Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / American Sandwich Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    American Sandwich Bread

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 14, 2011

      This is an excellent bread. I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased with the end product. Will for sure be making this again for sure. Great way to use up honey that has crystallized. (microwaved it until returned to liquid form) Thanks! This recipe is a keeper. Recipe doubles great!
      Update: Used this recipe again on the request of my hubby and kiddo's. Have to say it again, great recipe. I uploaded two images as well. Before putting the loaves (I make two at a time) went into the oven, I split cut the loaf lengthwise and drizzled a bit of butter to make it a butter top. Then baked as normal. Really like this recipe. Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      excellent sandwich bread! nice balance of fluffy and doughy. a slice you can really sink your teeth into and have something to bite on! one note, i haven't needed the extra flour during kneading.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      This recipe makes a fantastic loaf! It is the one bread we all like to take to school and work for sandwiches. The boiling water in step 10 really helps keep it all moist when baking. I use my ABM to mix the dough, continue at step 8, and still get great results.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      This makes a soft and light sandwich bread. I accidentally started with the full 3 3/4 cups of flour, so I never needed to add more. I kneaded the dough by hand a little after removing it from the mixer, mostly because I felt like it! I'm adding this recipe to my regular bread rotation. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      Very tasty! My first attempt was a bit too dense, so I'm hoping for better luck on the second try (which is in the oven right now)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      We loved this bread and will be making it often. I only wish that we had made two loaves rather than one. My husband was compairing prices for this versus store bought and then half way through said "Not that it matters, we'll be making this from now on either way." Then looked at me and said "look, you don't have shoes on and are making my bread just as it should be"...now I don't feel so guilty for eating most of the loaf with the kids this afternoon. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      This is a superb sandwich bread recipe!! (and I make a lot of bread!) I used a bread machine to prepare the dough, and then punched it down, shaped it, and placed it in a baking tray. (It was easy to work with, and I didn't even need to flour the work surface.) I let it rise again, and baked it for 23 minutes at 375 F. It rose really well, and kept its shape. My daughter arrived unexpectedly, and I gave her the loaf to take home, and made another loaf. We both enjoyed the bread imensely, and this is going to be a staple in our household! Thanks so much!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      OMG - finally the perfect white sandwich bread!! I can't tell you how many bread recipes I have gone through to only wind up with "biscuits" instead. Thanks soo much! Tasty, fluffy and light bread. BTW I did use the 200 degree oven proof and it really did work pretty well. I would recommend giving it a try.

      Cheers! Tom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for American Sandwich Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 238.1
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    18%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 11.6 mg
    3%
    Sodium 487.9 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.5 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites