9 Reviews

I can't believe how well these turned out! They're very close to the ones I've picked up at road stands in "Dutch Country".I WILL cut down on the brown sugar in the recipe next time though, just a little to sweet paired with the filling. I made my cookies bigger then stated and they were done at 10-12 minutes. And I added raisins to the dough as well. And PLEASE use this filling! The egg white is NOT going to hurt you, and though the filling initially seems a little thin and runny is stiffens after sitting for a little while! Thanks Grandma2669!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma August 08, 2010

The cookie part of this gets five stars. I had already baked my cookies and was making the filling when I realized that it was going to be raw egg white in there. I was scared to make it with raw egg white, even though I've read that the white is o.k. to eat raw. So after I got my filling all mixed, I heated it in a saucepan on med/low for about 10 minutes until it bubbled. Then I put it in a bowl to cool before spreading it on my cookies. I will definitely make the cookie part of this again because it was soft and pretty similar to the Little Debbie Snackcakes but I am going to check out another creme filling to fill them with. Thanks for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef*Lee June 23, 2008

Yes! Perfect recipe! Underbake them and you will have a soft cookie. I'm from 'Amish Country' Lancaster County, and these are an authentic taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn July 07, 2013

these to me are not traditional, they are like little debbie oatmeal pies ....not whoopie pies. the cake should be airy, not like a cookie. favor was good on the "cookie" but again not a traditional whoopie pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A cleary June 21, 2013

Made these exactly as written (except had to use my little, old toaster oven) and they are fantastic! Just like the ones I remember. I had no trouble with the cookies or filling and LOVE them. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hunnybees January 21, 2011

these cookies are great! so much better than store bought! i didn't care much for this filling so i ended up using another

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiemakin'mama November 19, 2008

OMG- I cannot say enough about these little cookies! Both the cookies and their filling are simply delicious. And as the recipe description states, they are definately better than Little Debbies (which in my opinion taste fake, full of preseratives, and rather "icky" in comparison to the homemade "whoopie pies".) Overall, they were delicious and I would definately recommend/make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerseagrl June 25, 2008

These are really great. Move over Little.... well you know who. My kids love these. Geat find. Thank you so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barbara in Tx June 15, 2008

WOW!!! These are delicious! They lasted no time. I was afraid when I took them off the pan they seemed a little hard, but once I put the filling in them and wrapped them individually they were nice & moist. A keeper for sure. Thanks for sharing Grandma2969. :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boies October 10, 2005
Amish Oatmeal Whoopie Pie Cookies