Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amazing Gluten-Free Buttermilk Donuts / Doughnuts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amazing Gluten-Free Buttermilk Donuts / Doughnuts

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on May 17, 2009

      I made these for my mom as a mother's day present. Since she found out she had celiac disease, she's been craving doughnuts. They were very well received by everyone. The only discrepancy I found between the recipe and the actual making of the doughnuts, was that I had to add about 2 extra cups of flour mix to get the dough to a stiff enough consistency to actually be able to work with it. Also, i used a shot glass to punch out the holes. For the toppings, I thought I would post how to make glazes in case people don't want to go searching the internet. Creamy vanilla glaze: 1/4 cup butter, 2 cups powdered sugar, 1 tbsp vanilla, 4-6 tbsp hot water. Melt butter, add sugar and vanilla. Add water a tbsp at a time until you reach desired consistency. Chocolate glaze: 1/4 cup butter, 4 oz milk chocolate, 2 cups powdered sugar, 1 tbsp vanilla, 4-6 tbsp hot water. Melt butter and chocolate over low heat, add vanilla and sugar. Add water a tbsp at a time until consistent. Other toppings, roll warm doughnuts in powdered or granule sugar. For filling, fill icing pipe (using long thin head) with jelly or custard, insert and squeeze 1/2 to 1 tbsp inside warm doughnut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      Dough was very soft when mixed according to recipe, but just dropped tablespoonfuls into hot oil and made doughnut holes. Shook in a bag with cinnamon and sugar after they were cooked, and they were very tasty! Took them to work to share with GF and non-GF coworkers - everyone loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      I thought this recipe worked out perfectly. To those who had trouble with the dough I wonder if you used the GF flour mix suggested or your own. That would make a big difference since different flours react very differently.

      I think I would add more vanilla or other flavoring next time, but I thought this were great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      I think the amount of buttermilk used, since the butter is melted, needs to be reduced to 1 1/2 cups. Also the baking powder could be increased to 2 tsp and the salt reduced to 1 tsp. You might try not melting the butter, but bringing it to room temperature and then cutting it into the flour/dry ingredient mixture, then add the wet ingredients and mix. The dough should stay firmer without becoming too dry. They do have a good flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      We made these while camping and used pamela's baking & pancake mix for the flour mix. They were awesome!!! They were even better the next day - they seemed to tighten upmambit more after 24hrs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      This was the first time I've made donuts and these came out great! Since my husband is gluten/soy/dairy free I used rice milk w/a tsp of vinegar. Dough texture was perfect but since I chose a chocolate glaze, next time will leave out the nutmeg and cinnamon in favor of vanilla extract.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      I made this recipe as a Christmas gift for my mother and brother, both of whom are allergic to wheat. They were fabulous, and easy to make (a little messy, though, but very worth it). Mom and bro aren't big fans of the sugar crystal coating on donuts, so I made up a maple topping, which was poured on after cooling (2 TBSP milk + 1 cup powdered sugar + 2 TBSP maple syrup). Tasted just like store bought cake donuts!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      My son is on a gluten free diet and we are always looking for great recipes to substitute so he does not feel left out. As my son said, These are GREAT! I made them 3 different ways, cinnamon/sugar, powdered sugar, and chocolate glaze on top. My son had the chocolate glaze and powdered sugar. He said that they taste like the original ... Great warm.. Thank you so much for posting this .

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      all in all a very nice donut. i'm not exactly sure how people roll them out to get the donut shape, but i was more than happy making them into donut holes. day one they tasted great. day two a little chewy and day three i turned them into bread pudding. i personally think i used a little too much rice flour when attempting to roll the dough out, but i'll skip that step next time and stick with the donut holes. by the way, it made some pretty nice bread pudding.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Excellent! I used rice milk in place of buttermilk and maple sugar in place of regular sugar. The maple sugar needs to be fine to stick well to the donuts, you can throw maple sugar in the blender or food processor for a few seconds to get it finer. We also added some cinnamon to the sugar that went on top of the donuts. Wonderful donuts, will definitely make again and again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      My GF daughter absolutely loved these donuts. The best part is that my non-GF kids loved them just as much. The recipe makes a lot so we froze a bunch (without toppings) which I then reheated and covered with powdered sugar whenever she wanted one for breakfast. They reminded me of the home-made donuts my mom used to make when I was a kid. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2013

      I used this in our new Babycakes donut maker and they were awesome! THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      This is honestly THE BEST gluten free doughnut recipe I have ever tried. It was easy to make and does not require a lot of ingredients. The taste is FANTASTIC! They are a little dense (I thought they would be a little fluffier) but they are delicious! I would recommend ANY gluten free or not gluten free person to try this recipe! My only suggestion is that you will have to add more of the flour mix that in states, I used about an extra cup and a half. Happy baking and happy eating :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2013

    • on April 10, 2013

      Finally, the first "Gluten Free" doughnut recipe that tastes normal ! <br/>Loved these much better than the yeast doughnuts. Easy simple recipe. Finally! The first glutten free doughnut recipe that taste like normal! <br/>The key is to make boat loads of the "Gluten free flour mixture" and use for other recipes. <br/><br/>I have tried multiple "GF flour" mixtures from different brands and they taste yuck. My poor son has had to eat them and he does with no problem but I cannot stomach them. <br/><br/>No more making 2 separate recipes! Yeah, these are tasty for all in our family!<br/><br/>I did not have to add extra flour to get the consistancy right. By the time you lay it out on flour to cut out, its fine. I used a doughnut cutter. <br/><br/>Thankyou for sharing this fantastic recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      Good, I mean how can you go wrong with sweetened, deep-fried buscuit dough (which is really what this is)? Plus, gluten free and pretty easy to make. Tasty, but not like the donut I was craving. Glad I only made 1/2 a batch, which still made a whole platefull. I also made only 1/3 of the flour blend recipe, which was just about perfect for 1/2 batch of donuts. Using the flour mixture at the top of the recipe, I had no problems rolling & cutting these out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2012

      My grandson wanted me to make these with him. I decided to make doughnut holes as opposed to whole doughnuts as they are for kids. I find that kids rarely eat a whole cupcake etc. so I make minis. We got over 150 doughnut holes and they taste great. Just used a teaspoon full of dough. Much easier than rolling it out. Perfect for my use. My husband loves them and is not gf. He loves his wheat and could not tell the difference

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      These were super yummy! I used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of buttermilk. (Yeah, I know. Not the same, but it's what I had in the house on this Sunday morning!) They were perfect! I also did 3 coatings: powdered sugar (I ground up some reg. sugar in the blender), cinnamon sugar, and maple glaze! We all agreed that the maple glazed ones were best. (In fact, we kept dipping the others in the glaze drippings on the plate!) To make the glaze I just mixed real organic maple syrup with powdered sugar (sugar blender) and a splash of water (to thin it). Great recipe that I'll definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2012

      These were amazing! I used Alton Brown's Chocolate Donut Glaze on some and cinnamon and sugar on the others -- YUM! They looked and tasted so good that my Dad thought I had bought them! By the way -- I used 1 2/3 cups white rice flour, 1 2/3 cups brown rice flour, 1 cup corn starch and 2/3 cups tapioca starch for the flour mixture. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2012

      Yummy! We are a gluten free family and love this recipe! The dough is very sticky, but if you keep adding the flour mixture to small parts of dough it can be rolled/patted to use the doughnut punch. If I don't have left over flour I just use Sweet Rice flour or any all purpose gluten free flour. I put my doughnut on my spoon and gently place into oil to keep the circle shape together.
      Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amazing Gluten-Free Buttermilk Donuts / Doughnuts

    Serving Size: 1 (61 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 120.3
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    28%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 32.1 mg
    10%
    Sodium 537.2 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 20.2 g
    81%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gluten-free rice flour mix

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites