22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This cake was very good, and simple to make. Next time I think I will make it in an 8x8 or 9x9 pan, as I thought it was a bit flat in the 9x13. This cake does not need frosting, but I sprinkled it with some vanilla powdered sugar - yummy! Thanks for posting! -M :-)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Scheffert June 30, 2003

A great simple summer cake. My ds made this and it came out great. We didn't have the right size pan, so we used an 8" x 8", increasing the cooking time to 50 minutes and had no problems. This no-fuss cake would be a good addition to picnics and cookouts.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ August 25, 2002

Great cake! Does not, in my opinion need any whipped cream topping! I made it in a small (8x8) pan. Texture was smooth and light. The smaller pan made for a denser, thicker cake (just cut smaller pieces!). Will try it in an oblong pan next time. Thanks for the post!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hypatiajones August 30, 2008

A simple, yet very tasty cake. It was marvelous with some cool whip & fresh blueberries on top. I will be making this often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristinB August 16, 2002

easy to make, I made it in the 9 x13 as suggested but it was a little flat. very light flavor. my husband says it needs more berries - will try that next time. the recipe didn't say whether to grease the pan, so I did, to be on the safe side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tiny's mom August 26, 2013

I wanted to use some fresh blueberries so I made this. It turned out just liked a mild cornbread with berries in it. (It was very light tasting, not too sweet, and had the consistency of cornbread.) I was looking for a dessert cake so it wasn't really what I wanted at the time. I would recommend it for someone who is looking for muffins or cornbread. If I were to try it again it would be as muffins with a nice streusel on top to go with tea. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetAim July 28, 2010

Mmmmm good!! Simple ingredients - but a DELICIOUS cake!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie June 17, 2010

Very good and easy to make. I used half sugar and half splenda but followed the rest of the recipe as written. Mine cooked in 35 minutes. Next time I would cut up the blueberries so they would be all through the cake. Most of them sunk to the bottom but it was still really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol May 20, 2010

10 stars!!! Wow, I took this to work and everyone loved it! I doubled the recipe and made it in a 9x13 pan- the cake rose to the very top of the pan! It was heavy too; I thought I would have so much left over but it was empty by lunchtime! I used a few tablespoons less butter and didn't miss it. It is kind of the texture of muffins but I think the flavor is like sugar cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn October 14, 2009

yum, this was good. Just served with a little powdered sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jade #3 July 12, 2009
Amish Blueberry Cake