33 Reviews

I made this and it was very good. I used left over turkey breast. I also added a large bag of mixed vegtables to not only add color but to make this a complete meal. I served it with a salad and corn bread and my family just loved it.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MICHEALE MCCOY April 11, 2002

Quick and easy!!Great way to use up left-over chicken.I added a couple a splashes of worchershire sauce and slapped it on the table!Great for all you busy folks out there,dont plan on leftovers with this one!!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crawfish pie May 02, 2002

Good stuff. Always nice to find a casserole recipe that doesn't call for some cream o' something soup. Rich and filling my family LOVED this!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex November 05, 2002

My family loved this recipe. Although I do think it has alot of fat in it. I also added mixed vegetables to it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wejoe February 10, 2003

This was good and easy to make. I had leftover spaghetti and chicken from the other night so this made it quicker to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I used butter instead of margarine and didn't add the mushrooms as I didn't have any. Next time I would cut back on the salt as I thought it was a tad salty and add a bit more pepper. I also cooked this all on the stove top and did not use the oven. We all enjoyed this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol May 14, 2010

I have made this twice now, and each time it was served, my husband and brother-in-law scraped the casserole dish...I think that is a compliment to your recipe in itself...it was quick and very enjoyable... thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonP November 13, 2009

A very nice casserole dish. True comfort food! The only difference I made was to use a cup of frozen peas with mushrooms with garlic. The time for baking was right on. Serve this with fresh fruit and we really enjoyed it. Thanks. Carole in Orlando

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando September 05, 2009

This was an easy and great Weds night dinner with no processed foods (i.e. cream of ???) involved. I used leftover chicken and leftover pasta and this didn't taste like leftovers. I too crushed some garlic/cheese crouton and mixed with the parm on top. Also, when I make other white sauces, I use equal amounts of butter and flour, so I reduced the butter in this recipe to 1/3 cup and it worked fine. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta October 25, 2007

I made this again and have revised my rating to 5 stars from 4. My DH and his brother both loved this, and they don't like casseroles. This was super easy to do. I added an extra portion to the meal and adjusted the quantities accordingly. I also added more mushrooms, about a cup of frozen veggies and 2 celery stalks. I added more salt and pepper than it called for. I also topped it with some breadcrumbs as well as parmasan cheese. I'll definately make this again, but in larger quantities for leftovers and freezing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saylaveev November 23, 2006

Made this last night and my husband who is "sick of chicken" loved it and said that I should make it again! Everyone else also loved it, too! I had no mushrooms, so I used canned peas instead. I also took several people's advice and topped it with seasoned bread crumbs and parmesan. I also used butter instead of margarine. There was hardly anything left and that disappeared for lunch the next day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sueleo January 10, 2015
Amish Chicken Casserole