no one drank that last cup! This was definitely a WOW. I had under a pound and a hall beef pot roast, grass fed, and halved the recipe to specifications. I too had just shy of the full measurement of soy sauce, and it was perfectly fine. The roast was moist enough that it didn't need any extra coffee or soy sauce added during the basting or to be drowned in onions to be great on its own. Speaking of onions, they were carmelized perfectly. The aromas were to die for while this was cooking all afternoon.

      By the time it had cooked to the full four hours, the sauce was the right amount to baste the top and serve with nothing left to be wasted.This will become a heirloom recipe, I'm sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      WOW! I made this exactly as directed and it was very tender with a really good flavor - it must be the combination of coffee and soy sauce. Thanks Dancer, I'll be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Mmmm....the best pot roast I have ever had!!! Will definitely make it this way again. I just used a cheap pot roast put it all in the crockpot and cooked for 8 hours. Added carrots about 2 hours into cooking. My whole family loved it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Made this for dinner tonight, used a little less soy sauce, powdered garlic, and no bay leaves (none on my shelf). Turned out delish - gravy was fab!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      very nice.. I'll use the leftover meat in some stew today. Nora

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      Absolutely mouth watering! The meat and gravy delicious. I used a 3lb bonless rump roast, dried sliced onions, minced fresh garlic in a jar, italian seasoning which had oregano in it. I thickened the juice with premixed flour and water and served with toasted thick crusty bread. I am a believer in coffee, vinegar and soy sauce recipes for meat, such a good tenderizer and taste! I cooked on the stovetop, both my ovens went out at the same time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

    • on July 22, 2009

      This was a wonderful recipe! The coffee I used was French Vanilla flavored so it gave the meat a slight sweetness. It also made the best gravy I have ever had. My husband said this was the best roast I had made yet. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      great flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      I halved the recipe and had some stew meat, so used that. I loved the sauce! I put it in the crockpot and cooked about 5 hours on high. My husband really enjoyed the whole dish. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Lovely recipe. Now we could taste the coffee ( not that we minded that LOL) but I use a strong coffee and brew it strong. Plus I did add alot of coffee/soya sauce during cooking to make lots of gravy I tossed in some potatoes during the last 30 minutes or so for one pot cooking.Will make again Made for recipe of the day in Comfort Cafe Jan 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      Comfort Cafe Recipe of the Day. OH this is GOOD! A definite 5+ star meal. DH and DS did not taste the coffee at all but the gravy made from it was so thick and delicious. I used the scrapings from the pan searing and added that to the juice from the roast pan to make a great gravy. Some gravy is left over and frozen. WIll use this as a base to start a stew later this week. DH knew something was different but was not sure what and I did not say it was coffee. I used a sirloin roast 2 lbs as that is what I had. I added in wedged potatoes and carrots with quartered onions for a great 1 pot meal. The meat fell apart in your mouth. I am definitely going to make this over and over again. Thank you Dancer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      Tender with no coffee taste. Just deep color. Added 2 parsnip and 4 carrots. Placed them and onions and spices in a crock pot then placed the beef on top. I did season the beef with garlic, salt and pepper before searing. Placed on low for 6 hours.Made for Comfort cafe http://www.recipezaar.com/bb/viewtopic.zsp?t=288536&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0 Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amish Pot Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (318 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 337.3
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    29%
    Total Fat 11.0 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 138.4 mg
    46%
    Sodium 812.6 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 51.9 g
    103%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites