74 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is delicious! I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup (dark brown) and cut the butter to 1/4 cup, and it's wonderful. I used cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg, and threw in raisins and walnuts. I also used almond milk instead of regular milk, and didn't refrigerate before baking. I'll be making this again to keep in the fridge for a quick, nutritious breakfast.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ocmd123 June 24, 2010

I have made this several times and it is absolutely wonderful! It's good hot or cold and has replaced 'breakfast' bars as my on the run food choice. I use applesauce instead of butter and have reduced the brown sugar to a quarter cup. Don't let the overnight prep turn you away - I've made this right before baking and it was great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chktrk February 06, 2011

I have been looking at this recipe for proabably as many years as I gave it stars and finally broke down and tried it. I can't believe it sat that long in my folder I absolutely love it and it has ruined other ways of making oatmeal for me. I love the texture like eating a warm cookie or soft granola. Once you try it it's hard to go back.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zelda Mae April 15, 2010

This is good, tossed in a handful of raisins-regular and golden.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beth January 03, 2010

We love this recipe. It is on our "regular" list of weekend breakfasts. I only use 1/4 cup of butter and I do not pack the brown sugar, and we think it is wonderful. I serve it with warm milk (just a little) and fresh strawberries and blueberries. My family is growing and there are no leftovers anymore. I miss them so! Very good reheated!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamajama June 25, 2009

I get cravings for this oatmeal! I have made it several times and there's never any leftovers. I have used both rolled oats and quick oats and made it the night before and the morning of. I have never noticed a significant difference in the result of those options. I have to admit that I kind of cringe at the amount of sugar and butter. I have successfully backed off on the butter (to about a 1/4 cup) without much difference in the product but I have found that I can't alter the amount of sugar without noticing it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MN*Kelly June 16, 2009

I followed the recipe exactly. I made this for my kids and they said it was OK. I do not usually enjoy oatmeal but found myself picking at this all day. It is really, really good. I would halve the recipe next time just to make it for myself.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
41spheres December 06, 2014

Oh my goodness, we loved this dish. It really does taste like a cookie. DD couldn't get enough, she has requested this again.....soon. Thank you so much for this amazing recipe. So good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour April 26, 2014

This is pretty delicious oatmeal. I substituted apple sauce for the butter, reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup and used soymilk. So delicious and warm and comforting. I will be making this often. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie September 30, 2012

I can't believe I've been making oatmeal the old fashioned way my whole life! We had this for breakfast. A few hours after dinner and I'm already craving the leftovers. Nothing gets me out of bed like the promise of a yummy breakfast. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicest of the damned May 28, 2012
Amish Baked Oatmeal