Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amish Friendship Starter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amish Friendship Starter

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 21, 2005

      Detailed & clear instructions. I have been using this recipe for over 6 years now, and it is a joy to see it on here! I would not know how to live a week without this working on my cabinet now! Please note: * this can be frozen in 1 1/4 cup measurements in ziplock bag, dated, for up to 6 mos. To use for baking, let thaw 8 hrs. To use for "starting" a new batch - let thaw and count as Day #1... Enjoy!!! ~Lady~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      Thanks for posting this! We od it exactly the same way except we store the starter in a Ziploc bag (with the date clearly written on it so you don't lose track of the days), and "smoosh" the bag every day instead of stirring. You usually need to open the bag every day or so to "deflate" it, but it makes it easier to give it to others, and safer to store in your kitchen. You're wonderful, Kim! Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2003

      Some years ago I was given this recipe by a friend from Amish community; made a cake and brought it to a board meeting. The board members raved about the cake, and I have been looking for the starter recipe for a very long time. So glad to have found yours!!! I have now made it a few times with slight variations, and enjoyed it very much. Now I will keep it in my recipe collection, and make a cake for our new neighbor across the street tomorrow. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      thanks for posting this...my mom made this years ago and it's wonderful...I never did have the starter recipe though! Thanks a bunch,strawberryjane

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      Thanks for the recipe for Amish Sourdough, can`t wait to try it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      I used this to make a couple of cakes and a loaf of the best sourdough bread I have ever made. The bread turned out sweet but so delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      I have used this several times with the starter I first began with Amish Friendship Bread and Starter. However that recipe is a 27 day starter so I tried this one with the starter I got from the end of those first 27 days. It worked great. I also used that bread recipe and it was great. Thanks for sharing. I am on my third round of starter and am excited to have this website to use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      Never in all my cooking experience have I made something like this, but did so in order to use it in yet another recipe for one of my adopted orphan chefs in the recently concluded PAC! What can I say but that it does its work very well, so you get the brass ring! Thanks for sharing your recipe here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      Oh thank goodness! I was "blessed" enough to be given a starter a couple of months ago, but it is dreadful to think that you have to make it every 10 days, if you don't want too! I was hoping to find the starter and now I have. Thank you so much for posting! Note, I baked two batches last night...one in a bundt pan (an hour and 10 minutes) and the other in the 4 mini pans (50 minutes). The bundt pan is BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      Worked like a charm, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      I loved this starter!! I have tried some others in the past but they just haven't worked. I live in Indonesia and even with the very humid weather this worked exceptionally well!! The sour smell starts to develop around the 3rd day. This starter goes very well with "Classic San Fransisco Sourdough Bread" http://www.recipezaar.com/154142 Thanks so much for this awesome recipe!! ^^

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

      Thank you! Thank you!! I've been looking this recipe for years! Mom passed 11 years ago and her and I use to pass this one around to our friends.. it was the church rage many moons ago!! Again.. I can't thank enough! This recipe is the best.. I can't rave enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amish Friendship Starter

    Serving Size: 1 (426 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1038.8
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    60%
    Total Fat 7.6 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 25.6 mg
    8%
    Sodium 93.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 230.0 g
    76%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 149.9 g
    599%
    Protein 15.6 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes