11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is just the Amish mac salad that I was looking for! I grew up just north of Harrisburg, PA and this tastes like the macaroni salad that my Grandma Connie used to make while I was growing up. I now make this for every picnic and get-together that our family has and I never come home with leftovers. It takes a little bit of time but it is well worth it in the end. Thank you so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness December 02, 2010

This is a great recipe if you want authentic Amish macaroni salad. It tastes very similar to Winter Garden's Amish Macaroni Salad. I've made it twice and decreased the sugar somewhat the second time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RacheLynn83 June 24, 2009

Thank you so much for posting this recipe! I was born and raised in a PA Dutch family and lived in York County most of my life. I moved to the South 4 years ago and the food is completely different...no Amish macaroni salad to be found. Since this is my DH's favorite side dish I was determined to find a recipe for it. I've tried a number of recipes and your's is the ONLY one that tasted like the one from home! I whipped up a batch for my DH's birthday...what a great surprise; you'd have thought I'd given him a million dollars! I followed the recipe exactly as it is written and let it sit a full day...PERFECTION! Thanks again! I look forward to trying more of your recipes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yourtess September 01, 2007

Very tasty! And not too sweet like store made Amish Macaroni Salad. This easily rivals our local salad maker's (Winter Gardens).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RossoRaven December 01, 2006

This was a different but good salad. Made it because of the ingredients and was suprised how well it came out. I also halved the recipe since I was the only one eating it. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazze22 May 15, 2005

This had a unique and good flavor. I halved the recipe for my family of four. I found the texture was runny after chilling for a few hours. I would halve the sauce ingredients next time, or try chilling overnight (probably both). I will try again - my family enjoyed it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch March 30, 2004

This is VERY good! Just the right flavor, not too sour not too sweet. It did not set long at our house! I made 1/2 the amount called for, as I only had three to feed. Ran the eggs, carrots and celery through the salad shooter. It was all gone after one meal! Next time I will make the full recipe. WE all really like this, for sure will add it to my favorite recipes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelfan March 13, 2004

Very good taste and easy to fix. Different than the typical macaroni salad. Glittergirl

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glittergirl March 09, 2004

I'm rating this again because I later discovered that our flour was accidentally mixed with cornstarch...hence the grainy texture. So sorry about that!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Literary Mom March 05, 2004

I'm rating this with no stars as well. My husband and kids loved this salad. Me--not so much. Maybe I didn't make the dressing right. I might have cooked the sugar, flour and vinegar for too long. It was so thick that it was like glue. I could taste the flour in the dressing as well. I only made half the amount of dressing called for--it worked out fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Cook! June 27, 2011
Amish Macaroni Salad