47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I make my starter in a gallon ziplock bag and knead the bag everyday opposed to stirring it in a bowl. It takes up less space and is way easy, less mess too. Just make sure you let the air out everyday! As if it could get any easier!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
firewife October 26, 2007

I have used this recipe for quite a long time and my family loves it. I only add half a cup of the sugar, milk and flour to the starter each time. That way I end up with half as much batter; then I cook two loaves and have the other half to keep as starter for my next batch of bread. My friends are not big on baking so this way I did not have to scramble to get rid of the starter each time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elboe Bethel October 20, 2006

A truly tasty bread!<br/><br/>Johnski's Kitchen

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Johnski's Kitchen July 25, 2014

A coworker brought this to work, and it was irresistible. 2 loaves were gone in less than a day. This is terrific stuff.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyZoe May 06, 2012

This is an excellent starter and the cake came out so moist and yummy! I passed on some of the starter, but am so glad I have some of my own so I can continue making these for myself, my neighbors and family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BettyBoopers May 28, 2010

Very clear and well written instructions--Even with alterations I was able to make a good and tasty bread and share it with a large number of people as a recipe and a starter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karyl Lee April 23, 2010

Thank you for posting this as I misplaced the instructions that came with the starter. Now the starter has been 'fed' while I'm on the hunt for that elusive piece of paper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dogsandwoods April 10, 2010

Trying to make the starter for the first time - I put the sugar, milk and flour in a ziplock. Does anyone know of a reason that won't work?? Having a bowl on the counter for 17 days just doesn't work for my family... Any ideas?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rnmommy02 February 15, 2010

Thanks for the starter recipe. I remember this from years ago. My Daughter came in from out of state with a starter mix from a friend and we baked hers using wheat flour and FF milk. It is in the oven now so not sure how the substitute will be, but if it flops I can now get some more started for her. Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smschoolcraft January 27, 2010

I omitted the nuts and sugar -- it has been plenty sweet to everyone else with rave reviews all around, and I don't think it needs the extra sugar! :o) I put it all in one 9x5 stone loaf pan and had no problems (bake time was a bit longer, and I did cover with foil for the last ten minutes) Definitely delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unmistakable1 February 24, 2009
Amish Friendship Bread and Starter