Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amish Pickled Eggs and Beets Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amish Pickled Eggs and Beets

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2010

      Add some sliced onions to this! Will try hot pepper next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      What a winner! Hubby added pickling spice and some cinnamon like JGill, and the eggs and beets were FAB! Ate beets and egg wedges with a healthy tuna salad. Wonderful as a snack too. Thinking we need to make a bunch for backyard bbq's in the summer. Thanks for sharing, very addictive!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      Great basic recipe - we've used this a few times. I make it with beets only as I am not fond of pickled eggs. And since we like a little more spice, so I add a few whole cloves, and broken cinnamon stick and a few whole allspice as the liquids cook. Easy to customize.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. I have always wanted to try pickled eggs but wanted to make them, not buy them. I used your recipe for a base, doubled it added a cap of pickling spices, tossed in cinnamon stick and some onion as I had some to use up. I did forget the salt. But after tasting them three days later, realized that I like this recipe salt free. Of course, I have nothing to compare it to... But, my family really likes them. In fact, we are going to eat the rest on Easter. Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      I hadn’t thought about picked eggs and beets for years until I ran across this recipe. Of course I had to make them, what a fun treat to have in the refrigerator. Thanks so much for posting the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      This recipe is awesome! Just like my Grandma use to make. The longer the eggs and beets set, the better they taste. I put mine in a pickle jar too. *wink*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

      My Grandma used to make these all the time when I was a little girl. I remember she used to make them in an empty Kosher pickle jar -- when I made these for my daughter's birthday this year -- you guessed it, I made them in a Kosher pickle jar! Very yummy! Good comfort food!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2005

      These are wonderful! My Mom used to make this every spring, too, and I never got the recipe from her before she died. The seasoning is perfect (kinda sweet yet a little bit tart) and the eggs come out so tender -- Just like I remembered Mom's being! Thanks again, Mercy! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2014

      Add some sausages sliced on the bias for an additional treat. I used Italian Brats and it was marvelous! Also I used tinned pickled beets which are readily available in the grocery stores.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2014

      I don't need to look any more. This is the recipe that reminds me of the ones my Grandma used to make. I can enjoy these and remember her just a little bit better. Thanks for posting this.<br/>There's no need to boil (even gently) for 5 minutes. You just need to warm vinegar & beet juice enough to dissolve the brown sugar and salt. If you don't heat it so much it cools down faster and you're on your way that much quicker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2013

      Made just as written. Wonderful. I keep a jar in the frig at all times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2011

      This was very easy to make and tasted great! DH loved it too. I didn't have whole beets so I just used sliced ones and I substituded Splenda Brown Sugar Blend. Even better the next day...don't know about days after that because they didn't last that long...hehehe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      Very good recipe and easy to make.Thanks Mercy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      Just like my mother's. Loved them then and still do. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amish Pickled Eggs and Beets

    Serving Size: 1 (180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 186.9
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    26%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 186.5 mg
    62%
    Sodium 511.7 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 24.1 g
    96%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beet juice

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites