Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / America's Test Kitchen Hot Sour Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    America's Test Kitchen Hot Sour Soup

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2013

      I ALMOST didn't use this recipe because it looked so complicated. But nothing is further from the truth. The step by step instructions are very easy to follow, so don't be scared off. I had a pork shoulder and pressure cooked it and chopped off a hunk for the soup. I did the Balsamic/Red Wine Vinegar blend and it was fantastic! I doubled the amount (based on another review). I am a flavor nut so I added for chili oil and a splash of Red Pepper Flakes. Absolutely wonderful. Better than my local Chinese Bistro. We've had it twice now and still have another meal left. I will make this again! Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2010

      GREAT recipe! DH and I made a special trip to the Asian Market for the ingredients and YUM! well worth the trip!! I used more chili oil than the recipe calls for and more vinegar and cornstarch as well because I really like it a bit thicker and a bit more sour, but WOW! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      This is FABULOUS! Despite my wide culinary skills and experience as a home chef, I have always been afraid to make hot and sour soup because I thought it was "too hard" to make (i.e I wasn't sure about finding the ingredients). Boy was I wrong!!! This is simple to make with easy to follow instructions. I enjoyed this soup right after I made it and I was surprised at the level of flavor in such a short cooking time. I did not have black vinegar, but the substitution worked great and I also added extra. I also used half chicken broth, half beef broth and added an extra two cups of broth. In addition, I added some ground ginger, extra soy sauce, and a dash of black pepper, as well as using 1 tsp of chili paste in place of 2 tsp chili oil. This is a keeper and I will be making this again and again for years. THANKS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Your instructions are great; with all the mixing and stiring one could quickly get lost if the instructions were not so easy to follow. The soup itself is restaurant worthy and comes together easily. I loved the tip with the tofu and it drained well. Thanks for sharing. Made for the Diabetic Challenge - ZWT6 by Unrulies under the Influence!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      Amazing! Without much work, this is the exact flavor and look of soup in a gourmet Chinese restaurant. Follow the directions for the egg in Step#5 exactly and it turns out perfectly! I wouldn't change a thing, and do agree that it's important to use Chinkiang (black) Vinegar. I used chili-infused olive oil instead of the chili oil sold in Asian markets, which isn't as good for you. You'll love this soup!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      Best hot and sour soup I've had outside of the one expensive chinese place downtown. Takeout is always so watery. It looks complicated and it is, but just do it one step at a time. I didn't have any bamboo shoots so pulled the strings off celery, cut into 2" sections and julienned.. Used leftover pork roast but marinated that and the tofu 30 minutes. Used rehydrated dried shitake mushrooms.Also used red wine vinegar/balsamic vinegar 2.5 T each.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      This was wonderful. Far richer than in any restaurant. Balsamic syrup is like black vinegar, but a cut above. Costs more, but worth it. I used this, and added snow peas to the soup. I really appreciated the clear instructions! Thank you for sharing this oh so good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      Very nice soup recipe. I made this last night to go with our dinner and we enjoyed this alot. It had that nice "heat" from the pepper in the back of the throat. Great flavor and fairly easy to put together. Thank you for a favorite in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      Delicious. A bit involved the first time, but I think it'll go quicker when I make it again - which I will!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      Great! Also added more vinegar and cornstarch. Will make it again soon, maybe tonight! Deep fried some Pad Thai rice noodles for a crispy gluten free accompaniment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      It was good. Had good flavors, and was better the next day.
      Soup did not thicken up enough to get that "Silky" texture which I was hopping for.
      Also the recipe made so little, I would def make a double batch the next time.

      Thanks for posting. It is not as hard as I thought to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Hey Potsie, fab soup! I soaked some dried Chinese black fungus (sounds yummy, yes?) in hot water, cut out the hard parts, sliced 'em up and added them to the soup. YUM! I just love your recipes and your um, quirky? sense of humour. Say hi to the manbeast. :) Maureen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Delicious, and very clearly explained. We quite enjoyed this soup. I served it with red pepper flakes on the table for those who wanted to add a little more heat. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Fabulous! So glad you stole from America's Test Kitchen!!! This is easy to make and delicious. Loved it, loved it, loved it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      I think I might actually throw out my old tried and true recipe that I've been tweaking over the years - this one rocks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      VERY GOOD! I did not have the black vinegar, so had to use the substitute, still came out delish! I just love the America's Test Kitchen recipes, thanks so much for posting, Pot Scrubber.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for America's Test Kitchen Hot Sour Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (289 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 179.0
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    35%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 51.6 mg
    17%
    Sodium 774.1 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 18.5 g
    37%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    black vinegar

    chili oil

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites