Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amish Friendship Bread and Starter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amish Friendship Bread and Starter

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2008

      This bread and starter are really good. I have since gone to the 10 day version after this initial 27 day period and it has worked fine. The bread is very good. I sprayed three medium sized aluminum loaf pans and then coated them with a smattering of cinnamon/sugar mixture. I poured in the batter then coated the top with more cinnamon/sugar. Man was it good. I planned to take a loaf to work but it never made it there. My friend planned the same thing and hers never made it either. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      This worked out perfectly...I am about to give away my second set of starters :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      I was given a starter and happy to find a recipe that I could use. I used 1/2 cup of oil and 1/2 cup unsweetned apple sauce. I left out the nuts. Also used the cinnamon/sugar but only used about 2 tbsp of it. I baked it in a bundt pan 65 minutes at 325 degress. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      I was given a start of this as a gift for my wedding. I didn't realize it was a sweet type bread until I actually started making it on the 10th day. I was surprised that this actually turned out how it was supposed to and it tastes great, a lot like a coffee cake! I also used the plastic bag method and it worked very well. I'm going to stick one in the freezer and give the others away tomorrow at work. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      This is awesome! My friend & went through several "rounds" of Amish friendship bread several years ago & loved it. We both had problems giving the starter away, so we eventually quit. Now we can "start" it anytime, then quit. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      My husband & I are both diabetic. I used a sugar substitute baking blend, sugar-free pudding mix, and used 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce & 1/2 c. oil (instead of 1 c. oil). Turned out great. A real hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      I had lost my recipe and found this one. The same exact one I had lost! We have made some changes to this recipe that didn't make a difference to the moisture or the softens of the bread. 1. We only put in 3/4 c.oil 2. We add 2 eggs 3. 1/2 c. sugar. I have also added sugar free pudding and different flavor pudding. One of my friends made a lemon bread. I added blueberries,and I have also made this into a coffee cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

    • on October 07, 2007

      I've been searching for this starter with the recipe for days...thanks for sharing. I had the exact bread recipe from 8 years ago, but never had the starter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      I have a parent who made me a batch of starter, and sent in this recipe w/ some of the bread. The starter seems very easy to keep, and the bread is very tasty (a bit dense for my taste, but it has good flavor). She also included other additions she has made (ex: chocolate pudding isntead of vanilla, or adding chocolate chips or chopped candy bars). I am looking forward to making the bread myself. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      I have eaten many muffins made from this recipe which my sister in-law is sooo good at making. They became so popular with our family that she began to make them for the kids birthdays. Awesome gift. Of course we insisted that they share with the entire family. I am so glad to see the starter recipe written down. It sure makes you appreciate all of the effort that she goes to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      I have used basically this same recipe for years except mine is made with self rising flour. I am glad to get the starter recipe as I didn't have it. I have made lots of variations and usually make them as muffins. I take muffins to let people know that I am thinking of them. I usually make several batches and keep some in the freezer so they are handy if I need them. My family loves them for breakfast or a quick snack. Some of the variations have been lemon (omit cinnamon and use lemon pudding), peanut butter (add 1 cup of peanut butter cut in the dry ingredients and omit cinnamon),etc. It also makes a great bundt cake that is like a coffee cake. It says that you can't put it in the fridge, but I keep bags of the starter in the bottom of my refrigerator so that I can bake when I want - just bring them out for a day ( or at least to room temperature) Everyone loves this recipe and looks forward to a plate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      This is wonderful and I have made it soo many different ways. I always omit the nuts as I do not like them. Omitting the cinnamon, I have made using chocolate with 1 cup choc. chips. It's probably my family's favorite. I've also done pumpkin, cranberry, strawberry, pistachio, vanilla, and butterscotch with butterscotch chips. The only variety I haven't liked has been the pistacio. Next I'm planning on trying it lemon or Chocolate with peanut butter chips. This is such a great versitile recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2005

      I didn't realize that making the starter was so simple! I received a Friendship Bread starter and recipe a few years ago but I never knew how to actually start a batch myself. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      I follwed the recipe to a t. It was delicious and everyone ate the entire cake. I only sample it. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2005

      very yummy. very moist. I didn't stir everyday but i dont think it made any difference. i used melted butter and melted shortening with a few teaspoons of water instead of oil, used spoiled 1/2 and 1/2 instead of the milk and ran out of flour at 1 and 2/3c. so i used 1/3 cup of soy flour. even with all the changes i dont think it made any difference. will make it again. very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2005

      Sourdough bread is bread made without added yeast. By making a "starter" in which wild yeast can grow, the sourdough baker can raise bread naturally, as mankind did for thousands and thousands of years before a packet of yeast was an available convenience at the local market. Not all sourdough is sour-tasting; Amish Friendship Bread and other types of live-yeast breads are also sourdough. To become a sourdough baker, all you need are some basic ingredients (flour, water, salt, and sugar), some basic tools (a mixing bowl, an oven, and a baking sheet), and a basic interest. If you can make bread, you can make sourdough bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2005

      this bread is good, but it isn't really 'starter' if you don't add yeast.. start out with 2 c. flour, 2c. warm water, and 1 pkg. active dry yeast, then 'feed' it on day five and ten as in this recipe...you'll know you have it right because when you go to stir it each day, it will be bubbly. Hope this helps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2004

      My mother used to make this a lot and I am eager to try it myself. You can use any flavor of pudding mix to give the bread a different taste. My favorite was when she used the pistachio pudding mix. Even though I don't like the nuts, the bread was heavenly. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amish Friendship Bread and Starter

    Serving Size: 1 (3058 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 615.9
     
    Calories from Fat 191
    31%
    Total Fat 21.3 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 42.3 mg
    14%
    Sodium 374.9 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 99.9 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 65.1 g
    260%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites