Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amish Baked Fried Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amish Baked Fried Chicken

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2014

      Looked and tasted just like Fried Chicken! Used Perdue bone-in skin-on chicken thighs, which fit into my 5-quart deep frying skillet snugly. I followed Baby Kato's lead and made crumbs from 18 Garlic-Butter Ritz crackers. Will definitely make these again and again! Made for Best of 2013 tag game, based on LifeIsGood's recommendation.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

      This is one of the best fried, baked chicken recipes that I have tried on this food site. Thank you so much for sharing this quick and easy to make recipe. The chicken was perfection, cooked beautifully, tender, moist and oh so flavorful. I used drumsticks and thighs this time, can't wait to try this with breasts also. For the cracker crumb I used the garlic ritz. Made exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. Kudos on making it into Favorites of 2014 Cookbook. Made for Best of 2013 Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2014

      I made this using some chicken drumsticks. This was a very easy recipe to do, and very flavorful. I did add a pinch of poultry seasoning, since I had on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      Fantastic!!! I just loved the simplicity, flavor and texture of this chicken!!! I cut this way back to serve one, using one very large chicken thigh and Ritz crackers for the breading, so good!! I saw that most others added all kinds of other spices: garlic, paprika etc., to me that changes the recipe and flavor. I really enjoyed it just the way it was written and the Amish make it. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for "Best of 2013" Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      The only change I made was for dietary reasons that cracker crumbs send my blood sugars through the roof so I dried some bread and pulverised it in the food processor to get fine breadcrumbs and used that, I quartered a 1.7K chicken (taking the wings off the breast and leaving the thigh/leg intact which we call a Maryland cut) and crumbed as per recipe and fried up in the butter as specified and when going into the oven I must admit I was not going to alfoil but bake as was but I did alfoil and am so glad I did for after 30 minutes removed the alfoil and let bake for another 30 minutes and beautifully moist chicken with a nice crunch on the skin, thank you cxstitcher for a great recipe and to LifeIsGood for recommending it in the Best of 2013 tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2013

      I love this recipe!! I truly think the cast iron pan is a must and love that the chicken is browned on the stove top first then finished off in the oven. I thought I had crackers, but found that I was out, so I used cornflake crumbs instead. It was a happy accident because I loved the result. I'm sure the crackers are just as good, but I think I'll always make it with the corn flakes. I used all chicken legs this time. Thanks for posting!! Into my best of the best file this recipe goes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      I did this with chicken thighs and had all the ingredients in my cupboard. The family loved it! I'll be doing this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      I made this recipe on 5/26/09 as part of mine and SO's dinner.I sort of followed the recipe, instead of using a cut-up chicken, thighs and legs were used.And I added some Creole Seasoning to the cracker crumbs.After the first 30 minutes in the oven, the chicken was uncovered then baked for about 10 to 15 minutes.( I didn't want to become to dried out ). Both SO and I liked the taste, but it wasn't crispy enough,maybe I should have let it baked longer. But this is a repeat. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      I made 1 chicken breast for myself. This is easier than full frying and tastes like you worked all day at it. I will be making my "fried" chicken like this from now on. Thanks stitcher! Made and enjoyed for PAC Spring '09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      If you set this in front of me and I didn't know it, I would think it was fried!!!! This is really great!!!!! I used Ritz crackers and I added a little cayenne, paprika, and garlic powder to them. This cooking time created a nice, tender juicy chicken (even the white meat!!) Love this recipe, will definitely make again, thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      I didn't use anything in the recipe except for the directions. :P This was my first time with frying chicken and I didn't want it super greasy. I had already preseasoned/breaded chicken so I used 4 T vegetable oil in my regular skillet and followed the rest of the instructions. My 2 year old ate the most of the chicken I made the first time around. Which is amazing as she is super picky. Thanks for sharing. I will be using this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2005

      I added some garlic, poultry seasoning and some paprika to the crackers. Also used a combination of butter and canola oil for frying. Had some trouble keeping the coating on the chicken as it fried, next time I think I'll coat it early in the day and refrigerate it 'til ready to fry. Really nice flavor though and so moist and tender! I'll be using this recipe again, thank you for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2005

      This was the way my mom always made her fried chicken. Brings back many good memories. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2005

      Thank you for sharing this recipe. Made it today and added a little garlic and paprika (plus a little more salt and pepper)and the result was very yummy and tender chicken. After Stephen finished eating his words were, 'mmmm you'll be making that again. Put it into 'keepers''. So five stars from both of us :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amish Baked Fried Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 328.8
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    57%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 8.9 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 110.9 mg
    36%
    Sodium 532.9 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 17.6 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes