Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amish Oven-Fried Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amish Oven-Fried Chicken

    Average Rating:

    63 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 63

    Sort by:

    • on February 23, 2003

      This is wonderful. Tender, moist, browns nicely and has great flavor, also, it is quick and easy. I did use only a dash of pepper in place of the 2 tsp., only due to the fact I don't like pepper. This will be a definite repeat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2002

      This was pretty good, but I found that there was too much butter/oil for my tastes. Next time, I will halve the butter/oil and see how it goes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2003

      Hey, Miss Annie! Your recipe has just saved me from the drudgery of frying chicken. We love fried chicken, but I hate fixing it cause it's just so messy and seems to take forever. I had given in to the fact that Popeye's and Church's make better fried chicken than I do anyway...LOL! We love your version of oven "fried" chicken. Thanks bunches from one Texan to another!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2002

      My whole family loves this chicken. They even eat it cold. It is fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2003

      Most wonderful. My husband and I like this better than the stove top version. Have and will make this many more times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      This was so good that I was requested to make it two nights in a row! I only used two bone-in breasts so I used my eyes to measure accordingly. The second night I just added Montreal Steak Seasoning to the flour and it was delicious with even less effort. We really enjoy that seasoning so I will continue to use this cooking method but with that seasoning. THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2003

      I really liked the ease of the recipe and it was quite tasty. But I agree with previous reviews: way too much butter and oil. I would definitely cut that next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2012

      Good gawsh. This was great! I followed this exactly, except added a bit of hot sauce, (Chrystal) to the butter/oil and reduced the butter oil a bit by about 3 tablespoons. This was lovely, moist, and oh so tasty in everyway. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      It had great flavor but needed to be a little crispier. I might broil it for a few min next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      We really enjoyed this chicken. It was very flavorful. I think the margoram really contributed. The directions were great and the chicken turned out crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. The only thing I'll try differently, is to decrease the amount of oil and/or butter a bit. Other than that, I really loved this recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      This chicken was absolutely delicious. I made 20 pieces and 10 chicken strips and it was gone between 6 kids and 5 adults in no time. I threw out all my other fried chicken recipes and this will be my go to recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      I enjoyed this SO much, I was really wishing I had made more. Since I had just one thigh, I reduced the recipe to one piece and baked it in my toaster oven. I thought it was very flavorful and so easy to make. I did reduce the amount of butter and oil by 1/2 of what the recipe specified and was happy with the result. Thanks Miss Annie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      EXCELLENT!! Tastes like real fried chicken. I didn't change the recipe at all -- perfect as is. My family thanks you for this recipe as we all LOVE it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      Fantastic..........moist and delicious. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Wonderful recipe, I will almost never fry chicken on top of the stove again. This turned out wonderfully and it is great cold

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      Chicken was super moist and tender. I thought the amount of oil/butter was just fine (but I did cook 14 chicken legs instead of 10). My only complaint was that the chicken just didn't brown well. I'll try this again, but instead cooking it in a 9x14 pan I'll try a deep dish cookie sheet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2013

      As with others here, I was intrigued with the possibility of finally finding a baked chicken to rival fried chicken but with less of a mess to clean up. The process is easy enough and the flour coating stuck nicely to the oil-butter coated pieces. I was full of hope when I flipped the pieces and started the last portion of the baking, but alas - when the alloted time was up the pieces were still 15° shy of being done and the crust had not crisped up at all. An additional 10 minutes in the oven brought their internal temperature up fine, but the coating never did crisp up. It was delicious and even the breasts were moist, but no crunch. Perhaps it has to do with the fact I'm baking in a propane oven rather than electric.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      Amazing!! I used chicken breast only, 5 large breast fed 4 plus left overs for 2 more. Easy and so tender and moist. family loved it and will fix many more times I'm sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      Very easy and very tasty! The house still smells wonderful from this chicken baking this morning! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      This is a good recipe, but the coating would not stay on the chicken. I used skinless breasts, so maybe that was the problem? I used coconut oil in place of the vegetable oil. The chicken was tasty and very good cold in sandwiches the next day. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amish Oven-Fried Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (294 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 167.5
     
    Calories from Fat 122
    73%
    Total Fat 13.5 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 16.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 287.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken pieces

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites