Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup!

    Average Rating:

    208 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 208

    Sort by:

    • on September 07, 2010

      Tried this last night because I had similar ingredients at home and it turned out fabulously! Used fresh diced tomatoes instead of canned, tomato paste (and a pinch of sugar) and regular chillies instead of jalapenos. My family loved it, it was quick and easy to make and its definitely going to become a regular item on our dinner menu! Oh! Also served it with a dollop of sour cream, which took the sting out of the chillies a bit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

    • on May 14, 2010

      Very yummy soup! It was healthy and easy to make. I used a small can of diced green chilies instead of jalapeno. Had the perfect amount of spiciness. Will be making again! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      My husband was surprised by how good it tasted. I love how easy and low maintenance it is. I added a can of black beans, a little extra cayenne and used low sodium broth. Next time I'll add more jalepeno, we like it spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      This is a wonderful tortilla recipe. I did everything as described but added 2 large jalapenos instead of one medium sized one. I used fresh home grown tomatoes for half of the desired quantity and the rest from a can. Love it!! A keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      I make this all the time and basically have it memorized. It is so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      Wow! I'm not a soup person normally, but this one changed my mind! I -am- a fan of thicker soups, so I halved the chicken broth, and used double the tomato sauce listed. This made it come out nice and thick, but still more soup than chili consistency. I think next time I'll probably use the whole pepper, too. This tastes WONDERFUL for something so simple and healthy. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

    • on March 03, 2010

      I have tried many different recipes of chicken tortilla soup, and this one is the keeper. My husband and I couldn't stop eating it (I made it because he was sick, thinking he probably wouldn't eat any, but he ate 4 bowls in one night!). The only change I made was substituted red bell pepper for green (neither of us like green) and added more cayenne. Thanks for the great (and simple) recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Absolutely divine!!!! Love this recipe! I have doubled it and froze it. I take it to work and everyone who trys it loves it. the amount of heat is perfect. sometimes i add a bit of sour cream. It is sooo good i dream about it ;)!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Yummy. I did add a can of red beans to mine. Will definately make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

    • on February 06, 2010

      This chicken tortilla soup says it all in the title, amazing! This was the first time having or making chicken tortilla soup and it was just delicious! The hubby isnt too fond of soups either and he loved how filling it was. I only added 3 cans chicken broth bc I was running out of room in my pot! After simmering it still was plenty of liquid adding one less can. I did add a little more corn and a whole can of rinsed black beans. Im glad I added the black beans bc they were delish in it! I think I did end up adding a couple of extra seasonings to it, like basil and parsley. And at the end up cooking a little fresh cilantro. I garnished with a dollop of sour cream, a lime wedge, chopped cilantro, some monterey jack cheese, and freshly made tortilla strips. This is a favorite soup for us now! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      Really good! I've made it a couple of times and it's pretty perfect just the way it is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      This was wonderful. I made just a few small changes to include the whole green pepper and a can of black beans, rinsed and used a little extra broth to avoid wasting the extra from the large can. As written it makes a TON of soup so I am going to freeze it and hope that it is just as good next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Super YUMMMOO. This recipe is a keeper ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      This soup is AMAZING! Perfect amount of spicey! I made this for a Halloween Party, froze it and then reheated....Everyone RAVED! Thank you, Thank you! K

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      Eating a bowl now for lunch - YUMMY! Made this last night for my husband(who took a bowl to work) & daughter and both loved it. I order tortilla soup every chance I get and this beats any I have tried. Coming from the southwest that's a big compliment! And very easy to make with ingredients I usually have on hand. We topped ours with Julio's toritalla chips, cheddar cheese and sliced avocado...WOW it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      This soup saved my marriage!..Ok that's a bit overstated, but my wife, who not always apprecites my talent in the kitchen, loved loved loved it. I followed the recipe, but cooked it ovenight in a crockpot. In the morning, I added about 10 oz of heavy cream and WOW! It changed the whole character of the soup. Now I have a standing order for this soup to be accessible at all times in the freezer. Wahooo! I win!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      I just made this for my husband who is extremely picky with soup and he absolutely loved it! Great flavor! Followed the recipe but used canned corn instead of frozen and 1 can of black beans. It was amazing! This one is a keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup!

    Serving Size: 1 (409 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 163.3
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    20%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 30.2 mg
    10%
    Sodium 828.5 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 16.1 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes