Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / AMISH/ Mennonite Dried Beef Gravy MMMMMmmm Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    AMISH/ Mennonite Dried Beef Gravy MMMMMmmm

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2012

      This was good but I added 1/2 teaspoon of pepper as my family thought it was missing something. I followed the rest of the recipe as written. We all enjoyed it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      My husband's culinary skills were limited to this recipe, pancakes and eggs and fried fish.
      This was one of his favorities and our six-eight kids loved it. He served it with toast or fried potatoes. (We always had extra kids for supper or overnight)
      We purchased the dried beef in half case lots, bagged it in meal portions and stored or froze it.
      It was quick to make, very nutrious and did'nt cost an arm or a leg. We doubled or tripled the
      recipe and made in a large dutch oven.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      I live in Lancaster county, and this is one of my favorite foods, my friends grandfater who is ex amish made some with bear bologna one time and it was the best i have ever had!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2011

      This is a keeper, tastes just like my mother used to make when I was growing up!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      This has been a special breakfast treat for our family (originally from the Lancaster County area) for years. Sometimes, we even have it for dinner. We always serve it over toast, but biscuits and home fries sound great, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      I have made this]several times and it is always a good meal. I made it tonight and use added a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Very good. I did add a little more flour. Update: I made this today with about 8 ounces thin sliced deli turkey (cut up some). I also used 1/4 cup flour which I whisked into the cold milk before adding to skillet and 1/2 teaspoon salt was added as well. We loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      I add a couple dashes Worcestershire sauce and some black pepper for a little more seasoning. Goes great over wheat toast or biscuits.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      This is a great simple recipe! My son said it was the best he ever had and I agree! I used evaporated milk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      This is exactly like grandma always made!! It is one of my favorite dishes and unfortunately one they do not offer in Florida!!! I am originally from Graterford, PA and this is what you got when you ordered dried beef gravy!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      Yum! I grew up eating this as a dinner. I use a little more flour as we like it thicker. It is wonderful over toast. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      This is so simple, quick and it tastes great! Perfect for that on the go family.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      I can remember coming home for lunch to creamed chipped beef on toast. My mom used to substitute Budds wafer thin chipped deli beef since it was cheaper than those little jars of dried beef. My grandmother also made this for us as a treat when we visited her. My pennsylvania dutch grandma knew what a good economical dish was. Thanks for the memory WJKing. This one will definetly be in my cookbook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      WOw! THis is what my mother use to make for us on special Sundays! We got the dried beef at a butcher shop in Ephrata. Now I will make it in MN and serv e it over toast just like mom did

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      My DH and Dad adore this recipe! I usually use a little more butter and flour as they like it thicker rather than runnier but all in all this is the same recipe I use. It is fantastic over toast and we usually eat this as a dinner rather than at breakfast. We also call it SOS, no further explanation needed I am sure :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2005

      creamed chipped beef, yum. i chunk the beef in a strainer and pour some boiling water over it to remove some of the salt, then i use the same recipe. beyond wonderful over toast or home fried potatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2005

      I grew up eating this! This was a real favorite served on my mom's homemade biscuits. We used almost any kind of leftover meat and served this for breakfast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2014

      I hadn't had SOS in years but when my wife bought some dried beef the other day, I thought about it. This was pretty good, my wife loved it. Made exactly as written except added a pinch of pepper. I do think I will rinse the meat next time to reduce the salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2014

      I love dried beef gravy and this recipe is almost perfect!!! All it needs is a touch of black pepper to set it off! An easy and simple meal. I serve it with sweet peas and fried potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2005

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for AMISH/ Mennonite Dried Beef Gravy MMMMMmmm

    Serving Size: 1 (224 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 232.7
     
    Calories from Fat 117
    50%
    Total Fat 13.0 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 63.2 mg
    21%
    Sodium 931.4 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 15.4 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes