Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amazing Solan Family Chocolate Cake (Aka 3-Hole Cake) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amazing Solan Family Chocolate Cake (Aka 3-Hole Cake)

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2011

      Did this recipe for work for something Swedish "Diversity Day" It was a winner! I used the original peppermint in the glaze and added a little vanilla to it too! Turned out awesome! Oh I also went the low fat version with applesauce so moist and delicious! I will definitely be doing this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      My daughter and I made this cake for a school project. I used a regular 9 x 13 pan and didn't bake for quite as long, just made sure the center springed back. It was DELICIOUS! I added 6 HEAPING tbsp. of cocoa and about 1 1/2 c. of semi-sweet choc. chips. For the glaze, I used the milk, powdered sugar and cocoa. It was chocolately, but I love chocolate, so I thought it was fabulous! Only thing - like other reviews, I found this cake hard to get out of the pan without falling apart. Otherwise, I thought it was the best chocolate cake I had ever made from scratch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      I made this cake tonight and I have to tell you that it was disgusting. The middle was runny and it tasted like raw cake batter. I know I did everything just the way I should. The reviews I read described it just the way it turned out, but...yuk!!!! And...to those of you who thing that this is a healthy cake...considering the white flour, white sugar....no it isn't for anyone. Eggs would have been the healthy portion of the recipe. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

      Came out perfect!! I also used dark chocolate for a richer chocolate flavor. So simple too. This will be the new stand by recipe for last minute company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      Love it!!! Came out moist and so so chocolatey! Such comfort food for a chocolate hearted person as me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      This was incredible!!! I made it for a dinner party, and it was gone before it was completely cooled. My sister loved it so much, that she demanded I make it her birthday cake this year. So moist and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      LOVE THIS CAKE! I made it a few months ago and obviously forgot to rate it, but I'm making it again today and looking forward to a fantastic vegan chocolate cake! I call this "Salad Dressing Cake" since it's key ingredients are "oil and vinegar". Last time I made it, I served it with fresh whipped cream and strawberries. It's in the oven now, not sure if I'll do a glaze or not.... either way it's AWESOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      Your recipe worked great for me. I greased my bundt pan heavy and it popped right out except for one tiny piece which I had to try. I used Special Dark Cocoa - great chocolate flavor. The Husband will be thrilled, that alone is worth 10 stars. I also used my stand mixer-came together well, cooked for exactly 45 minutes, and like I said before, popped right out of the pan. Thanks for Posting Di;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Awesome cake. It wasn't hard to make, especially having a good solid countertop mixer for the batter. Extremely moist. It eats almost like a chocolate souffle. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      My 12 yr old daughter made this cake. It came out moist and a good looking cake. We put it into a square pan and had no problem with it coming out. We used 1/2 the sugar and found that enought . Next time we will put in melted chocolate. The cake looked beautifully chocolatey but did not have the rich chocolate taste. This is a keeper of a cake, light and moist. Better than a box cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      This is the very first time that I have been so excited about a recipe that i had to write a review, It was so easy to make and SO DELICIOUS that i am afraid I might try eating it all by myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      I made this cake for Mother's Day. My mother-in-law absolutely loved it, as did my husband. This was very moist and had a great texture. I substituted half the sugar with Splenda to cut the sugar. I love that is does not have eggs and is relatively healthy. I am diabetic and have high cholesterol. So this really was a treat that I could have without a lot of guilt. I think you could use a lot of different glazes. Or even top with Cherry Pie filling with a bit of almond flavoring mixed in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      Good cake that turned out muffins! Something is missing tastewise but I don't know what. Maybe it needs more chocolate. I only made a half batch and ate it without the icing as I just wanted to try it. It's a keeper! I greased and floured only the bottom of the muffin tin so they can rise and it didn't stick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      Very tasty cake!! I wanted a dense chocolate cake and was very impressed with this one. I shared it with family and friends and everyone loved it. I did take some suggestions from a couple other reviewers and added an additional tablespoon of cocoa and topped it with REAL cream cheese icing...rich and delicious. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe...my new staple chocolate cake :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      OK, I have made this cake TWICE this week!! It is FANTASTIC!!! I had no problems getting it out of the bundt pan...I did use Pam and a little flour. I made some vanilla glaze, but we ate most of the cakes without! Very easy to put together...I shared the recipe with my 5 coworkers...THANK YOU!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      I've been making this cake for years, without the glaze. It is also known as Wacky Cake, and I was told that it was invented and became popular during the Depression, because it is so economical (no eggs.) Vinegar used to always be used with baking soda, to make it work. I think today it's made so that it doesn't need it. In the FSU vinegar and soda are still mixed together before adding to the batter. I have also exchanged the cocoa for an equal amount of flour, and changed the flavor by using various extracts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      This IS delicious and easy! Loved it and will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      I was skeptical at first when I noticed there are no eggs and very little oil, but this cake is the best chocolate cake ever! It is very moist. It reminds me of a one-pan cake I used to make as a child (which used vinegar, oil, and no eggs). I used dark cocoa, so the cake was extra chocolatey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      all around an excellent cake. i needed to bake it for closer to 45 minutes but not an issue. i made the mint verson of the glaze and found it a bit too minty for me but that was probably due to using food grade mint "oil" intead of a mint "extract". regardless of my errors, everyone at work enjoyed the cake and breath freshener and i can't wait to make it again using the mocha version. thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      so so rich and delicious, i did it the applesauce way--hard to believe it is lowfat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amazing Solan Family Chocolate Cake (Aka 3-Hole Cake)

    Serving Size: 1 (132 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 372.9
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    34%
    Total Fat 14.3 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 406.4 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.8 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 33.5 g
    134%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes