Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amish Apple Crisp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amish Apple Crisp

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2014

      I don't like oats in my crisp so this recipe was just what I was looking for. The only thing I changed was to mix cinnamon into the topping instead of sprinkling it on top. An easy and flavorful recipe. This has become my new favorite. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2014

      The apple dishes has always been a favorite, and I've tried enough to know that this is my favorite! The topping stayed crunchy over a few days, or as long as it lasted. Being I'm a single man, I have to s t r e c h the calories throughout the week. Dang that sweet tooth anyway! Keep this recipe and look no further! Photo is posted...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2014

      This apple crisp has become our favorite in the house. I have made it as written and also substituting the white flour for whole wheat pastry flour. Both are equally delicious. We make it with the whole wheat more often to ease our guilt of such a yummy dessert that doesn't last long in the house....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2014

      This was easy to do and very good but a little dry. Worked very good with ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      I tried this recipe thinking it would probably be too runny but it turned out soooooooooooo darn good!!! I live in a high altitude area so I turned down the heat a bit and baked it longer. I also baked it in a casserole dish rather than a pie tin, checked it by tipping the dish from time to time until I could see there wasn't too much liquid. I don't usually do this but I took a chance and brought this as a dessert for a family gathering without trying it out first. Needless to say, it was a hit :) The spices were perfect and it baked down to a perfect crisp to serve with ice cream. Thanks for sharing! We totally enjoyed it and it was so easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      Made this for two and was a great dessert for us. Served with ice cream hot from the oven. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      So I made this last night...slightly preoccupied...I mistakenly put baking soda instead of powder in and also mixed the butter into the flour mixture. What I ended up with was more of a cake topping, which was fine, but it needed something. So I made a buttermilk glaze, which I substituted half and half for as I had no buttermilk and added a tablespoon of maple syrup to it. Poured the glaze over the top and voila! LOL...my mistake actually turned out delicious. I had rave reviews, so I think I might keep making it this way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      Delicious & easy. BF gobbled it all up!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      This is very good--not exactly low calorie but excellent. It's also very easy and inexpensive to make. I wanted to serve it for dinner during the week so I made it earlier in the day, including drizzling the butter, put it in the fridge until I was ready to bake without any problems.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

    • on October 03, 2008

      After reading the reviews I was expecting big things from this recipe. I followed it exactly except for the baking power (didn't add any) and my apple crisp didn't brown at all. It was pale white, which made if quite unappetizing looking. It tasted ok, but in some bites I could taste the flour. Unfortunately I don't think I'll be making this again. Sorry :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      This is a delicious recipe! The whole family liked it topped with my homemade ice-cream. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      Yum! This recipe is great! I switched it up a little. I used whole wheat flour. I also doubled the topping (I love the top), and added an extra egg. It turned out SO good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      Everyone here really enjoyed this quick to put together apple crisp. The kids came back for seconds! We had with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and let me just say no one was talking while they were munching! Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      OK, I thought it was too sweet so I was going to give it 4 stars. However, I cannot stop eating this. It's been out of the oven for about 15 minutes and I've already had two bowls (small ones). Obviously, my taste buds think they're yummy. The hardest thing about this recipe is peeling the apples. Everything else is a breeze. I did add about a tablespoon of flour to the apples to thicken up the sauce because I was soaking my apples in water to keep them from turning red and Ithought that may make the apples runny. Next time I will reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup in the apples and 1/3 cup in the topping. There will be a next time, probably tomorrow night. Thank you for an easy and delicous recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      What a wonderful recipe. Added a scoop of ice cream with it and i was in heaven.Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      this was awesome! Thanks for sharing! DH LOVED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      This was excellent. I would mix in the cinnamon with the topping ingredients next time and only use a 1/4 tsp of salt. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      Best ever... I made this gluten free. I used white rice flour instead of wheat flour, added 1/2 C brown sugar and reduced the white sugar to 1/4 C in the topping. Also, I mixed the apples with the sugar and cinnamon before putting in the pie plate. Then I increased the butter you drizzle of the topping to 1/2 C. Guess I can't leave recipes as they are.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      Wow this was great,never made a crisp before,will make again thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amish Apple Crisp

    Serving Size: 1 (223 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 549.6
     
    Calories from Fat 154
    28%
    Total Fat 17.2 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 87.1 mg
    29%
    Sodium 537.5 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 98.0 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 65.3 g
    261%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes