Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Get Healthy Your Way

    400-Calorie Dinner Recipes

    400-Calorie Dinner Recipes

    Totally Satisfying. Totally Made by You.
    Sure-to-Amaze Superfoods

    Sure-to-Amaze Superfoods

    The 16 Benefits You Won't Believe
    25 Lighter Comfort Foods

    25 Lighter Comfort Foods

    Bust Your Cravings and Button Your Jeans!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup!

    Average Rating:

    209 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 209

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2009

      This soup was indeed AMAZING! I made it exactly as called for except I added two cans of black beans, drained. Most delicious! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

    • on September 20, 2009

      My family loved this soup - I'm making it for the second time this week! I do tend to increase the spices, but that's for everything I cook! We prefer ours with green onions, cilantro, shredded cheese, and sour cream. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      Simply put.... AMAZING! I left out the corn, but otherwise kept the integrity of the recipe. My colleagues were jealous at lunch time when I brought a cup of what was left!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      Amazing is an understatement. I am used to being disappointed when trying new recipes, this one exceeded my expectations. Everyone in my family loved it. We did add black beans to the recipe. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Very good, and simple to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      What a lovely soup this is. I'm a wimp so I left out the jalapeno and the cayenne, yet it still tasted wonderful! I chose to cut my chicken into bite-sized chunks rather than shredding it. And since I like soup that's a bit more filling, I added a small amount of white rice and some leftover cooked green beans, neither of which affected the delicious taste. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      This was very good soup but I did make some changes. I used store bought rotisserie chicken, subbed two Anaheim peppers instead of the green pepper, added a can of drained, rinsed, black beans, added 1/2c uncooked brown rice (really couldn't tell though) and I used 6c of homemade chicken stock. Also, I doubled the spices, as I thought it was a little blah with how it was written. All in all, this is a very yummy and satisfying soup. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      Simple and Tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      Great recipe. I added pinto beans. I excluded the cumin since my darling fiance doesn't like it. So I doubled the chili powder and cayenne pepper. I even left a couple of jalapeno seeds in the soup ( we don't mind spicy). His family enjoyed it. There were no leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      This is a great soup and I make it often! I added a can of black beans. Freezes well. Yummm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      I loved it. I used turkey cutlets instead of chicken and I added black beans -- I was delish!! Will cook again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      WOW !!! This recipe came out amazing everyone loved it! not only is it so fast and easy to make it's great for left overs !!! yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      Wow, something spicy that's a big hit with the whole family?! Everyone loved it. My 9 yr old said, "Other people would love this soup!" That's when I told him there were 95 reviews already. I didn't have the jalapeno, forgot the extra water (didn't have wine), used 1 can of corn, and used leftover turkey. A little sour cream was great with it. The kids didn't even see the tortilla chips on the table, so they didn't put them in. My dh raved and raved. This is a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      I've made this a few times now and it's always a hit! This time I used a chipotle pepper I had left over instead of the jalapeno and some black beans. I also added some light cream to give the broth some body and cut down on the heat. You can't go wrong with this one- It's our favorite way to use leftover chicken! (Just skip steps 3 and 4.) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      This is truly the only soup I crave regularly. I just made it again while we had a rainy, stormy weekend even though it really wasn't that cold. In fact, we're finally getting out of winter and you'd think I'd be sick of soup already! I think that's whats so great about it, it's not a big heavy soup, but it's still substantial enough to make a good meal. I top with sour cream and tortilla chips, and it's fantastic!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      With 5 stars and so many reviews, I knew this was going to be a great recipe and I was not disappointed. I used Hunts fired roasted tomatoes, added a little fresh cilantro and substituted frozed corn with Southwestern style corn by Green Giant. It was a big hit with the family. I will definitely be making this recipe again. Thanks to Lvs2Cook for the suggestion on the Seasoned Tortilla Strips by Junebug.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      I needed to find a recipe to use what I already had in the house and this was it! Looking at the ingredients list, it did not seem like much but the soup Does thicken up and has tons of flavor! I topped my bowl with broken tortilla chips and shredded cheese. Yum! Will try with turkey breast next time. Thanks for a healthy, inexpensive, and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      Awesome!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup!

    Serving Size: 1 (409 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 163.3
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    20%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 30.2 mg
    10%
    Sodium 828.5 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 16.1 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes