Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / American Indian Fry Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    American Indian Fry Bread

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on July 23, 2009

      Incredible! This tastes like the real thing and is very easy to make. I mixed mine in a bread machine for extra smooth dough, but that might have been unnecessary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      Loved it! Was looking for something that would be similar to Taco Bell Chalupa, and it was great!! No more overpriced Baja Beef Chalupas with very little meat!! 8~) I've tried Fry Bread before, and it go well, this worked perfectly. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      Came out perfectly, thank you. I put a little honey on it and called it breakfast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      Excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      This is a big hit at my house. I had to make it two days in a row!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      In a good way, this tasted like I fried biscuit. And I looooove biscuits. I made them to go with some grilled chicken tacos, but I couldn't wait to eat mine and they are so filling, I was too full to eat another with toppings! This kicks the Taco Bell Chalupa's butt!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      This bread was very good for tacos. I am completly unfamiliar with this bread, I just stumbled upon the recipe and thought I'd give it a try. When I first tried it I didn't think it was all that special but after making my tacos with it my family and I fell in love with it. Great recipie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      Being a native american from the Lakota Sioux Tribe I am a big fan of Great Fry Bread!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      I grew up on the rez in South Dakota and this takes just like the frybread back home!!!!! only problem was i made mine wayyy to big and couldn't eat it all. beautifully bubbly and golden bread!!!! thanks!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      Thank You!!! I'm Native American and grew up eating fry bread. But I could never make them myself. My mom and Gramma would tell me "oh, a scoop of this and a pinch of that and so on. This recipe tastes just like my mom's fry bread. Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2014

      Since I have made fry bread with other recipes, I am assuming you add the oil and you have ADDITIONAL oil for frying. To a novice, this would be misleading : 1 teaspoon of oil. Heat oil medium.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2013

      Works great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2013

      Very easy to make. My family loves this so much. I have made this recipe often for tacos. Everyone looks forward to me making it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      I have made this recipe several times and it's always a hit. I have used it for beef tacos and for chicken tacos. As others have mentioned these are really good with a little butter and honey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      Let me start off by saying I almost NEVER fry anything - hate the smell and mess BUT we all thought these were very good. I served it more as a dessert with Honey Almond Butter. It was also very good sprinkled with powdered sugar. Reminded me of a funnel cake. I will try it with savory items next time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      Thanks so much, my daughters class are studying Indians this year and I made mini pieces of fry bread for my daughters class!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      How simple can you get? For fry bread it was great! I halved the recipe with no problem. Instead of veg oil, I used basil-infused avocado oil and it was wonderful. There was a hint of basil flavor. Next time I make these, I'll try adding some fresh chopped basil to the dough. Other herbs would probably be good too! I like this recipe a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Really good and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      AMAZING!! I made an Indian Taco out of it and used my homemade chili recipe http://www.recipezaar.com/No-Tomato-Chili-257982 I added pinto beans, shredded lettuce, shredded cheese, diced onions and "rooster sauce". We will make this quite often! Now we don't have to get one at the State Fair next month because ours are better!! Thanks for a fast and wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      This was absolutely delicious! I used bread flour as I was out of all purpose, and it worked just fine. I'll be saving this recipe, and making more for breakfast! It's so easy, and cooks up really quickly. I topped mine with refried beans, tomato rice, shredded pork, onions, sour cream, and jalapeno, and it was divine! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for American Indian Fry Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (56 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 167.4
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    11%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 4.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 206.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes