Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amish Chicken Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amish Chicken Casserole

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2002

      I made this and it was very good. I used left over turkey breast. I also added a large bag of mixed vegtables to not only add color but to make this a complete meal. I served it with a salad and corn bread and my family just loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2002

      Quick and easy!!Great way to use up left-over chicken.I added a couple a splashes of worchershire sauce and slapped it on the table!Great for all you busy folks out there,dont plan on leftovers with this one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2002

      Good stuff. Always nice to find a casserole recipe that doesn't call for some cream o' something soup. Rich and filling my family LOVED this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      My family loved this recipe. Although I do think it has alot of fat in it. I also added mixed vegetables to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      This was good and easy to make. I had leftover spaghetti and chicken from the other night so this made it quicker to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I used butter instead of margarine and didn't add the mushrooms as I didn't have any. Next time I would cut back on the salt as I thought it was a tad salty and add a bit more pepper. I also cooked this all on the stove top and did not use the oven. We all enjoyed this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      I have made this twice now, and each time it was served, my husband and brother-in-law scraped the casserole dish...I think that is a compliment to your recipe in itself...it was quick and very enjoyable... thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      A very nice casserole dish. True comfort food! The only difference I made was to use a cup of frozen peas with mushrooms with garlic. The time for baking was right on. Serve this with fresh fruit and we really enjoyed it. Thanks. Carole in Orlando

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      This was an easy and great Weds night dinner with no processed foods (i.e. cream of ???) involved. I used leftover chicken and leftover pasta and this didn't taste like leftovers. I too crushed some garlic/cheese crouton and mixed with the parm on top. Also, when I make other white sauces, I use equal amounts of butter and flour, so I reduced the butter in this recipe to 1/3 cup and it worked fine. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      I made this again and have revised my rating to 5 stars from 4. My DH and his brother both loved this, and they don't like casseroles. This was super easy to do. I added an extra portion to the meal and adjusted the quantities accordingly. I also added more mushrooms, about a cup of frozen veggies and 2 celery stalks. I added more salt and pepper than it called for. I also topped it with some breadcrumbs as well as parmasan cheese. I'll definately make this again, but in larger quantities for leftovers and freezing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2014

      Made this last week, it was very good - true comfort food for a cold night! Added in some frozen vegetables and cheddar cheese. Dinner was done! Thank you Annie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      We found this bland and disappointing. I did not add mushrooms, but otherwise followed the recipe. Now I am trying to turn the left overs into some sort of chicken pot pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      I made this as directed and thought it was really good. It reminded me of chicken and dumplings with pasta instead of dumplings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      This is my husband's favorite! Its simple and filling which works great for my busy household. I usually double the recipe for leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      This was good. I used rotini pasta. Since there are only 2 of us, we had plenty of leftovers. This was such an easy recipe to make. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      Oh my, this was so good in so many ways. We had this last week and first bite, my honey-bunch said he like it and that is a BIG plus! I was excited to get up and have leftover for lunch the next day lol. I used penne pasta and doubled the chicken as it was what was left from a rotisserie one the day before. I used just a wee bit of bread crumbs with the parmasean cheese on top. This filled an 8x11 pan perfectly. We kinda on purpose had chicken today for leftovers tomorrow... yeaaa me! Thank you for such an easy, wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      Wow, this was delicious! I'm always looking for ways to use leftover chicken. I used egg noodles. I made a few small changes: I used only 1 (14-oz.) can of chicken broth and juice from can of mushrooms to equal 2 cups of liquid. I also added frozen peas. I will definately make this again. Thanks, Miss Annie for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      This was really very good. The base is very creamy (and it should be with all that butter!) I added some frozen peas and carrots and used penne pasta. Loved it! It tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Good recipe...although l added some perk into it. I added cheeder, garlic and a couple of heaping spoons of sourcream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Followed recipe completely and it was a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      Wednesdays are casserole days in our house and this is the one I chose for last night's dinner. We LOVED it! Total comfort food. I used Kluski noodles, which always seem more like home-made to me. I added a couple of handfuls of frozen peas and corn which, along with the mushrooms, gave this casserole a somewhat of a 'chicken pot pie' feeling. This will definitely be made again at my house....probably next Wednesday! Thanks for posting this recipe Miss Annie :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amish Chicken Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (259 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 576.6
     
    Calories from Fat 216
    37%
    Total Fat 24.0 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 116.2 mg
    38%
    Sodium 1892.5 mg
    78%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 35.3 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes