Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on November 04, 2008

      I think I had way too much water to begin with. Also the 30 minute description isn't accurate with the directions of boiling and shredding the chicken. Nice flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2014

      This was a very good soup. It was a little thinner than what I am used to for a tortilla soup though. The flavors were perfect though. I had a problem in that I couldn't get velveeta....this is the Velveeta shortage year for the 2014 Superbowl....LOL! So I used a mix of Mexican shredded cheese. I wish I could have found Velveeta because it melts so much easier and smoother. The Mexican mix made my chicken and cilantro try and stick together. So I highly recommend using Velveeta to keep that from happening. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2014

      This soup is delicious! I was looking for a recipe that was similar to one we like at a local restaurant. This was it. It has so much flavor but not to spicy. I think I will cut back on the water the next time I make it. The only change I made was that I thickened it slightly. We loved it! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2013

      Used cooked chicken breast along with prepared chicken stock instead. Other than that, I followed the rest of the recipe and it turned out excellent. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      This soup is GREAT I just love it. I have made it several times and is soooo easy. I used rotisserie chicken from Sams club and it was wonderful I would recommend this recipe to every one. I fried up tortillas (white corn ) to top and just loved the crunch this truley is amazing thank you Bethany Taylor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      Go light on the water, 4.5 stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      Wow, just WOW! My husband and I have a favorite tortillo soup at a place in Mazatlan, Mexico that we just dream of here at home. So, today I found this recipe and went for it. It was delicioso! Very very easy, and very VERY good. Was just perfect for a cold rainy night. I made it almost exactly as the recipe reads, boiled the chicken etc for the broth, the only thing I did different is added a bit more chili powder because we like things nice and spicy. I also fried the corn tortilla strips and slated them. Super easy but so much more authentic tasting then just crushing up bagged tortilla chips. Husband gave it an 9 out of 10 which is saying a lot from him, he is picky! He ate two huge bowls and is excited to take more of it to work tomorrow for lunch :) Anyways, just a terrific recipe, so glad you shared it! Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      Excellent Soup, I have made it several times and varied the ingredients, it is best just as it is written, rotisserie chickens work very well for this recipe. Do NOT over do the cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      Loved it !! A little too spicy for Grandma and the kids but everyone else loved it. I added frozen corn. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      We really enjoyed this soup! It had just the right amount of spice for us. I roasted a small chicken and use the broth from it and also made homade corn tortillas and then cut into strips and fried them ~ this made the soup for me! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      Wonderful! I used 2 (12 oz ) canned chicken, 4 (15 oz)cans of chicken broth and added to the original recipe, 3/4 cup frozen corn and a (1 pound 13 oz) can small white beans. The flavor was exceptional even considering the minimal time to prepare. I served with sour cream, sliced avocado and sprinkled with crisp corn tortilla strips. Thanks so much, Bethany Taylor, for sharing your recipes with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      This was really great! Easy to make. I already had some shredded/cubed chicken I needed to use up, so I used chicken broth. I probably used more Velveeta and crushed tortilla chips on top. Very good! We had a couple of bowls for dinner and froze the rest in indvidual servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      Flavor is fantastic. A+++ recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Love it loved it! It was simple and the flavor was delicious. I bought a rottiserere chicken and took off all the meat for the soup. I used canned chicken broth. I basically started the recipe at step 4, the broth, then adding the seasonings, the chicken, and the the cheese. Cut the corn tortillas with a pizza cutter into thin strips and fried in a very small amount of oil until crisp, then salted! Thanks for sharing this it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      I LOVED this soup!!!! I made it as written with the exception of the chicken. I used canned chicken and made my own broth with water and chicken base. It was definately spicy so cut back if your kids are picky, like mine!! I forwarded this page to everyone that I knew and said "TRY this soup!" Thanks Bethany!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      i added black beans, green beans and corn. WOW what an awesome soup! everyone loved it! thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      Very GOOD!!! I had just gone to Max & Erma's and gotten addicted to their tortilla soup. I got on this FANTASTIC site and found the restaurant's "secret recipe" copycat thing! Next time I'm halfing the water...it was very soupy. Thanks for the delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      We just love this soup. I've made it twice this month and the leftovers are fab. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      Great recipe! Used a quart of our canned stewed tomatoes, and a pint of shredded canned chicken. Added in chopped jalapenos. It was nice that this recipe can be adapted using ingredients from our pantry. VERY good soup, served it with cornbread. Will make again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      This soup was delicious. We like our soup a little more flavorful from the spices, so I doubled the amounts of cumin, garlic, chili powder, and black pepper. Also, I doubled the Velveeta and added 1/3 cup salsa. I served this topped with 4-cheese blend Mexican cheese. My family loved this and gave it 2-thumbs up. Thank you for sharing this wonderful, quick recipe...it is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 87.3
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    11%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 210.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Velveeta cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes