13 Reviews

This is the 4th time I am making this Ambrosia. It is delicious.. My crowd scoops it right up. The combo of sour cream, cool whip and Instant pudden gives it a unique taste & consistency.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arlene Smith September 03, 2009

I would love to try this recipe . Could anyone tell me whether the instant pudding should be prepared as instructed on box or used straight from the box in powder form.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jacquelicious May 20, 2013

Shhhh! Don't tell but this is my secret go to recipe. I have been making this for at least the last 5 years. Everyone loves this. It is just the best Ambrosia salad. Thank you for posting it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Penny G. November 25, 2015

The best ambrosia I have ever tasted. My kids were dying to eat it as we were making it. I was skeptical adding the sour cream so we tasted it before and it was yummy but then we added the sour cream and it was amazing. .love it..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica Chavez-Roy May 23, 2015

I pretend like this is my secret recipe ha ha ha. I got a new phone and I had the recipe on my last phone. I love this recipe so much I was able to find this very same one just by looking up the image that was posted! By the way, add the instant pudding mix directly to the ambrosia ingredients. Ignore pudding instructions. I have also found that if you mix all the wet ingredients first then with the pudding mix it makes it easier on you with adding the fruit and folding it in to make it more consistent and with much more ease. My friends and family sneak pinches or spoonfuls of this ambrosia when they think no one is looking!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashlee L. April 06, 2015

I've never cared much for ambrosia salad. My boyfriend, on the other hand, is a huge fan. I followed this recipe to the letter. Despite my prior disliking of ambrosia salad, I must say that this is a spectacular recipe! In fact, I just joined food.com so that I could write this review. <br/><br/>To be honest, I was skeptical of the adding pudding. It is a brilliant addition. It keeps the salad firm and addresses any potential runniness from all of the fruit. This is a textural adventure, not too sweet and incredibly delicious! I venture to say that BlondieItaliana is a humble genious. Exquisite and delightful dish! Thank you for the recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tye077 April 05, 2013

Easy to make and very tasty. I used light sour cream and added about a half cup chopped pecans. It was excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Croce July 15, 2011

This is a great Ambrosia recipe! The flavors are great (I left out the coconut as a personal preference for my hubby) and one of my favorite things about it: it stays fluffy and doesn't get watery at all--even after being in the fridge a couple days.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petalpages February 13, 2011

I'm giving this five stars before I even try it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Eve February 01, 2010
Ambrosia