Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amazing Hungarian Chicken Paprikash With Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amazing Hungarian Chicken Paprikash With Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on September 04, 2011

      I am also part Hungarian and a recipe much like this one was passed down in my family as well. In fact its the ONLY recipe passed down. Chicken Paprikash has been my favorite comfort dish since I was a child. this is the only recipe i know by heart but i wanted to see if there were any better ways to prepare it. (such as your mixing the sour cream separately was brilliant) We make our Dumplings slightly different though. Actually they are more like dumpling noodles. instead of making it dry ours calls for the mixture to be slightly runny (and I like to add a little paprika to the mixture as an extra kick!) then instead of a knife use a spoon to scoop the dough into the boiling water. And only use I/3 of the spoon (the side) and get the dough into the water by knocking the spoon on the edge of the pot and then continuing on to the next. (yes it can be time consuming but the efforts are worth it) make sure to have a straining spoon handy and a cassorole dish with a dab of butter to keep the dumpling noodles from sticking. As you continue one by one spooning the mixture in the pot, some of the dumplings should be rising to the surface so periodically scoup them out with the straining spoon and dump them in the cassirole dish. They should resemble slightly half-moon shaped pieces of chewed up gum (I know that sounds gross but that's the best description I've got). Continue scooping the dough untill its done. This takes a while and this is usually when my grandmother employed my help when I was young and how I learned to make this dish better than anyone in my family including her. I am happy to know there is someone else out there who was raised on this amazing and rare dish! Tonight for dinner I'm going to try it your way... :) Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2013

      i I too already know how to make this dish as it was passed down from my grandmother but wanted to see if i had forgotten anything over the years. It is very close and anyone looking for true Hungarian chicken and dumplings as found the recipie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      We thought this meal was very good. I wasn't overly enthused with the dumplings, preferring my normal spaetzle recipe but I felt the sauce and the chicken was very tasty. I made a couple changes: I used 2 small/medium onions, sliced top to bottom and one tablespoon of onion powder in place of the onion powder otherwise called for and I substituted 1 tbsp of smoked paprika in place of one of the tbsps of paprika. I'm not sure what Chefbs was talking about when he said it needed almost a total rewrite. I didn't think it was bland nor did I find the sauce "wall paper [glue] consistency". I

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      A true Hungarian type paprikash. The only change was to use sliced onion instead of the onion powder. Will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      This was good and my husband really liked it. The suggestion of dipping the knife into the hot water prior to scraping the dough made scraping a lot easier. I found I had to add a lot more flour to the dumpling recipe, but they turned out good. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      Oh my goodness. I have never eaten Chicken Paprikash prior to this recipe. As I am writing this, I am still swooning as I am spooning this fantastic dish into my mouth. I followed this recipe nearly to a T. The only changes I made were to use real onion instead of onion powder. I threw in 1/4 of white wine to the chicken broth. I am too lazy to make the dumplings according to your recipe (but I will next time!), so I used the Jiffy baking mix and threw some minces onions in to the batter and boiled them in chicken broth. This is just amazing. I can't stop eating this! I have had two bowls so far! Thanks for the PERFECT comfort dish! Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      In my small hometown elyria,ohio we have a festival every fall. At once if the stands we have this paprikash on the cool nights. Since I'm in atlanta now I decided to make my favs from the festival. I was blown away with this recipe. It tasted just like I remember it. This recipe was aching and thank you for it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      My mother-in-law was Hungarian and this was one of her favorite dishes so on the first cold day of this season I thought I would try to make it. I appreciate this recipe as I remember picking small bones out of hers and the boneless tasted no different, though I used breasts and thighs. I also used diced onion, and half of the dumpling recipe though I used 2T of butter and 2 eggs to 2 cups of flour. I blended the sour cream, water and flour in a blender and it was a great move to mix those separately, so I really appreciated that. When all was said and done it tasted a lot like the one I remember from years ago. My daughter added a little Franks Buffalo Wings sauce to hers and it was genius, it added just enough kick to make it an incredibly delicious dish. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      My wife tried to surprise me with one of my favorite Hungarian dishes of all time. When I came home I had questioned this recipe big time and found this particular recipe a bit bland, pale and unexciting!!! I did not want to throw it away and the Chinese restaurant was closed due to the holiday. Thank God I am a chef and know how to fix recipes like this one. I had to start out by caramelizing onions and adding more Hungarian paprika paste. It took quite a bit of salt and fresh ground pepper to bring it to life. A bit more chicken stock and sour cream to thin it out a
      little so that it did not have that wall paper consistency. I am not trying to be mean or rude but I almost had to remake the whole dish over to make it palatable.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      I made this dish for the first time for company and everyone absolutely enjoyed it. I also used the sharp paprika to add that extra kick. Great recipe Danny P thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      Love this recipe! Certainly is the ultimate comfort food. Thanks for sharing, Danny P!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      This dish certainly is amazing! On my second attempt making this, I substituted 1 medium onion, diced, for the onion powder. It doesn't change the flavor, but I like the texture that the onions add. Also, I tried fat free sour cream the first time around and don't recommend this. The fat "full" definitly makes for a better dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      I think this recipe is the ultimate comfort food- I could eat it everyday! Great recipe. I tried it with the Sharp Paprika and it gives it that little extra kick!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      This recipe is truly amazing. My Hungarian grandma would be so happy to see chicken paprikash being enjoyed by the current generation of cooks. Danny P. has updated the recipe to perfection!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2014

      I saw an episode on Hungarian cooking on an Australian TV channel (SBS) and decided to try a dish. I fluked on this - I must have been born lucky! I cooked the chicken as per the recipe for wife and son. Only change was to use thigh fillets rather than breast because we like the Chinese, think thigh meat has better taste and texture. Anyway the result was that we, were basically blown away - this is a real keeper! Wonderful stuff! Son likes very spicy food and wife likes milder so I mixed about a cup of sauce in a small saucepan with chili flakes so son could flavour his own. 'Fantastic' he said. This is a brilliant recipe and anyone who "had to remake the whole dish over to make it palatable" clearly has no appreciation of what good food is despite their claimed profession. Comments like those are the product of an inflated ego, a deplorable lack of manners, and no feeling for those who try to do something nice for them..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2014

      Sounds just like Grandma's except she used all the chicken pieces and did not take the skin off it. YUM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2013

      The chicken paprikash dish that my godfamily use to make use to be my favorite childhood dish. For years i've been wanting to recreate that but most of the recipes that I've found for it look nothing like what I was use to and some even included noodles. The picture looked pretty close to what I've had in the past so I gave it a go. I like my chicken paprikash alittle thicker and spicier than the recipe called for so I added alittle more flour and pepper. Also I didnt have sweet paprika on hand so i used regular with an added teaspoon of sugar. I want to say that i might have gone over on the chicken as well. I want to say that this dish was like reliving part of my childhood again. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      This was excellent! I made a few substitutions - I bought pre-made dumplings, which cut cooking prep and time. It was quite easy to make. And I love the advice to add broth to the sour cream mixture to keep it from curdling. Great advice! Delicious meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amazing Hungarian Chicken Paprikash With Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (477 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 546.1
     
    Calories from Fat 150
    27%
    Total Fat 16.7 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 213.4 mg
    71%
    Sodium 1290.9 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.3 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 34.4 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites