12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good comfort food! When my kids were small I used to make a version of this a lot -- enjoyed this version with small changes by using 1 (28 ounce) can tomatoes (instead of canned tomatoes, tomato sauce and tomato paste) and 1 small can of V-8. I also skipped the green pepper and added celery and some frozen peas. This makes lots!!! Thanks for sharing!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ March 25, 2010

This recipe does make a lot. I followed the recipe exactly but added an equal amount of
chopped celery to go along with the peppers and onions. It came out great and the family
really enjoyed it. I took the left overs and put them in a casserole dish. The next night I sprinkled Mozzarella cheese on top, baked it in the oven and had it again.
It was even better than the night before.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
psabe1 September 17, 2012

I gave it 5 stars--you can tell I'm new to this!!! I've been looking for an American Chop Suey recipe that would remind me of the Chop Suey my Aunt used to make at our family outings. This is it!!! I loved it. My 5 year old grandson ate 3 helpings. I didn't put in the green pepper because that's not how I remembered it, but I did add celery. Delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rabbott529 April 08, 2013

Wonderful recipe! My son loved it. I'm glad cause he's going to have this for his lunches at school this week :) It was easy to do, didn't take me too long to complete it. I used a red bell pepper instead of green. Thanks mersaydees :) Made for your win in Bargain Basement tag game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette December 11, 2011

This was sooooooo good!loved it.I didnt change a thing. However, next i will cut back on the macaroni just a tad so there will be more sauce, it was great!thanks for posting :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peggy Lynn November 09, 2011

I haven't made this yet, but I will, sounds good. Maybe it should be called Italian Chop Suey?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
David in Arizona February 07, 2015

an easy recipe, delicious with the ground chuck I used. very flavorful and enjoyed by my family

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krisknits November 10, 2014

I was not a fan of this recipe. It lacked flavor. All you could taste was the tartness of the tomatoes even after I added 1 1/2 tbs. of sugar. I will not make this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aida R. August 22, 2014

Yummy. Great for a chilly Weekend comfort meal. As previous posters said it makes a good amount. The combination is much like a goulash. Easy, quick and tasty. People of all ages ate it happily. We made garlic cheese muffins and salad to accompany it. Next time I will add mushrooms too. Thanks for posting mersaydees. Enjoy! ChefDLH

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDLH October 21, 2013

very good and tasty

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rsks10141 February 21, 2013
American Chop Suey