186 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

SO delicious. I added cinnamon and it's a new favorite in our house! One thing I wanted to note: the first time I made this, I used the 9 x 13 pan as suggested, but it came out a little thinner than expected (we're used to baked oatmeal being thicker, like a cake). So the next time I used a 9 x 9 pan and it was perfect! (I could have even doubled the recipe and still used the 9 x 9 pan, although that might alter the cooking time a bit...)

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rambling Robin May 28, 2010

Really good, but too much salt for my taste.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TAHINAZ June 03, 2010

This recipe is amazing! I made this last night to bring to work this morning for breakfast. I almost couldn't wait for that oven timer to go off so I could take it out and taste it! It couldn't have been any easier and the taste is sinful! I replaced the white sugar with brown sugar, threw in a handful of craisins, and added a small mixture of sliced almonds, chopped walnuts and chopped pecans to the mix. The nuts give it a fantastic pop of texture. I only used two tablespoons of butter, and used skim milk...Absolutely delicious! Even my picky fiancee who tends to not enjoy anything healthy loved this. I am eating it plain for breakfast, but think it would be amazing served warm with a scoop of lowfat vanilla ice cream for dessert also. Can't wait to try that :-) I am so happy to have found this simple and healthy recipe to add to my collection. I will make this often, thank you so much!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PatriotsGirl March 04, 2010

When I spread the mixture in the pan and it was so thin, I had my doubts. But since all the reviews were so good and nobody mentioned it, I went ahead. My boys, who are picky, had their doubts as well, but even the most picky eater ate almost all of his! I sprinkled a little cinnamon on top and then put it in a bowl with sliced bananas and a little almond milk. Served turkey sausages on the side. And, the best part... it was so easy!! Thanks so much for this!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
khinny September 14, 2010

If I could rate this 20 stars, I would! I grew up in Lancaster County, PA and somehow made it out without ever tasting this dish! It was SO good and has made it to the top of our breakfast dish list! I had to add extra milk and am glad I did because it was a bit dry, even with extra. Next time I will put in more milk, add applesauce and put in less sugar. We told our daughter, who eats nothing new, that we were having a big cookie for breakfast. She fell for it and LOVED it. She even had seconds AND had the leftovers for lunch!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luvs2kook June 20, 2010

Great oatmeal! Halved the recipe with no problem since I was the only one that ate it. Was able to pick it up like a cookie after it had sat on the counter a couple hours. I'm keeping this one close, Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore May 21, 2010

I have made this many times, and it always turns out wonderfully. I melt the butter in a glass 9-inch pie plate. I have used both white sugar and brown sugar (both are good), a few times I have also reduced the sugar to just over a 1/4 c. I generally add a few TBSP's of ground flax seed meal. I mix up the dry ingredients in a covered bowl the night before, for a quicker preparation on a busy morning. I like mine with a bit of milk, and my hubby eats his plain or with maple syrup. It's even good straight out of the fridge the next day. I love this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kootenay-Cookie May 15, 2010

Here in Amish country, we eat this warm with milk, OR soft ice cream (YUMMY!) - and it's especially well-liked w/ sliced peaches to go w/ the milk or ice cream. Just an FYI, since I've grown up w/ this. :) Enjoy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WJKing October 22, 2002

My first baked oatmeal ever. I think it's safe to say I can throw out my instant packets! This was an easy recipe that delivered just what it promises!! Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
S in PA August 13, 2002

No wonder there are so many great reviews. Just have to add mine. This is so easy, fast & taste great - like a big oatmeal cookie. I did just a few things differant, added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, about 1/4 cup pecans, and instead of a pan, baked in 2 ramekins and that seemed to work out perfect. I'm betting this one would even be liked by my "I hate oatmeal" grandsons.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 March 05, 2014
Amish Baked Oatmeal