16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

EXCELLENT! I doubled the fruit and marshamallos (BIG FAMILY) and used the 8 ounces sour cream and 8 ounces of cool whip. Also added a cup of coconut. LOVED IT!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynnlauria May 26, 2008

My daughter loves this recipe! I have made this so many times and just forgot to rate it. We have so much fun telling everyone that there is a "secret" ingredient (sour cream). It is an easy and delicious recipe that my 12 year old daughter and I enjoy making together. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babytoothdoc November 27, 2013

Delicious!!! I substituted fat free vanilla yogurt for the sour cream

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dunmar319 August 11, 2013

Yummy! I've ate something like this before at a potluck and it was great to have again. Now I know the recipe and can make it for my family. Thank you so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elegance January 01, 2011

I loved the sour cream in this as it added a wonderful tang to the sweetness of the fruit. We added a lot of coconut and some pecans for texture and flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinay0618 November 27, 2010

I normally pass over the fruit salads at buffets, but I tried this one at a local restaurant and knew I had to come find a recipe. The restaurant added a ton of grated coconut to their recipe, but it looks to be the same otherwise. Thanks for posting, can't wait to make this!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quirkycook December 18, 2009

I was looking for a light and not too sweet recipe for a friend who is going through chemo. This one is great! Just the right about of fresh taste and pleasant sweetness without being heavy. Fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ljordan July 19, 2009

I added a cup of coconut like some others. I also ran just short on maraschino cherries so I used the leftover CANDIED cherries from my Christmas baking and they worked great here! It's REALLY hard to not eat the entire batch!!! It reminds me of the holiday fruit salad that my mom used to make when I was a kid...but we just called it 'FRUIT SALAD'!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jVo February 17, 2008

This will be perfect for these hot summer days. Nice combination of flavors for the different fruits. This recipe is perfect for us since neither one of us like the taste of coconut. Note: A few days later and we are still eating on it and it gets better every day. The marshmallows have gotten a little mushy, but who cares.:) So, I've upgraded to 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
True Texas September 12, 2007

A fave from my childhood that my kids now love, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mamakhan September 01, 2007
Ambrosia