32 Reviews

I was happy to find this recipe, but had to make changes for grand kids. Because the boys don't like nuts and raisins in theirs and I have a little granddaughter who loves raisins and nuts, I plump the raisins with water in the microwave and use an immersion blender on them with the nuts, applesauce and other things I have like coconut or dates. Then I divide the batter and mix chocolate chips in the boys' part. They love them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
artteacharw May 12, 2014

Love these. Have made them twice now and they're worth the 20 minutes it takes from start to out of the oven! They definitely only make about 2 dozen or less but they're amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megsrochelle May 01, 2013

LOVING This Cookie! Thank you so much superblondieno2!<br/>Ok, so far have only used chocolate chips instead of raisins. Used 1 whole egg and BUTTER. No Margarine is allowed in my fridge! So good, could not stop eating them. They were GONE in record time. No problem with texture or bake time. They smell so good, was waiting for them to be baked. No danger of burning here!<br/>When I use the raisins, will try apple butter instead of apple sauce, decrease the sugar and decrease the cinnamon. Great recipe - EASY as can be!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michellesboggus_12728405 April 11, 2013

These were GREAT! I was looking for a quick and healthy cookie and these sounded good! I did make a few changes intentionally and a few unintentionally.... first I doubled the recipe. I used extra cinnamon (can't get enough of that!) reduced the sugar to 1 1/4 cup for a double batch, used pumpkin instead of applesauce (was out) used 1 whole egg for the double batch instead of 4 egg whites and used 2 TBSP melted butter (don't use marg.) and 2 TBSP olive oil and last but not least, at my childrens request used choc. chips instead of raisins ( I would have prefered the raisins)....the unintentional change was leaving out the baking soda.... I just forgot, in too big of a hurry I guess. But they turned out delicious anyway! Thanks for a great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sconehead July 23, 2012

These were pretty good. I liked them enough for healthyish cookies. I was skeptical about the consistency when I put them in the oven and was going to add more flour but glad I didn't because they came out the perfect consistency - soft and chewy. My kids seemed to like them as much as the full fat stuff (except dd that saw me put in the apple sauce!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MMMTMommy March 22, 2011

LOVE LOVE LOVE these cookies...My kids and family totally ate every crumb!!! Had to make more to send home with my sister LOL!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MiaBaby August 01, 2010

Liked the cookies; they were a little hard, plenty sweet, and tasted good. However, they were hard to form into balls or whatever to put them on the baking dish. I found this recipe to be more messy than most cookie recipes I've used. The mixture was clumpy but even with the oats (and I added some extra) it was hard to keep it together. I will try to make this again later but for now I'm sort of lukewarm on this recipe. 6-18-10 After a week or so of eating these cookies I am going to change my rating from three to four stars. Next time, however, I will use less sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doubting Thomas June 18, 2010

I've use dozens of recipes on the site but this is the first time I've submitted a review. Today I made three different otatmeal cookie recipes and this one is the best. I did do a few things different. I used the suggestion of a couple of other people who used your recipe. I subed the margarine for more applesauce and I used a little more agave that was suggested by someone else. I also did my own thing and add dried cranberries, chopped walnuts and dried promograted. I used a #40 dasher and got a little over 1-1/2 dozen cookies. The cookies turned out great. They were moist and soft, even after cooling completely. Sometimes a cookie taste pretty when it's a little warm but if it taste better completely cooled then you know you have a good cookie. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andrea1976 February 17, 2010

These are delicious! I ended up using one whole egg instead of two egg whites, added just shy of 1 tablespoon of gluten to the recipe per 1 cup of whole wheat flour used, and in one batch used chocolate chips instead of raisins. Both were yummy, though! This ended up making just over two dozen small cookies (maybe 2" in diameter) so I doubled the second batch. Very good recipe, and even my junk food junkie hubby loved them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracy VanOstran December 06, 2009

I just made these, and absolutely love them. I subbed the margarine with more unsweetened apple sauce, cut the sugar down to 2/3 (I also didn't have enough, so I topped it off with a dash of honey), and added a few more raisins because I love them. I also had to bake then for 15 minutes for them to be done all the way, but they turned out great. I got 24 medium-sized cookies out of this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
btp1111 March 12, 2009
Amazing Whole Wheat Oatmeal Cookies