Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amish Macaroni Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amish Macaroni Salad

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2010

      This is just the Amish mac salad that I was looking for! I grew up just north of Harrisburg, PA and this tastes like the macaroni salad that my Grandma Connie used to make while I was growing up. I now make this for every picnic and get-together that our family has and I never come home with leftovers. It takes a little bit of time but it is well worth it in the end. Thank you so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      This is a great recipe if you want authentic Amish macaroni salad. It tastes very similar to Winter Garden's Amish Macaroni Salad. I've made it twice and decreased the sugar somewhat the second time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      Thank you so much for posting this recipe! I was born and raised in a PA Dutch family and lived in York County most of my life. I moved to the South 4 years ago and the food is completely different...no Amish macaroni salad to be found. Since this is my DH's favorite side dish I was determined to find a recipe for it. I've tried a number of recipes and your's is the ONLY one that tasted like the one from home! I whipped up a batch for my DH's birthday...what a great surprise; you'd have thought I'd given him a million dollars! I followed the recipe exactly as it is written and let it sit a full day...PERFECTION! Thanks again! I look forward to trying more of your recipes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2006

      Very tasty! And not too sweet like store made Amish Macaroni Salad. This easily rivals our local salad maker's (Winter Gardens).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2005

      This was a different but good salad. Made it because of the ingredients and was suprised how well it came out. I also halved the recipe since I was the only one eating it. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2004

      This had a unique and good flavor. I halved the recipe for my family of four. I found the texture was runny after chilling for a few hours. I would halve the sauce ingredients next time, or try chilling overnight (probably both). I will try again - my family enjoyed it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2004

      This is VERY good! Just the right flavor, not too sour not too sweet. It did not set long at our house! I made 1/2 the amount called for, as I only had three to feed. Ran the eggs, carrots and celery through the salad shooter. It was all gone after one meal! Next time I will make the full recipe. WE all really like this, for sure will add it to my favorite recipes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2004

      Very good taste and easy to fix. Different than the typical macaroni salad. Glittergirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2004

      I'm rating this again because I later discovered that our flour was accidentally mixed with cornstarch...hence the grainy texture. So sorry about that!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      I'm rating this with no stars as well. My husband and kids loved this salad. Me--not so much. Maybe I didn't make the dressing right. I might have cooked the sugar, flour and vinegar for too long. It was so thick that it was like glue. I could taste the flour in the dressing as well. I only made half the amount of dressing called for--it worked out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      I'm rating this with no stars. I have never had Amish macaroni salad before. I do adore basic macaroni salad, potato salad and coleslaw-enough so I will actually eat bowl fulls, as a meal alone. I guess the Amish type of macaroni salad is not for me! I don't mean "THIS" recipe! I could only eat a couple of spoonfuls. To my 'personal' taste, it almost seemed artificially sweetened. The twang and than an overpowering sweetness. I hope this doesn't come off as a poor review...I do like every ingredient listed, just my belly and taste buds didn't.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amish Macaroni Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (138 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 389.3
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    29%
    Total Fat 12.9 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 121.0 mg
    40%
    Sodium 304.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.6 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 33.7 g
    134%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes