18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had this spread on toast and it was fantastic! My husband wasn't crazy about it (doesn't like olives) but that just meant more for me! Thanks, I will be making this again.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! February 27, 2002

My kids loved this, even my daughter who doesn't care for tuna salad. I substituted chopped celery for nuts. Great to have on hand to make sandwiches for a quick lunch.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie Kovarik August 06, 2001

Didn't know what sort of olives to use...so I used black olives...really tasty...thanks Bill. =) I thought at the time it must mean green olives...I had none...and am a sucker for black ones anyway....didnt use many....will try it again with green....love this type of recipe.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* July 23, 2001

This recipe comes from Marsha Adams, who hosted a program on American Public Broadcasting stations called Quilt Country. The first time I tried it, I knew it was worthy of lots of stars. I use those Spanish green olives that are stuffed with pimentos, because it adds some nice color.Since the recipe calls for diced, I save a little money by using the ones that come sliced in the jar because they are made from olives that are not perfect enough to be sold whole.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill Hilbrich July 25, 2001

I really liked this recipe--couldn't stop eating it. I used green olives with pimentos. Actually used an extra quarter cup of olives to give it a little more zing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo Anne December 22, 2003

I've decided not to give this one any stars because honestly, I'm really not sure about this one. I was looking for something new to do with tuna and found this saved in one of my cookbooks. I've frequently added green olives to tuna salad before and thought I would like this as a change. I really can't say that I disliked this recipe, just that it was really different. The cream cheese makes it really rich for me. Even DH said the same when he tasted it, "Different". I think we're still pondering this one. I'll probably try this one again, with a few tweaks, because for some reason I'm really drawn to this and really want to "like" it. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SloppyJoe June 01, 2011

Oh my gosh! I've been looking for this recipe for years!!! When I was child I lived in north western Pennsylvania. We lived out in the country and just down the road was an Amish family. The kids there were the only ones within walking distance so I spend a great deal of time there playing in the summers. Almost every day at lunch their mother would serve a spread very similar to this on homemade bread with fresh apples from their orchard. The best lunches ever!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
az_garden2007 July 21, 2010

I made this with green olives. I wasn't impressed. There are a lot of better appetizers that are quick, easy and taste better. My guests also didn't enjoy this (only one thought it was really good). Sorry, but I won't be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ljjohnson1 September 18, 2008

I made this "as is" with black olives. Before I added the walnuts, I thought this is really tasty. I wish I would have subed the walnuts for onions. As is, this is just OK. The walnuts just don't fit for me. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angie2B January 22, 2008

I am not going to give this any stars because it could be just my personal taste and not the fault of the recipe. I followed the recipe exactly but I am not too crazy about the flavor. It is super rich and I can only taste the mayo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB August 26, 2007
Amish Dip