18 Reviews

This was delicious. I served the shrimp over some angel hair pasta with Parmesan cheese on top and also had bread to sop up the extra juices. Thanks for posting.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babs in Toyland June 17, 2002

I have tried this with fresh and with frozen shrimp, wonderful. The last time I added some oregano, GREAT RECIPE!

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff June 12, 2002

Absolutely outstanding. This was truly a treat. The only thing I did differently was to add a bit of butter to the oil when I added the shrimp. It just made the "sauce" a little richer. But what an excellent and easy dish to prepare. Fit for royality and everyday fare as well. Thank you Tom

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo November 10, 2002

Hey Tom, This stuff is fantastic! I did add some fresh bread crumbs and parmasian at the end and stuck it under the broiler for a few seconds. I loved the way the garlic turned out. Thank you for posting.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gibblet November 28, 2002

This was very surprisingly bland. I followed directions exactly except used crushed red pepper for chilis. I don't see what makes this so special...? I ate a few but will tweak it to see how I can make it savory.... Maybe by following some suggestions such as serving over pasta and topped with bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese, and adding butter for more flavor. I did love the garlic chips and will do that more often in dishes! I will definitely be adding parsley to this dish and serve lemon wedges alongside it next time. %u263A

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitten44 August 24, 2012

Like Surussell, We expected more flavour from the garlic than was actually delivered. Presentation of these was brillent (I used giant Gamba/Scampi and served this as a main course) but for the four entire heads of garlic I used for the 6 adults present, we were dissapointed when we peeled them that the taste was not as stunning as I had hoped for considering the reviews (we adore garlic, maybe we just anticipated too much since yes, roasted gasrlic is mellow compared to other ways of preparing it ?). Like other reviewers I will probably add some fresh herbs or something more to the mix to improve it next time. As usual I asked everyone at the table for a rating (they know my system), and two gave it a four and the other four gave it a three... the biggest comment was that several would have rated it higher if scampi were not so expensive... they thought that with the cost of the main ingredient that the flavour should have delivered more. Please see my rating system, this recipe gets a well deserved 3 stars. The bottom line is that for us these definiately tasted good enough to try again for a special occasion with some tweeking. Many thanks for the recipe :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch October 04, 2005

Awesome recipe. I took this recipe to a party and got rave reviews. I prepared the dish up to the point of roasting the garlic at home. At the party I warmed the dish for 5 minutes then added the shrimp so it took only a few minutes to cook at the party. The only change I made was adding a little butter to the oil. Thanks Free Spirit

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Free Spirit January 19, 2003

Super yummy! Thank you so much. I added Parmesan and cracker crumbs at the end, and served it with angel hair pasta tossed with crushed tomatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cassiejw August 29, 2011

Absolutely delicious!!! I have made several variations of this recipe. One most recently used I covered the bottom of my round clay baking dish with stems of fresh rosemary, then smashed about 6 heads of garlic, spreading it all over the rosemary, then I sprinkled red pepper flakes (sparingly) over it, then drizzled with olive oil. I then baked in the oven at 400 for about 30 minutes. I then added the jumbo shrimp and more olive oil and back in the oven for 5 minutes. The rosemary made such a wonderful variation to an already awesome dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
herndon08 January 19, 2010

I thought this was fairly bland considering all the garlic in it. I should have done as some others did and add butter/ oregano/ parmesan or something to give it more flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
surus June 09, 2005
Amazing Roasted Shrimp With Garlic