Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amazing White Trash Puff Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amazing White Trash Puff Balls

    Average Rating:

    313 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 313

    Sort by:

    • on August 15, 2003

      Addictively yummy little buggers!! I needed to bake these at 375 to get them crispy enough, but that's probably my oven's fault. One of the great things about this recipe is that it inspires all kinds of creativity--bacon/ham/sausage instead of pepperoni, adding green onions/olives/hot peppers/fresh herbs, topping with seeds, etc., etc. I can't wait to make them again--at the last party a full platter was emptied in 10 minutes flat! Thanks Ashley!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      These are cute & yummy. Since I made my own crescent dough, I faced some challenges. I put the dough in the fridge overnight, and the next day, rolled it thin while cold. I wrestled with making various kinds of pockets, but ended up cutting with a 3" biscuit cutter and pushing into mini-muffin cups, and filling. They came out nicely (pic). In the future, I would change up the filling, too and maybe do one with ham, spring onions and gruyere mixed in the cream cheese, etc. Very nice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2004

      Since I usually have 2 out of the 3 ingredients I desided to try these out. I didn't have the pepperoni on hand...it's not my favorite thing...so I used what I had...a small jar of dried beef. I put it in my mini chopper and and shredded it very fine. The puff balls came out wonderful with the exception the filling was slightly salty...my fault I didn't rinse the dried beef before I chopped it. Actually would have been fine if I had doubled the recipe. Then I made them again and used a small can of imitation crab, a teaspoon of chopped garlic, 3green onions and a dash of worchestershire. Both times these little bites of joy disappeared almost as fast as they came out of the oven. They are on my Super Bowl refreshment list...maybe a triple batch. I am also thinking maybe a sweet puff ball...cream cheese and crushed pineapple that has been drained really well. Danzy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      These were amazing and so easy. I put the pepperoni in the food processor and added some garlic and Italian seasoning. I also made a batch of shredded chicken and ranch seasonings. Both were amazing! You could add a little sugar and cinnamon to some cream cheese and a little apple pie filling. You could even add some jam to the cream cheese. The ideas are limitless! This will be a go to from now on! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      I can't believe I haven't reviewed these yet. They are mind-numbingly easy to make and so yummy. I was making them at my annual beach trip with friends and one of the guys walked in and exclaimed, "Wait...you make those BY HAND?!?! I'm impressed!!" Apparently, he finds them to be so delicious that he thought I bought them in the freezer section. I've learned a couple things during the 10 times I've made these since finding this recipe: 1. Use a food processor to chop the pepperoni, it's so much easier. 2. You can actually cut the crescent triangles into fourths instead of thirds and get more pepperoni balls.
      Thanks so much for posting this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      I must revise my previous review: I cannot tell you how good these really are! I have made them probably eight times since I found this recipe in October. No matter what party of event Im going to everyone loves them. My mini chopper does a great job of chopping the pepperoni and preventing carpel tunnel! I've been adding some Italian seasoning and a little garlic powder to them. I also use a block and half of cream cheese, and like an 8 oz package of pepperoni, because I like a lot of filling. The way mine get folded, the filling is not completely covered but they usually don't leak and if they do its no big deal. These are the best thing since sausage balls! THANK YOU!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      These are really the ultimate blank canvas for appetizers. I used the garlic butter flavored cresent rolls and stirred in some shredded parm to the cheese mix. They were a big hit, the whole time I stuffing them in my face I was thinking of other stuffing add ins that would be good! (chopped bacon, green onions, cheddar, horseradish...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      These are good. I made ahead and reheated in low oven--worked fine. Added garlic powder and italian seasoning like some suggested--better that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2003

      I made these with vegetarian pepperoni and they were a hit. I also made them with a feta/onion/spinach stuffing (I think someone else suggested that) and it was tasty, too. People really like saying "pass me those white trash puff balls".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      Everyone just loved these, and so easy to make! I cut each triangle into 4 pieces for slightly smaller bites, and used crumbled bacon instead of pepperoni. Since I went with bacon, I added some cheddar cheese and dried fried shallots and chives.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      These are pretty good. I made a variation on the bacon-wrapped jalapeno idea, and filled mine with 10 pieces of crumbled bacon, about 3 oz (from 4 oz can) diced jalapenos, and I used neufchatel cheese (low-fat cream cheese). I couldn't find the crescent roll tube size called for, but I got 48 (exactly, using all my filling) from two 8 oz crescent roll tubes, and I cut the rolls into 3 pieces each. This probably took me about the same amount of time as the bacon-wrapped jalapenos (although it was much cleaner), and it was nice to try a different variation of those. I can see using this idea with many other fillings too. Personally, I thought the bread part overpowered the filling part, but people at the party seemed to like them. Robust-tasting filling ingredients would work really good in this recipe, I think. Thanks for the idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      Like everyone said, super easy and a total hit! Mine, too, disappeared withing a minute of pulling them from the oven. I used salami, feta, cream cheese, and green onion. Yum! Will try again, next time attempting an apple and cinnamon blend. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      Thanks for sharing this really great recipe! I added the following ingredients to what your recipe called for: Bacon- Cooked and crumbled (or cut) into very small pieces. Fresh Cilantro cut into small pieces. Crumbled Blue Cheese (feta would work also). My taste buds were in heaven. This is my new favorite appetizer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      We absolutely adore these! The runaway hit at Thanksgiving, they made another appearance just before Xmas, and for a dinner party after New Year's! The first time, we made them exactly as written, and then we played with them a bit - added some sundried tomatoes in oil and herbs and some italian seasoning. This just took things over the top! Thank you so much for a stupendous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      I made these for a Christmas party and they were a big hit! People were commenting on them and telling me how good they were without knowing I was the one who brought them. Then they asked for the recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, but did add dry pizza/pasta Italian seasoning (Spice Islands--comes in a grinder). One word of caution--I made one batch on a dark nonstick baking pan...and they burned on the bottom--badly enough so I couldn't serve them. But the batches on the regular stainless steel pan were fine at 11 minutes cooking time. Luckily I had bought an extra roll of crescent dough and had enough filling left over to make most of another batch. You'll probably have extra filling, too, as this recipe is several years old and Pillsbury now sells their crescent dough in 8 oz rolls, rather than the 10 1/8 oz the recipe calls for. So go ahead and buy 3 packages to use up all the filling. Can't wait to try some other fillings...the possibilities are endless. Overall, a great party pleaser with many happy diners!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      AMAZING! I have made this a few times once as it stated. I have also added mozzarella cheese, sausage, sauteed veggies, breakfast sausage it is always so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      These are so easy and yet the hit of the party! I added finely chopped black olives to the mix and they were amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2003

      I was looking for something easy and yummy as an appetizer as this was a hit. The pepperoni was good, but the possibilities are endless as to what ingredients could go in this, I'm looking forward to experimenting with this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      Love this! I use Kielbasa suasages though because we always seem to have those on hand. I put the sausages in the food processor and then mix as usual with the cream cheese. There is no need for any additional herbs or spices unless you want to use parsley. All the spice is in the sausage and these are delicious. I recommend using neufachtel cheese as it is lower in fat since the sausages have a good bit of fat in them already. Great recipe idea! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Served these to family members for an informal cocktail hour. They were easy to prepare, but we all felt they were a little bland. Next time, I think I'll add some feta cheese or maybe even a few drops of tabasco just to give them a little zip. Overall, a very nice recipe, though! And you can't beat the ease of preparation. I pulled these together in 15 minutes. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amazing White Trash Puff Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (21 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 48

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 76.2
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    52%
    Total Fat 4.4 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 16.1 mg
    5%
    Sodium 147.6 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites