Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / American Goulash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    American Goulash

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on November 04, 2009

      American Chop Suey. My favorite food of all time. I make it with spaghetti sauce instead of the diced tomatoes/tomato sauce on occasion. They call it goulash in the Midwest too. Mushrooms and a stiff shot of garlic and Italian seasonings make great additions too. Way better the next day with a chunk of butter added. Wicked good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      My family loves this recipe. We like it best when I omit the pasta and spoon the goulash over a bowl of mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      I've always heard of goulash but I have never eaten it before until last night. I made this last night and my daughter and I thought it was very good! It was so simple and quick to make. The only thing that i changed was the BELL PEPPERS! Believe me we are not finicky eaters around here except for BELL PEPPERS(LOL) so of course I left them out and I did grate in 2 cloves of garlic. I was too tired last night to grate the cheese so we ate without and it was fine that way but tonight I look forward to adding the cheese. By the way this will feed an army! It made a big pot full! Thanks for sharing this recipe I will make it again and again i'm sure! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2013

      We really enjoyed this and it made a lot, so I was able to stock my freezer with the leftovers! I only used 2 cups of (gluten-free) macaroni and this was plenty. It's very easy to make this pure comfort food.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      Being raised in Boston, too, this is the way we've always eaten it! Definitely a family favorite. Only thing different I do is add 2 stalks of chopped celery!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2014

      I make this all the time, with just a couple changes. Instead of the tomatoes I use Italian Sausage spaghetti sauce, and mix with 1 small can of hot enchilada sauce. Comes out great every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2014

      Doubled this recipe for my family and it filled a large dutch oven. Fed 4 adults, 1 teenage boy and two teenage girls, and had some leftover. It was perfectly delicious. Don't forget the cheddar cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2013

      Left out the green pepper... used spaghetti sauce mushroom and added mushroom... everything else left the same.. oh 1 teaspoon of salt and about 1/4 of pepper. Next time I will fry up some celery too. I had thin spaghetti so I took it and broke it into small pieces. Worked fine the kids loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2013

      I usually make half of this recipe for my small family. I ,too, cut back on the amount of pasta called for and double the cheese. The recipe could possibly be made more kid friendly by omitting the green pepper and adding a small can of drained corn. I make it and freeze the leftovers. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2013

      Thanks for posting davianng. Another solid rendition of goulash. This was a good one much like a chunky Spaghetti or chunky pasta in a bowl. It was good both the day of and the next day. We started with it as written but ended up using more cheese than stated. It could use more seasoning so next time I will add some italian seasoning and maybe some mushrooms.<br/>It made a lot and doubling it fed an army. Definitely a good weekday meal. Made for Name that ingredient tag game. Enjoy! ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2013

      I have had goulosh made all differant ways and this is a great receipe. I will be making this again for sure. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2013

      Quick and easy dinner. DH really liked this one. Made half a recipe and still have leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      I made this a little differently to create a healthier version. Used ground turkey and wheat pasta. This came out amazing! I will definitely be adding this to my list of favorites! Oh, and I boiled less pasta cause I'm scaling back on carbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      In upstate NY we call it goulash, as a kid in the 50's my best friends
      Irish/German mom called it slumgullion. Whatever you call it, it's a tried and true standby open to limitless interpretations. I have a green pepper hater, so I use frozen peas toward the end, and sometimes mushrooms if I have them. And absolutely the best next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      Great recipe - very easy to make and delicious! So glad I found it. However, the pasta was too much for me though. I cut the amount of pasta down to 1/3 - 1/2 of what it calls for. I also added corn like my mamma used to do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      I made this tonight and we all enjoyed it. I had to leave off the green pepper because of one picky child. I cut back on the garlic salt and also added Italian seasonings and a little paprika. It went over well, and looking forward to some leftovers for my lunch at work tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

      This is pretty good, it's not my normal goulash but definitely good for a change. I did add 2 ribs of chopped celery, a can of corn, dash of Worcestershire sauce, about a 1 tsp. of oregano. Will definitely make again as it's nice to have something different every once in a while.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      This recipie is delicious.Even tastier left over.I had some left over sauce and used it as a spagetti sauce for my spagetti next day was awesome so flavourfull.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      I was not a goulash fan as a kid, but as an adult I love it! I have added this to our weeknight rotation. We actually like it better the next day as leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2011

      I'm from Texas and we also call this goulash with the exception of using a couple of tablespoons of chili powder instead of the garlic salt. Very Good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for American Goulash

    Serving Size: 1 (257 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 437.3
     
    Calories from Fat 129
    29%
    Total Fat 14.4 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 53.3 mg
    17%
    Sodium 416.3 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.2 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 23.6 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites