Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amish Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amish Bread for the Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2007

      This is one of the best breads I have ever made! Thank You!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2003

      This was a great bread....really light and fluffy, great texture. And yummy taste. Great as toasted bread. It was really worth the effort. Will be making this white bread lots. Will either add some dried cranberries or walnuts in next time too. I think it will go very well. Really worth trying!! UPDATE: I tried this with walnuts, and they were great in the bread!! I really cannot stress enough how wonderful this bread is. IT IS WORTH THE EXTRA EFFORT.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2010

      This has become the only bread recipe I use. I have made it as is, as well as with the following adjustments. I use whole wheat flour and wheat gluten (2-3tsp) instead of white. I usually add 1/4 c honey, and a little more water so my bread machine won't click! When I have the ingredient I'll add toasted nuts and/or diced dried fruit. This comes out nice and light, even with the wheat flour, and everyone who has tried it has loved it! Thank you sooo much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      I LOVE this bread! Now that I have this recipe no more store brought bread for me. Two of these loaves a week and the family is good to go:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      This bread is sooo good. Sometimes I take it out of the ABM and bake it in the oven. Either way it is delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      Maybe it was just me or my machine (I'd rather blame the equipment..:D) but, this didn't work so well. Flat, dense, and like chewing on rubber. Even so, the kids still ate it all! HA!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      This is a great recipe. We love it. It is so light and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      YUM! Terrific sandwich bread it is very light! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      Loved this bread, I usually buy the bread mix in the box for my bread maker, (NOT ANY MORE) will use this recipe for now on. I use butter instead of oil, other than that, my family loved it. I am making it again today, this time I am going to add some cinnamon and raisins....YUM! Rosezy from Romulus, Michigan Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      I was looking for a soft and fluffy bread to slice thick and spread with honey butter while still warm, just like we buy at the fair. This was it! Baked mine in the oven for around 25-30 min at 375 degrees for a pretty loaf. Wonderful bread, and if you don't have time to run the 2nd cycle don't worry it still comes out soft and tasty. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      Can't believe I forgot to rate this bread. Made it a couple months ago and my family really loved it! What a great, easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      This bread is worth the extra time. Very light and crusty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      This is an awesome bread recipe...I have been trying to find a soft white bread recipe that doesn't really taste like homemade for my machine for about 10 years. This is the best.....thanks...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      This bread is sooooo good! I followed the recipe as follows...would like to do a 2lb loaf next time! Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      In case someone wants to make a 2 lb loaf, the water for 24 tbsp is 1 1/4 cups, not 1 1/8... thought this might be helpful.. the bread was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2006

      I made this bread yesterday and it is fantastic! I also read the hint about using the dough setting and then the basic setting to finish it off. The BEST ADVISE! We love this light & tasty bread. It smells just as good as it tastes. It is everything it claims to be. Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      This bread has a wonderful light and fluffly texture. And it tastes great, too! I have made it several times and it always comes out a winner. I set the machine on the dough cycle, let it run all the way through, and then set it again on a regular cycle. The bread rises beautifully. Don't be tempted to round your teaspoon of yeast; I did and had to scrape the dough off the bread machine dome! I'll keep it to one level teaspoon and spray the top with Pam from now on, just in case.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2005

      This is by far the best bread recipe I have used for this recipe file. I add 1 Teaspoon of powdered milk to keep it fresher longer. That is the only change I make. It is sweet,soft and makes beautiful toast and also sandwiches. When the bread gets old, save it for a day or so longer and make beautiful bread crumbs with it. Add your favorite spices and use it to coat all of your meats before cooking.(Skillet or oven) Excellent bread. Even for a beginner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2005

    • on November 29, 2004

      Great recipe, I made a loaf to have leftover turkey sandwiches with. I didn't make any tweaks on this initial batch, but may on future attempts. Very easy to make, the time consuming bit wasn't a big deal as I made this on a Sunday while working on other things in the kitchen (all manner of leftover turkey!) and better than the white bread recipe printed on the front of my machine -- I didn't get any literature with it, so it's been fun finding good recipes to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amish Bread for the Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (716 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1292.2
     
    Calories from Fat 348
    26%
    Total Fat 38.7 g
    59%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 784.5 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 209.2 g
    69%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 33.9 g
    135%
    Protein 24.6 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes