46 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I don't like oats in my crisp so this recipe was just what I was looking for. The only thing I changed was to mix cinnamon into the topping instead of sprinkling it on top. An easy and flavorful recipe. This has become my new favorite. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HockeyMum17 October 27, 2014

The apple dishes has always been a favorite, and I've tried enough to know that this is my favorite! The topping stayed crunchy over a few days, or as long as it lasted. Being I'm a single man, I have to s t r e c h the calories throughout the week. Dang that sweet tooth anyway! Keep this recipe and look no further! Photo is posted...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BigTiki007 October 11, 2014

This apple crisp has become our favorite in the house. I have made it as written and also substituting the white flour for whole wheat pastry flour. Both are equally delicious. We make it with the whole wheat more often to ease our guilt of such a yummy dessert that doesn't last long in the house....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrivito October 03, 2014

This was easy to do and very good but a little dry. Worked very good with ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan C. September 19, 2014

I tried this recipe thinking it would probably be too runny but it turned out soooooooooooo darn good!!! I live in a high altitude area so I turned down the heat a bit and baked it longer. I also baked it in a casserole dish rather than a pie tin, checked it by tipping the dish from time to time until I could see there wasn't too much liquid. I don't usually do this but I took a chance and brought this as a dessert for a family gathering without trying it out first. Needless to say, it was a hit :) The spices were perfect and it baked down to a perfect crisp to serve with ice cream. Thanks for sharing! We totally enjoyed it and it was so easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yedenmatka December 04, 2013

Made this for two and was a great dessert for us. Served with ice cream hot from the oven. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound February 28, 2013

So I made this last night...slightly preoccupied...I mistakenly put baking soda instead of powder in and also mixed the butter into the flour mixture. What I ended up with was more of a cake topping, which was fine, but it needed something. So I made a buttermilk glaze, which I substituted half and half for as I had no buttermilk and added a tablespoon of maple syrup to it. Poured the glaze over the top and voila! LOL...my mistake actually turned out delicious. I had rave reviews, so I think I might keep making it this way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Potato.Head January 23, 2013

Delicious & easy. BF gobbled it all up!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Sukki December 04, 2011

This is very good--not exactly low calorie but excellent. It's also very easy and inexpensive to make. I wanted to serve it for dinner during the week so I made it earlier in the day, including drizzling the butter, put it in the fridge until I was ready to bake without any problems.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petite Mommy March 17, 2010
Amish Apple Crisp