23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I think I had way too much water to begin with. Also the 30 minute description isn't accurate with the directions of boiling and shredding the chicken. Nice flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 November 04, 2008

This was a very good soup. It was a little thinner than what I am used to for a tortilla soup though. The flavors were perfect though. I had a problem in that I couldn't get velveeta....this is the Velveeta shortage year for the 2014 Superbowl....LOL! So I used a mix of Mexican shredded cheese. I wish I could have found Velveeta because it melts so much easier and smoother. The Mexican mix made my chicken and cilantro try and stick together. So I highly recommend using Velveeta to keep that from happening. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom January 25, 2014

This soup is delicious! I was looking for a recipe that was similar to one we like at a local restaurant. This was it. It has so much flavor but not to spicy. I think I will cut back on the water the next time I make it. The only change I made was that I thickened it slightly. We loved it! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
october sky January 15, 2014

Used cooked chicken breast along with prepared chicken stock instead. Other than that, I followed the rest of the recipe and it turned out excellent. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tunamanphd October 20, 2013

This soup is GREAT I just love it. I have made it several times and is soooo easy. I used rotisserie chicken from Sams club and it was wonderful I would recommend this recipe to every one. I fried up tortillas (white corn ) to top and just loved the crunch this truley is amazing thank you Bethany Taylor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
McEvil's Wife November 22, 2011

Go light on the water, 4.5 stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itskenotime September 29, 2011

Wow, just WOW! My husband and I have a favorite tortillo soup at a place in Mazatlan, Mexico that we just dream of here at home. So, today I found this recipe and went for it. It was delicioso! Very very easy, and very VERY good. Was just perfect for a cold rainy night. I made it almost exactly as the recipe reads, boiled the chicken etc for the broth, the only thing I did different is added a bit more chili powder because we like things nice and spicy. I also fried the corn tortilla strips and slated them. Super easy but so much more authentic tasting then just crushing up bagged tortilla chips. Husband gave it an 9 out of 10 which is saying a lot from him, he is picky! He ate two huge bowls and is excited to take more of it to work tomorrow for lunch :) Anyways, just a terrific recipe, so glad you shared it! Thank You!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maggiemay1969 January 18, 2011

Excellent Soup, I have made it several times and varied the ingredients, it is best just as it is written, rotisserie chickens work very well for this recipe. Do NOT over do the cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Plano Epicurean in PLANO, TX September 29, 2009

Loved it !! A little too spicy for Grandma and the kids but everyone else loved it. I added frozen corn. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TickleNana March 26, 2009

We really enjoyed this soup! It had just the right amount of spice for us. I roasted a small chicken and use the broth from it and also made homade corn tortillas and then cut into strips and fried them ~ this made the soup for me! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 4three* November 12, 2008
Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup