61 Reviews

I just made this for a super bowl party and it's amazing. Tastes almost like the macaroni salad the Amish make

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnePosey February 06, 2011

Quite tasty as-is, but I made a few changes the next time I made it which IMHO made it more tasty: Sub the sugar for about 3tbs of honey, Sub white vinegar for cider vinegar, Add 1/2 tbs celery seed, and 1/tbs dill (dried), Used dijon mustard (Was not sure if it called for yellow, but I prefer the dijon!) , and smoked paprika rather than regular. SOOO good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brileigh21 July 24, 2015

WOW!!! I would give this recipe more stars if I could. This recipe is the best macaroni salad I've ever made. It's always a hit at home or whenever I take it to a covered dish venue.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
virginia195.elliott July 06, 2015

I made this for our New Year's Day Open House. Everyone loved it. My husband doesn't like all macaroni salads; not too much vinegar, not too sweet. He loved this one. One comment. Since this was my first time making a macaroni salad, I want wasn't sure about how much liquid it had in it right after I made it but after sitting overnight it was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackiehorst January 04, 2015

This was a big hit at our house! Unfortunately, I forgot we were out eggs, but it was great, just the same...will do the eggs next time. THANKS for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ackman May 19, 2014

This is a wonderful version of that Pennsylvania Dutch Country classic. I made it for a rehearsal dinner with gluten free elbow noodles. Being GF, I haven't had Amish Macaroni Salad for at least a couple years now. It was wonderful having a great recipe to make myself with gluten free pasta so I could enjoy it again after so long! Everyone enjoyed it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy Sarah May 12, 2014

Keeper! I was searching for a recipe as close to my mother in law's as I could get (mayo, vinegar, mustard, sugar, egg, celery, onion). Based on the recipe and reviews, I decided this was the one to try. At first, I was hesitant to add all sugar but followed the recipe exactly and I am so happy I did! Family LOVED it, including kids and an adult Bona Fide mayonnaise hater! Thank you Charmed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TryItYou'llLoveIt April 15, 2013

This has an amazing, sweet dressing. I quite liked it. I added onion & green peppers because that's what I had at home. It would be great with almost any veggie you wanted to add. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy-in-the-Kitchen September 29, 2012

This was very good. The dressing reminds me of Marzetti's Slaw Dressing which I love. I never tried a sweet dressing on a cold macaroni salad before but was quite pleasantly surprised. I'll make this salad at our next get to-gather.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 October 02, 2010

Wonderful recipe! I have made it to take to a couple of picnics this summer and everyone has loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynjt August 27, 2010
Amish Macaroni Salad